2017 Volt

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Volt

$13,934 - $56,683  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Volt

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

69 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Volt?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 69 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Practical Car You'll Ever Own!

by Craig from Northeast Atlanta Metro on Fri Jun 30 2017

I've owned this car for about two weeks and continue to be amazed at its innovative features. Instant torque! This car, yet practical, is fun to drive. Yes, it's still a compact car and although they claim it can seat 5, that's not realistic. But I've driven more than 750 miles and I still have more than a half of a tank of gas left. I'd highly recommend this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have owned in 35yrs

by CarstP from London, Ontario on Tue Mar 21 2017

The Volt is flawless. Compared to my 2008 Malibu the Volt pays me back 50% - 90% in fuel savings every time I drive it, with amazing power, pick up and fun to drive. The hatch back provides lots of cargo space. In 12mths driven 48,000k in allweather & terrain across North America

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Ever Owned

by Bob81 from Rockford, IL on Mon Jun 12 2017

I like everything about the Chevrolet Volt except the rear vision. This is taken care of quite nicely by the rear view camera and sensors. I would recommend this car to anyone , but especially anyone who does mostly city driving. The ride and handling is exceptional. Chevy took their time developing the Volt but they got it right the first time. I especially like the extra range on EV. I had to drive over 60 miles before the generator took over. There are so many electronic and convenience features that I am sure it will be a while before I use them all. Truly a great car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2017 Volt

by DrPaul from Chattanooga, TN on Thu Sep 14 2017

Have owned this car for about a month. No gas purchased yet. Haven't used anything but electric except for first day. Smooth ride. Electronics are excellent. Flawless transfer from electric to gas and back. Transmission is seamless. Only thing I would change is front seat is a bit narrow with the plastic left support prominent when you get in and out.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car.

by Plug-inEVfan from Ann Arbor, MI on Mon Sep 17 2018

Love the mileage and feel of this car. One small complaint is that the trunk needs to be slammed hard in order to properly close. Otherwise, though, we couldn't be happier.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More fun than I thought

by Mikey from Lakewood Ranch, FL on Mon Apr 09 2018

Coming from a long line of performance cars, I got the Volt because I needed a more economical car. This car has surprised me in every way. It's FAST off the line and gets you up to 30 MPH quickly. Not the best at highway passing but it's acceptable there. Owned it for 7 months so far and still have not bought gas. So far, no problems with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Practical and modern

by Ketis from Atlanta on Mon Aug 07 2017

This car is exactly what you need. Up to 60 miles electric with a seamless transition to gas when needed. It makes so much sense , I wish they advertised it more ... I love this car after test driving it last weekend, as soon as I sell my current one I am buying a new volt

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Stop buying gas.

by Live Electric from Doylestown, PA on Thu Jun 01 2017

Drives GREAT. Outperforms similar gas cars. Save money on gas and never worry about being stranded with gas backup.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Performance for a Alternative Fuel Car

by Alternate Driving Experience from Chicago, IL on Sun May 07 2017

The Volt gives you the best of both worlds - Economy when you want and performance when you need it. With a push of a button you can transform your Volt to Sporty Car when you want to. Or you can drive it normally and save on fuel costs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Plug in hybrid

by MD-volt fan from MD on Tue Sep 05 2017

I commute 54 miles each day, all EV miles. Love the car for commuting. It accelerates quickly and rides smooth and quiet. The regen paddle break is also great to have. Have only engaged the disc breaks twice in 5K miles. Used the IEC for 13% of the miles, gets ~50 mpg but it is a boring car using the IEC. It performs much better as an EV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Volt

The verdict:

Chevrolet has transformed the Volt from a quirky science experiment into an extremely impressive premium compact sedan, with far more refinement and usable technology than any of its competitors.

Versus the competition:

Competition is still not entirely an apples-to-apples comparison, as no car on the market can do what the Volt does – drive 50-plus miles on electric power only and continue to more than 400 miles at 42 mpg before needing refueling.

Editor's note: This review was written in December 2015 for the all-new 2016 Chevrolet Volt. Nothing major has changed for 2017, but to see what's new, click here. Or to see a side-by-side comparison of the two model years, click here.

The standard practice of many Japanese automakers is to change popular models minimally from generation to generation. It may seem obvious, but "fix only what's broken" is not something American automakers often practice. Instead, they're fans of the "start over and change everything" school of thought.

That's why the 2016 Chevrolet Volt is a revelation: It's an obvious, serious refinement of the current model, a product of GM listening... Read More