2014 Escape

Consumer Reviews

2014 Ford Escape

$8,017 - $21,541  MSRP Range
2014 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

338 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 338 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

car rides nice

by Chip from alpharetta, Georgia on Tue Apr 29 2014

I'm enjoying the car. Rode nice on long trip. Could be better gas mileage but still nice ride. Will keep it nice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

loaded

by buddy from toms river on Thu Oct 16 2014

car has all the whistles and bells you could ever want if you purchase a escape get the titamun.package a little price but worth it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far, a pleasant surprise

by Man from Appleton from Appleton, WI on Thu Jun 05 2014

Wasn't sure that I'd like the Escape before I test-drove it, but fell in love with the handling and ergonomics and tech. Also wasn't sure that it could handle much towing, but so far (with a 4x6 trailer carrying a riding mower), it's been fine. The MPGs suffer a bit while doing that, but it's still a welcome change from the 8-cylinder Explorer SportTrac I drove for seven years. I've only put 1300 miles on the vehicle, but the handling is great, the acceleration is more than adequate, the comfort of driving and riding is far better than I thought. As of today, I'm getting around 21-22 MPG in city, 30-31 on highway when I'm not towing. The dealer (Stumpf Ford) made the transaction fast and clean. All in all, I'm pleased.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best suv I have owned

by Ron .s from Dorchester ma on Sun Oct 12 2014

2014 Ford Escape. This suv has a nice ride . Good looking good on gas has every thing you need on the dash phone camera . And plenty more .this is a grea suv.thanks Ron

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Ford Fan from Stewartstown, PA on Thu Jan 15 2015

I actually have a 2015 Escape. It is quiet, it handles well and it has plenty of power. I was surprised that it did not have an interior hatch release. It would be nice if it had a fold down arm rest on the right to make it more comfortable when driving. By the way, its great in the snow! Love the car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thrilled Customer

by ERIN from Sedro-Woolley on Sat May 31 2014

Go see Shane- He was polite and knowledgeable about the the car. It was very nice and felt very little pressure on the sale. It was worth the drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Interior too cramped for larger adults

by SUV Lover from Fort Myers, FL on Sun Apr 27 2014

I had my heart set on a 2014 Ford Escape and test drove two with the 2.0 engine. Drove great and looks great but the interior is too cramped for larger adults. I am 5'10" and a full figure lady, my hubby is 6'3". We were both cramped sitting in the front seats and even felt that the seats were too small. Back seats were uncomfortable for adults. Had to walk away and bought something else.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love mine

by becky from tx on Wed Jun 04 2014

Its fun and good on gas spacious everyhing convenient to use. Easy to learn lots ofinterior space. Grand kids and huband love it too

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Love my car from Arizona on Thu Jun 05 2014

Love it . So quiet, the ride is great, I am 6.2 I feel comfortable lots of room, so many great features

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice little car

by Jimsutton from SE Iowa on Mon Jun 30 2014

We liked the '03, so upgraded to the '14. Wanted all wheel capability but also a reasonable mpg. We opted for the 1.6 4 cylinder and so far, no regrets. Very little downshifting on inclines and appears it will easily do the 30 mpg hwy. This car (SE) was on the dealer lot and liked the installed options,. however, the power lift tailgate does not mean the no-hands option which I guess is only on the Titanium. It has roof rails, but the crossbars are extra. It has the bigger screen in the dash which is nice with the Sirius navigation aids, but no maps unless you order "Navigation" option which uses an SD card. The SD card slot is there however. All in all, we are pleased with it and would recommend it. A far cry from the '03, but still lean toward the older styling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2014 Ford Escape

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2012 about the 2013 Ford Escape. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2014, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Ford has released a series of good-looking cars with excellent mileage lately. But whether it's the too-cramped Fiesta interior or the sluggish transmission on the Focus, these otherwise spectacular mainstream vehicles have had a few serious flaws.

The redesigned 2013 Escape is different: No matter how hard I looked, I couldn't find anything significantly wrong with it.

A duo of new turbo engines offer better performance than the competition, the interior is roomy... Read More