NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Volt

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Volt

$17,117 - $28,581  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Volt

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

70 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Volt?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 70 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2017 Volt

by DrPaul from Chattanooga, TN on Thu Sep 14 2017

Have owned this car for about a month. No gas purchased yet. Haven't used anything but electric except for first day. Smooth ride. Electronics are excellent. Flawless transfer from electric to gas and back. Transmission is seamless. Only thing I would change is front seat is a bit narrow with the plastic left support prominent when you get in and out.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car.

by Plug-inEVfan from Ann Arbor, MI on Mon Sep 17 2018

Love the mileage and feel of this car. One small complaint is that the trunk needs to be slammed hard in order to properly close. Otherwise, though, we couldn't be happier.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More fun than I thought

by Mikey from Lakewood Ranch, FL on Mon Apr 09 2018

Coming from a long line of performance cars, I got the Volt because I needed a more economical car. This car has surprised me in every way. It's FAST off the line and gets you up to 30 MPH quickly. Not the best at highway passing but it's acceptable there. Owned it for 7 months so far and still have not bought gas. So far, no problems with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Ever Owned

by Bob81 from Rockford, IL on Mon Jun 12 2017

I like everything about the Chevrolet Volt except the rear vision. This is taken care of quite nicely by the rear view camera and sensors. I would recommend this car to anyone , but especially anyone who does mostly city driving. The ride and handling is exceptional. Chevy took their time developing the Volt but they got it right the first time. I especially like the extra range on EV. I had to drive over 60 miles before the generator took over. There are so many electronic and convenience features that I am sure it will be a while before I use them all. Truly a great car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Stop buying gas.

by Live Electric from Doylestown, PA on Thu Jun 01 2017

Drives GREAT. Outperforms similar gas cars. Save money on gas and never worry about being stranded with gas backup.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Plug in hybrid

by MD-volt fan from MD on Tue Sep 05 2017

I commute 54 miles each day, all EV miles. Love the car for commuting. It accelerates quickly and rides smooth and quiet. The regen paddle break is also great to have. Have only engaged the disc breaks twice in 5K miles. Used the IEC for 13% of the miles, gets ~50 mpg but it is a boring car using the IEC. It performs much better as an EV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No More Fuel Cost

by Zak Y from Austin, TX on Mon Apr 17 2017

Remarkably civilized and pleasant to drive, plenty of gee-whiz for my inner tech nerd, charges overnight painlessly. Lots of get-up and scoot if I ever need it. I LOVE not buying gasoline. :D The interior is snug, but I like it that way; feels like my wife's Camaro SS. My only quibble is the left foot dead pedal is a little too high, but I've gotten used to it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value

by dave from seattle wa on Tue Sep 12 2017

I get a lot of compliments about what a pretty car my new volt is, I feel I'm doing my part now in lowering the carbon footprint and it's nice that I haven't been to a gas station yet and I have 700 miles on the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Volt

by pa2174 from Kronenwetter, Wi on Sun Apr 02 2017

I have owned my Volt for 7 months and I absolutely love this car. The car is solid and very quiet. In warm weather I exceed the claimed battery range.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beat car I've owned

by Johnnnie from Jackson n.j. on Mon Jun 05 2017

Love the ride and savings looks great gives u good feeling just drivin around So futuristic kids luv it a lot Best lookin economy car that really keeps u in control of gas n mileage

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Volt

The verdict:

Chevrolet has transformed the Volt from a quirky science experiment into an extremely impressive premium compact sedan, with far more refinement and usable technology than any of its competitors.

Versus the competition:

Competition is still not entirely an apples-to-apples comparison, as no car on the market can do what the Volt does – drive 50-plus miles on electric power only and continue to more than 400 miles at 42 mpg before needing refueling.

Editor's note: This review was written in December 2015 for the all-new 2016 Chevrolet Volt. Nothing major has changed for 2017, but to see what's new, click here. Or to see a side-by-side comparison of the two model years, click here.

The standard practice of many Japanese automakers is to change popular models minimally from generation to generation. It may seem obvious, but "fix only what's broken" is not something American automakers often practice. Instead, they're fans of the "start over and change everything" school of thought.

That's why the 2016 Chevrolet Volt is a revelation: It's an obvious, serious refinement of the current model, a product of GM listening... Read More