2011 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$10,925 - $40,945  MSRP Range
2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

26 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My husband is a truck man, and he loves this truck

by Janeaites from Bellville on Sat Oct 28 2017

He can do all the things he needs to do in this truck , work I really play.. he loves the style of this Silverado, he used to have a 2006 and traded up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice General Motors!

by Red Silverado from Western NY on Tue Nov 16 2010

2011 2500HD EC, 4x4, LT I have only had her for a week and 300 miles, but so far, WOW! This truck replaces an 06 same model that was nearly flawless. The truck is responsive with 60 more HP and the 6 speed transmission, new cam shaft. Seats seem stiffer and very comfortable. 2 glove boxes and 2 compartments under center seat give this truck ample storage. 12V outlet in bottom compartment for charging while keeping items out of site. My perception is that the truck is a monster. Seems bigger. Taller by at least 2" at the tailgate, 1.5" taller at the hitch and a bit taller at the tailgate. Larger 36 gallon Fuel tank. USB port that allows the MP3 player to work through the stereo. XM radio for trial period then with paid subscription. So far the only things I am not crazy about are the fabric texture. Appears it may collect pet hair, and the tiny buttons on the dash for defroster and dual climate. I feel like my eyes are off the road to long when adjusting these things. Wheel size starts at 17 inches now. Can option a truck with larger wheels. Onstar also offers navigation. I tried this feature out and it worked very well. Text and arrows show up on radio as well as being spoken through the radio. Overall my fist impression is excellent. Very nice smooth riding, nice looking power house with fuel mileage that is equal or better than the rest of the HD's on the market. If things continue I have no problem giving this truck 5 stars, but lets give it a little time first. I am confident it will earn 5 stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Duramax

by moonshot from Carpinteria Ca on Tue Mar 08 2011

This is my second Duramax Chevy. The first, an '03, was a phenomenal workhorse. I got a 100k of mostly troublefree miles before purchasing the '11. I have 2k on the 11 and about 1k of that pulling a 7000 pound trailer (at least 100 miles of twisty snow and ice driving in the Sierras). What an awesome pulling machine it is. The horsepower and torque wars are over- its all about engine and tranny management at this point. It's clear that GM has put and awful lot of time into getting the power to the ground with great efficiency. Uphill? put it tow/haul and watch the Allison put it in the meat of the powerband. If you are not careful you can "overpull" a lighter trailer. Going downhill is more impressive than going up. With grade braking, manual mode, and the exhaust brake button you have a ton of options for controling downhill speed. The new brakes are pretty impressive on their own. The traction control and stability features make driving in the snow almost a no brainer. I am a fan. They have beefed up the front end which was a little wimpy on the 03. It's not quite as comfortable at the 03's ride but its still way better than the Ford and Dodge. I have spent a bunch of time in both so I get a good comparison. All in all highly recommended by me. You can quibble with a few interior details (no sunglass storage on my LTZ) but in general it just flat hauls the bacon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

DURAMAX

by NATHAN from JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA on Tue Aug 02 2011

I WAS VERY IMPRESSED THAT THIS TRUCK COULD PULL MY TRAILER, LIKE IT WASNT EVEN BACK THERE. IT HAS PLENTY OF POWER, YET VERY QUIET AND SMOOTH.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A pulling machine

by Jac from Denver, CO on Tue May 24 2011

The power & transmission make it so awesome to haul in the mountains. I'm always in the left hand lane doing 85. COming down the mountain the 6 speed manual shift is so fantastic, barely need to brake at all. Chevy needs to update their interior, but still a comfortable vehicle to drive. A pain to park in the city, I usually just go to the edge of the lot so I don't get parked in. Back up camera is good enough to back right under hitch and I totally rely on the beeps now if I'm getting close to something!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 2500 hd 4x4 diesle

by Papa G from South Carolina on Thu May 19 2011

Have had my new 2011 for two weeks now. Wish I had bought it months ago. This is my retirement truck. We use it to haul the camper and the 4 grands around. With my other 1500 I could only go toward the beach. I could not go to the mountains. Now it will go anywhere needed. The response with that beast is unbelivable. So far I'm driving back and forth to work and it is stating 16.9 mpg. Have not gotten on the interstate and let it out yet. Only 500 miles on it now. GREAT TRUCK

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good truck to work with

by Gars de truck from Quebec Canada on Thu Feb 17 2011

You won't worry if you can pull and stop an heavy trailer in the mountain with it. 12 postion adjustable seat like in the 2001 Chev 2500 HD should be standard in it. You won't believe you are driving a very powerfull truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Truck

by Backlash from Mid Iowa on Fri Apr 08 2011

This is a great truck. It's amazing how they can make such a heavy duty work horse into a civil family hauler at the same time. I have no complaints. Lots of power, quiet, smooth, and the gas mileage is not bad for such a big truck. I have gotten 17 on the highway. My 07 Tahoe with a 5.3 got 15.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Used Truck Review

by SusieQ from Washington, MI on Mon Mar 27 2017

Reliable truck with good performance. Has very big blind spots on both sides of the windshield that make it hard to see when turning and changing lanes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Duramax Diesel 2500hd Crew No worries with DEF

by bulletbob from South Dakota on Thu Jan 05 2012

4x4 Mileage while towing 10 to 14 depending on weight and weather, in and around town 15 to 16, hwy 18 to 20+ again weather, Overall great truck, have had 1 recall on def calibration other that excellent, live in north country have yet to plug it in, no smoke and no smell, 1st 2500 i will never go back to half ton again Great truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500


The automobile industry is a numbers game that sometimes works against common sense. Consider the matter of heavy-duty pickup trucks.

They are work vehicles, engineered to carry and pull heavy loads. Their pride is in horsepower, the overall amount of work their engines can do; torque, the ability of those engines to exert twisting power on drive wheels; payload, the amount of weight that can be carried onboard; and towing capacity, the weight of a trailer or other wheeled object to be pulled.

Lately, because of global concerns over potentially ruinous climate change and energy sourcing and conservation, other numbers have gained importance. They include fuel efficiency, the amount of work (usually measured... Read More