1996 Crown Victoria

Consumer Reviews

1996 Ford Crown Victoria

1996 Ford Crown Victoria

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Ford Crown Victoria?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle and ride

by Fastcars1193 from Prestonsburg,Ky on Sun Apr 08 2007

I love the way this car drives and handles. This vehicle is one of best i have ever owned. I would buy another when this one wears out. I have the 1996 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L engine. Great package, handling and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

practical

by Kevin from Brandenburg, KY on Wed Feb 09 2011

I bought my 1996 Crown Vic in 2000 when it was four years old. It had 57,000 miles on it at the time. I've had it now for just a little over ten years and it now has 309,000 miles on it. Believe it or not it still runs and drives like a new car and still has the original engine and transmission. The paint job even still looks new when it is washed. While the drive train and body have held up unbelievable well, I have had to make several repairs to it. Some of the parts that have been replaced are: air conditioner, windshield wiper motor, the intake manifold (twice), the interior headliner, ball joints and numerous other small parts. After about 200,000 miles it did start to nickel and dime me to death with minor repairs. It has started using a lot of oil lately but still runs strong.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

police package

by police package owner from washington dc on Tue May 30 2006

great car brand new exaust cold air intake high performance pistions good year eagle tires great police package engine

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

plenty of leg room

by second car from Martinsburg, WV on Fri Apr 19 2013

Really impressed with the amount of leg room in the front without short cutting the back seat. Deep trunk and easy to access spare tire.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car dependable thirsty for gas

by They call me Mr. Beef from Sacramento, CA on Wed Sep 14 2011

Although a little thirsty for fuel especially on the city cycle, my 96 crown vic with 150k+ miles on it is dependable as if it were new on the lot. These cars are designed in a heavy-duty manner and it shows. The years have been kind to this mighty steed although the paint is oxidized a bit in spots. Was considering a camaro, firebird, or mustang, but for the money I definately am happy spending the money on the vic instead of one of those cars. This one is an LX with the highway geared rear axle, so once you're up to speed its all cruising, baby!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I hope I can find another one

by former state troopers wife from Eureka California. on Wed Feb 20 2013

We have had ours since September of last year. Bought it with 199,000 miles on it. It was recently vandalized and because it will cost more for the new paint job it needs to fix it, than the car is blue booked at my insurance company wants to total it out. I would rather have the paint job done to fix it and keep the car. She purrs like a kitten and I know that it will last forever if I keep up the maintanace. I am not looking forward to getting another car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ford focus

by gommer from mount olive al 35117 on Sun Jul 16 2017

this a great car runs and runs forever all you have to do is change the oil it is so easy on gas the ride is awsome

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

owner

by gommer from mount olive al 35117 on Sun Jun 11 2017

this car crown vic is a great car drives great makes boss on the road but does need regualr service to keep it running

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1996 Ford Crown Victoria

Finding an alternative-fuel vehicle can be as difficult as ordering a vegetarian entree in a Kansas City steak house. And that may bother you, especially if you're worried about smog, global warming or the fact that U.S. cars and trucks burn 240,000 gallons of gasoline every minute.

Oh, sure, General Motors is bringing out the EV1, its first production electric car, in the fall, but you won't be able to buy it or service it unless you live in California or Arizona.

That's why we were so excited to test-drive the 1996 Ford Crown Victoria NGV (for "natural gas vehicle"). It's an interesting alternative in a gasoline-powered marketplace, but be forewarned - you're going to feel like a pioneer if... Read More