1997 Crown Victoria

Consumer Reviews

1997 Ford Crown Victoria

$780 - $4,644  MSRP Range
1997 Ford Crown Victoria

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Ford Crown Victoria?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

two sofas and a caboos

by hobbit from new hampshire on Tue Nov 10 2009

bought the car from a friend for 4000 dollars in aug 03. the car is perfect,it drives itself! plenty of power and comfort. every time the family wants to take a trip , they choose the crown vic!it had 84000 mi on it when i got it, i have driven it 20000 mi in the last 6 years, just change the oil and filter and go, no problems!best buy for any reason or purpose! i will keep this one forever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

220K Miles & Going Strong!

by Phil_Light from Redwood City, CA on Sun Apr 12 2015

The only negatives I have to say regarding this car are two things that fail and both are relatively easy to fix. First one is regarding electric window openers. These are easily fixed and maybe difficult to find from used or junked cars. More often the motors are not at fault, but a winding mechanism can sometimes get wrapped-up inside the door; easily remedied. If the motor burns out your in for a more expensive replacement. The 2nd one is major. The intake manifold is plastic, yes plastic! Ford already addressed the problem with potentially warping/cracking of the plastic manifold by making an after-market metal one. Solves the problem permanently and should cost around $1500 if your mechanic is a fair one. If you replace it yourself- much cheaper. My car is a tank and has been run off-road in places where only 4 wheel drives are recommended (boulder and rock fields in the Eastern Sierra-Nevada mountains). A little tip for improving on your mileage in comparison to the 26 mpg I get now; try running high octane gasoline every now and then which seems to help the mileage yield. And if you live outside of California, you'll be getting better gas and at a much cheaper cost. BTW- passes smog every year with emissions left to generate. It's hard to keep your foot off the gas as this car gets up and goes when you hit the accelerator. Even with air conditioning dragging it down! Extremely happy overall with the life of the car and it's performance. In fact you may not even run into a manifold issue at all. I think mine came about from desert driving in the heat of Summer which could have warped anything! Ford got this almost perfectly right. Still rated as one of the five top-most durable cars ever built.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for Your Buck

by MuFASA94 from Sparta, TN on Wed Dec 18 2013

I drove a base model Crown Vic from spring 2011 until just a few months ago, when I had it sold and got an 03 Corolla to save on gas while going back and forth to college. It had about 156,000 miles on the odo by then, but I think it could have gone 50,000 more at least. Granted it isn't the greatest looking sedan around, at least it has exterior styling unique enough to be easy to find in a parking lot. It can seat six people with tons of leg room, and interior styling is fairly straight forward, although some controls are a little awkward. Performance-wise, it's no luxury sports sedan, but it has enough power to climb up steep Tennessee hills and chug up to freeway speeds without breaking a sweat, and the handling and brakes are top notch. If you're looking for a good deal on a full size sedan, Crown Vics are the way to go:) Pros: Very comfortable, lots of interior/ trunk space, EXTREMELY good value for price Cons: Uses some gas, engine could have more power for its size, some controls oddly placed

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mileage

by Santa from Salem, Ohio on Sat Dec 29 2012

I got better mileage in my 1993 Crown Victoria than I am in this 1997 which was recently tuned up. I now understand why the previous owner sold it to get a better mileage car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sounds alright

by Aussie HOLDEN Fan from Australia on Sat Sep 03 2011

If this car was in australia i would hate it! but because it is in usa i love it coz it is an ex policecar. Now you are probably confused Well let me explain in australia there is basically 2 car brands HOLDEN and ford (note physically) most people support their faviourate team but in the past few years since Peter Brock died (if you don't know who he is research him!!!) people don't care I suppose it is because he was the best racing car driver in the world thank God he raced for Holden! When I was living in Sydney (I now live in outback NSW) some guy who was driving a ford falcon was bashed after he stopped at the lights and a bloke in a holden commodore hopped out and smashed him =)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by Buddy from Fulton MO. on Wed Oct 25 2017

Reliable low mileage car . Interior and body in great shape and new tires. ,..................,.... ,..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honda Accord

by Caprice9c1 from Illinios on Mon Mar 19 2018

This is a low mileage southern car, a police car with no history as a cruiser but as a chaplains car, average 3,000 miles a year use. Really attracts attention.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable

by Matthew Hayes from Indiana on Tue Jul 11 2017

It's very comfortable and relaxing and rides smooth like a classic. It handles pretty well. I rate it a 5 out of 10

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1