2016 Traverse

Consumer Reviews

2016 Chevrolet Traverse

$15,791 - $33,999  MSRP Range
2016 Chevrolet Traverse

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

75 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Chevrolet Traverse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 75 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Horrible GPS, poor panel layout

by Motorhomedon from Fl on Sun Jan 22 2017

Why couldn't GM use a great existing GPS instead the nearly useless one they use. We do better with the one on our Iphone for navigation and just use the GM one just for the map, which isn't too great. It is located on the panel below the AC, and should have the position reversed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MY 3RD New TRAVERSE. bought a 2016 here last month

by Mr traverse from w des moines on Wed Apr 12 2017

Given this is my third new traverse . one could safely presume that I like this suv. I get the LS version-meaning basically not many bells and whistles- as the price is reasonable and i can get a new one more often. Lots of room in them and seats are comfortable on long trips to Florida. Ride is solid and gas mileage is acceptable for that big of an SUV. Interior is pretty boring and the hard seat belts that stick up out of the second row seating is about my only real complaint. We have not had a single issue with any of the three vehicles- but I dont drive them hard or take them off road and I service them on a regular basis.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

least reliable vehicle I have ever owned

by Greg from Fulton on Tue Jul 18 2017

this vehicle is the worst I have had. a co- worker has leased one as well same make and model his was a year older. both vehicles same exact issues. between 6,000 - 8,000 miles the front and rear brake calipers freeze up and slowly burn up your brakes . at 16,000 - 19,000 miles the brake pads and rotors are shot. both my co- worker and I were told the same thing word for word sorry this is a common problem with this SUV . the funny thing is we did not get the SUV at the same place. we later found out that caliper lubrication was a routine item $80.00 per axle. I have never had this problem in owning a vehicle. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the Traverse, even with some problems.

by Grammy from Central Illinois on Sat Aug 20 2016

My second Traverse! Owned a 2010 purchased new and loved it, but it was time to trade. Purchased a new 2016 - even same color! Unfortunately, at 600 miles the transmission failed and had to be completely replaced.I hope this new Traverse with the replaced transmission fulfills my expectations of owning another vehicle I can love, love, love for the next few years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Dont buy if you plan to use 2nd row seats

by Tacoma Driver from Tacoma, WA on Sun Dec 13 2015

If I had only sat in the 2nd row seat, or tried to install my child's car seat, before purchasing it I would NOT have purchased it. The placement of the seat belts on the 2nd row captains seats is TERRIBLE. It is nearly impossible to get a car seat in and buckled. Also, the placement of the seat belt make a ride in the 2nd row captains seats uncomfortable for an adult as they are too far inside the seat and they aren't flexible. Some engineer designed this without thinking about the usability. I have tried complaining to GM and they don't seem to care. I have complained to my service department and the manager is "trying." The service manager told me I am not the only person with these same issues about the 2nd row seats. Seriously, don't buy this car unless and until they fix the issue.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Proud owner of a new traverse from Kirksville, Mo. on Wed Apr 05 2017

Great vehicle. Lots of room, as well as very attractive inside and out. Very pleased with new traverse.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid, comfortable, SUV with plenty of cargo space

by TR Traverse from Williston Park, NY on Sat May 20 2017

Very happy overall wish highway gas mileage was better. Decent gas mileage with plenty of power. AWD provides surefooted traction, Great cargo space more stylish than a minivan. Great for long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Compared and found my excellent buy on cars.com

by Hort Man from on Fri May 26 2017

2nd Traverse. Clean, low mileage, one owner, certified. Just what I was shoping for. Saved time and gas by comparing vehicles on line.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good so far

by ABrown from Saint charles,Mo on Thu May 11 2017

Lots of truck space, plenty of space for the kids. Love the bench seats on 2nd and 3rd row. Nice compromise to purchasing a minivan

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pretty cool 'dad' car for 3 young kids

by MattieB67 from LA, CA on Sat May 13 2017

Not what I envisioned myself driving at this time in my life, but it gets the job done. Plenty of room with 3 rows, captains chairs in the 2nd row for my twin boys, daughter in the back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2016 Chevrolet Traverse

The 2016 Chevrolet Traverse offers generous cargo space and passenger room, but truck-like handling and an irritating multimedia system are major weaknesses.

When it comes to things like diamonds and vacations, bigger is almost always better. When it comes to three-row SUVs, that's not always the case — especially where Chevrolet is concerned.

In Cars.com's $40,000 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2014 Traverse went head-to-head with several rivals — including the Toyota Highlander, Dodge Durango and Hyundai Santa Fe — and landed at the bottom of the pack. For 2016, the only change of note is the addition of standard 4G LTE connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (data... Read More