2009 Journey

Consumer Reviews

2009 Dodge Journey

$2,013 - $12,473  MSRP Range
2009 Dodge Journey

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

81 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Dodge Journey?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 81 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love it very reliable for me and my family.

by Momma Big Blue from Fredericksburg Virginia on Wed Oct 04 2017

Out of all the cars I've tested this is more reliable for me as a busy mother l love it great room perfect color good on gas mileage is good the sales man was very helpful and nice I would recommend any of my friends Thanks

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent

by Bellb3 from Boonville on Mon May 22 2017

All in all it is a Decent vehicle, at the time i needed a vehicle that was reliable and within my price range but did bot want a passenger car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can?t wait to buy the car!

by Skame22 from on Wed Oct 18 2017

I only test drive it but I love it! I like the stylish looks and the engine size. It had plenty of get up and go in the highway compared to the other suvs I test drove. I also loved the extras it came with. Leather seats, heated mirrors, back up camera to name a few. Also low mileage. I?m sold! Ready to take it home.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect!

by Mom from Mason City, IA on Fri Jun 01 2018

Absolutely love my car! It is reliable, safe, and roomy! No need to worry about squished car seats anymore in our car! The exterior is sleek and the interior is so pretty! I get compliments on it everyday!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TheJourney

by redredrobin from Manchester, NH on Sat Mar 11 2017

this was the most comfortable ride I have had in a long time. I cannot wait to get a new vehicle. the test ride was a wonderful experience. The dealership and the salesmen were kind and pleasent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great ride

by Poohbear from Bonham, texas on Sat Dec 23 2017

Great vehicle, plenty of leg room. Love it. Would make great family vehicle. Spacious, a lot of room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worse car I ever owned.

by Jenmeek from HUNLOCK CREEK on Mon Aug 28 2017

This car was good for the room but it was only 7 yrs old not even 100,000 miles on it and the tranny went then a axle broke the air conditioner lot on fire and the transfer case locked up. And when I finally got it back the check engine light was on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Handles great AWD! and 3rd row.

by JourneyFan from Lake George, NY on Mon Dec 04 2017

Just purchased a 2009 dodge Journey SXT AWD 3.5 V6. I've had it for about a month and I just love it. Looks good, handles great, 3rd row, plenty of storage compartments.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Miss lilttle Red

by Average Ed from Fort Worth, TX on Sun Jul 16 2017

Great for the student who has large projects or the techie employee who needs storage compartments. Plenty of space for traveling as well. Great foe two tall and two short people

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family vehicle

by Keriann from Tampa Florida on Tue Nov 28 2017

I purchased this car on 11/27/17, it was the first car I looked at when deciding to purchase a vehicle. I didn't need to look any further. It has more than enough room for my family, is stylish, and performs great. It has everything that I need, and I fell in love with it the first time I got behind the wheel. I would recommend this vehicle for anyone who is looking for a fantastic vehicle with a great price tag.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2009 Dodge Journey

Dodge's 2009 Journey is a bizarre SUV. There's nothing wrong with it really. It's large, affordable and comes in an array of trim levels and prices, along with a choice of four- and six-cylinder engines and either front- or all-wheel drive. It can also be equipped with an optional third row of seats.

None of that is the problem. What bothers me is where the Journey fits in the current automotive landscape. When equipped with a V-6 engine and third row, it goes head-to-head with the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, both newly redesigned models with solid fan bases and proven reliability. Take that third row out and it has to fight off the Ford Edge and Hyundai Santa Fe. Stick with the base four-cylinder engine... Read More