Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Town & Country

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chrysler Town & Country

$2,872 - $10,752  MSRP Range
2008 Chrysler Town & Country

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

85 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for what you get

by MiniVan Maven from Los Angeles, CA on Sun Feb 24 2013

After 3 weeks of exhaustive research, I finally purchased a 2008 Town & Country w/48K miles. From other reviews I read, the 2008 model had major improvements in various mechanical aspects such as the transmission, so I soon focused on 2008 and 2009 years. Things I like best: it runs very quiet, all middle and rear seats are stow-n-go (they fold effortlessly under the floor) creating huge cargo space, plenty of electrical outlets and coffee holders. The only downside, of course, is fuel efficiency. While I can get 27-28mpg on the highway by being light on the pedal, it's tough to get good mpg in city driving. The vehicle came equipped w/blue tooth, which is nice, and the radio accommodates SiriusXM if you choose to subscribe, which is another plus. I bought it from a dealership and was able to get a 3 yr/36K bumper-to-bumper warranty, which I suggest for buyers of any used vehicles. The prices of the T&Cs I looked at were all at Blue Book, I soon realized it would be tough to get a real bargain on this model. But if you pay at or near the Blue Book, and you trust the seller in terms of its condition, it's worth the price. Good luck in your search!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Minivan Dan from on Sun May 15 2011

I bought this car new, and has been a good car since. Gas is not bad for a minivan with the 4.0L since i am an easy driver and average around 20 around town. I love the overall interior quality in the Limited version. The car is great for road trips with all the friendly features. The only problems are that it had a battery problem, which was taken care of for free, at about 13k miles, and sometimes in the winters, the doors will be a bit frozen and the doors wont be able to be opened except by hand.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Horrible Braking System

by Horrible Braking System from Ft . Worth, TX on Mon Mar 01 2010

Had to get two new rotors, 4 brake pads, and two rear calipers after only 17,000 miles. Chrysler needs to have a recall on the complete braking system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

transmission problems

by family man from on Thu Sep 19 2013

I purchased a used t and c about a year ago. Within the first month we noticed the steering wheel constantly making noise. Just recently I went to get in the van went to shift and all of a sudden the tranny was grinding took it in to 2 places and they said these vans are coming in regularily now with the warranties on them being up. Now 3000 dollars later I can get a rebuilt tranny with probably the same problem. No recall tho thanks chrysler

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Do not buy this vehicle

by Chrysler stinks from CT on Wed Apr 01 2009

We owned this exact model and trim package. Not only did we have numerous electronic problems and door/hatch closing problems but the brakes needed to be replaced twice within the first 30,000 miles. Although we liked the look and comfort of the vehicle it was so badly manufactured and malfunctioned so often we gave it back to Chrysler and will never buy another.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Luxury Minivan

by BadFrog - Boomer from North Oakland County Michigan on Wed Jan 30 2008

This van holds the 1st Place trophy for luxury, safety, design and performance. It is more than a family wagon. It's a Boomer Wagon ! The best secret to this van is the overall flexibility us Baby Boomers (couples and pets) want as we retire and begin to enjoy the good life. Maximum comfort and aminities for music and our laptop computers. As well as our lugage and toys we bring with us. And let's not forget Fido, he has the whole back seat to himself. If you want to ride in comfort with headroom, elbow room and just plain roominess without feeling squished into a race car seat, then the van is the answer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

worst experience ever had with a vehicle

by reasonable man from plymouth,mi on Mon Dec 31 2007

Leased veh for storage capacity in travelling to arizona for winter. 10 days before leaving veh totally dead.Nothing worked.Gave it an 12hr charge.Mileage 1700. Dealer had it 1 day said everything perferct.2 days before leaving veh totally dead.Towed to dealer.Was told power distribution center not working. Would require "9" days for part delivery. Chrylser mgt totally invisible and inaccessible. Customer service dept a farce.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great all around vehicle

by Antonio from NYC on Sun Jul 08 2018

This is my second Town & Country and have been very happy with the both that I have had. The first was a 2007 that was totaled when it was parked or I still would have it I mainly use it for work where I carry heavy loads and it handles remarkably well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle for a bigger family

by bobsagetlover69 from Madison, WI on Fri Jun 30 2017

This vehicle was great for my family of five, especially when your three kids have a handful of friends. We purchased the Town and Country model that featured the stow and go seating, a roof rack, and entertainment system. The stow and go and folding rear seating is extremely versatile; perfect for taking yard work to the dump, moving large furniture, and helpful for extra storage on a long haul vacation. The entertainment system is a highlight for long car rides when you need keep everyone entertained, the roof rack is added bonus. My family also had a trailer hitch installed to carry 5-bicycle bike rack. The van handles it very well, and gets decent gas mileage even when it's packed to the brim for vacation. The minivan is very reliable if it's properly maintained. For owning the vehicle 9 years and with 130,000+ miles on the engine, we haven't had any major repairs on it. Some minor issues needed to be resolved but were generally inexpensive. Being a larger vehicle, the gas mileage in the '08 Town and Country isn't great in comparison to some cars on the market, but it is comparable to other SUV's and minivans from it's year. Plus the 20 gallon tank takes you a long way and the van's mpg does well on cruise control. Overall, a solid family vehicle with enough features to fit your busy lifestyle and keep all your passengers entertained!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

DONT RECOMMEND

by itsme from new haven, ct on Sun Apr 16 2017

THIS CAR FELL APART AS SOON AS THE FACTORY WARRENTY WAS OVER. FELT LIKE EVERY TIME I WENT IN TO FIX ONE THING, TW MORE THINGS BREAK. IT RUNS GREAT AND IS POWERFUL, BUT IT WAS NOT PROPERLY BUILT. MY MERCEDES OR SUBARU NEVER HAS A PROBLEM.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country

Buying a minivan is a little like eating high-fiber cereal: There may be tastier choices out there — crossover SUVs, cinnamon-swirl clusters — but, boy, does this one get the job done.

Chrysler's redesigned Town & Country drives the point home. The cabin is hit and miss, and a lot of the features could be better executed, but it's bound to fit the bill precisely for certain buyers. Few competitors — even minivans — can match Chrysler's combination of cargo versatility, safety features and kid-friendly options. It's the All-Bran of cars: If you need it, you know who you are.

The seven-seat Town & Country comes in three trim levels: LX, Touring and Limited. Dodge markets a... Read More