2005 Town & Country

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chrysler Town & Country

$188 - $8,424  MSRP Range
2005 Chrysler Town & Country

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

57 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Chrysler Town & Country?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

My favorite vehicle

by nabob from Fort Worth, TX on Mon Jul 12 2010

This is my second Chrysler, the first was a 97 Plymouth Voyager SE. The biggest change that I like in the 05 Town and Country is the Stow N Go seating. I prefer this to the strain on my back to remove the seats in the Voyager. I also enjoy the secure storage for things like a notebook computer when the seats are up. The 3.3L seems even more powerful in the T&C and has plenty of power for this heavy vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dave 52552

by nich52552 from New Somerset,OH on Thu Jan 28 2010

We bought this van after my 1998 reached 90,000 miles and it was time to trade. The van is very comfortable, Chrysler seats are usually the most comfortable of any manufactures. The performance has been very good, I usually get 23 locally and up to 30 on the highway with the 3.3 V-6. The handling is like a large sadan very smooth and controlled,the exterior is nicer than the new boxer version,the interior design is very well thought out and it has all the bells and whistles that you would want. It has been very reliable so far and it was a great value for what we paid for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Convienent and Stylish even for a young couple

by New Mother from Kentucky on Fri Mar 04 2011

I bought an 05 Chrysler Town and Country Touring edition in 2011. Even though it is used and 6 years old I am in love with this vehicle. I haven't had any problems and it is perfect for my growning family. I've already taken it on a long trip and I had plenty of space and it was comfortable for everyone. There is nothing I would change about my minivan except maybe better gas mileage. I will never own anything but a Town and Country minivan!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car for the money

by Moo from Chesterfield, VA on Tue Jan 06 2015

I have owned 2005 Town and country for 10 years. It is an excellent van compare to others. No issues, normal maintenance. Even routine maintenance is cheaper than other cars. Good on gas. Engine size is 3.3 smaller than most van which is 3.5 or 3.8. Lots of room, very strong body unlike new cars. I would recommend this van.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

be wary of Carfax reports

by Van Guy from MD on Thu Oct 20 2011

Great van after I paid to to have the frame damage repaired. Carfax said it had never been in an accident. My mechanic replaced the leaking radiator, which had cracked under the strain of a bent frame from a front end accident. The front end damage to the frame was reveled once the radiator was removed. The car dealer I purchased the van from eventually paid for half the repair cost. Be wary of Carfax reports. Still a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My best minivan so far

by kayaker, woodworker from Pittsburgh on Fri Mar 21 2008

Love the Stow & Go seating, which makes the car very versatile. Use it to haul people, furniture and kayaks. Good mileage. Comfortable on long trips. No significant repairs in the first 55,000 miles. Only complaint is the sound system. Limited tone controls. Poor performance with audio cassettes. CD and radio performance adequate. Otherwise, a fine vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and comfortable

by San Diego owner from San Diego CA on Sun May 01 2011

Purchased ours new. Rides and handles like a full-size car. Repairs: Headlight switch $47.00 part after 4 years,, sway bar bushings at 5 years, 60k miles, $30.00 for parts. Has been extremely reliable, all required has been regular service. Quiet smooth ride, a great trip car. Flexible interior allows me to carry bulky items without removing seats, then pop seats up and carry passengers. Never had starting problems in 0 degree mountain weather. Hint: Change transmission fluid and filter every 15-20k mi and it will last forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Steven A. Ottney

by New Family Man from Greenwood, IN on Fri Jun 30 2006

I have driven and purchased this van, it drives smooth, has plenty of storage space and enough power to drive with traffic and pull away. Actually gets great mileage due to wieght and size, (20.1 MPG) and steers easily like a car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Workhorse For The Family!

by The Hyundai Man from Long Island, NY on Sun Mar 08 2015

I have owned this car for over 10 years and it's still going! Sure, there are some reliability problems, but they were taken care of! Some problems include radiator and engine but they only come up every once in a while. When in 3rd gear, very good in the snow! It hasn't broken down like most people predict, and I'm impressed! Great value for the money!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I'd buy another just like this one

by logger from Florida on Sat Oct 28 2006

Bought the touring edition. Like everything but the seats. hard to ger comfortable when I first sit. Have ridden 8 hours and more and the longer I ride the better the seat fits me. Maybe I'm numb by then. My wife loves the seats. Has back problems. Thinks the heated seats are the greatest. Only have 18,000 miles but not a problem. I have never changed the mpg computor and have averaged 19.6 mpg from day one. Can get 26 from station to station on flat highways. Tires still look like new. Well pleased with the vehicle and purchase.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2005 Chrysler Town & Country

What a star Chrysler has become.

If it's not cab-forward design a few years back, then it is rappers in 300Cs and NBA players in Dodge Magnums and wives making fun of their desperate husbands on national television.

You know the commercial.

A father struggles with a baby stroller only to have his wife step forward and fold all of the seats on the Chrysler minivan into the floor, then place the stroller in the back without breaking a sweat or folding a handle.

It's that simple, she seems to say, with a wry smile.

What will Chrysler think of next?

While we wait, here's a tip: The 2005 Chrysler Town & Country will get all of the headlines with its infamous Stow 'n Go fold-flat seats, but it's really the rest... Read More