2010 Escape Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2010 Ford Escape Hybrid

$4,422 - $14,930  MSRP Range
2010 Ford Escape Hybrid

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2010 Ford Escape Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Good Choice For Hybrid SUV

by hybrid suv owner from Wisconsin on Fri Jan 29 2010

This is the right choice if you want a fuel efficient small hybrid SUV. Gas mileage is consistently over 30 mpg in city or highway despite very cold weather. 4 cylinder engine has ample power on any type of road. Sync system is a nice option with navi (which also enhances sound system) but it raises the price beyond what some will want to pay. Interior is very nice but not quite up to luxury standard one typically finds in vehicle in same price range. Wish the back seats folded down easier and was surprised to notice an old fashioned exterior radio antenna. These are small negatives to what bottom line is a real nice vehicle made in the USA. Nice work, Ford.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Like this Vehicle

by chief from Saratoga, New York on Tue Jun 05 2012

This is an Escape Hybrid Limited, so it has a lot of bells and whistles- more that I need but I wanted a hybrid and the price was right. I consistently get over 30 mpg both highway and city driving. It has enough "oomph" for my use. Things Ford could have done better: lose the shiny black trim on the console (dust and fingerprint collector), put a "lock-unlock" button by the rear hatch, and have rear seat folddown levers by the back hatch. Otherwise, *****.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid car

by Nick from Salisbury, Maryland on Mon Jul 08 2013

Have had the Escape for a little over 18 months. It's been averaging about 34 MPG with mostly city driving, and I am sadly a jackrabbit starter, so it would probably be better if I drove it more lovingly. Love the SYNC feature. Surprisingly roomy inside, despite its small and nimble outside dimensions. Minor complaint: I wish there was some convenient place to put the rear seat headrests when I fold the rear seat down.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice smaller SUV

by StPaulGolfer from St. Paul, MN on Mon Jul 17 2017

Great 4 wheel drive SUV, 2 USB ports and SYNC play. Bluetooth connectivity with phone calls is a little unreliable but it works fine for playing music. Lots of cargo space with all the seats folded down, I regularly haul lots of boxes, golf clubs and files for work so the Escape can handle it all. Plenty of legroom and spaces for your stuff around in the center console and in front of the gear shift. Typical rust spots on exterior around the rear wheel wells and liftgate but it can be easily sanded away and repaired by a good body shop.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pricey toy

by mythirdford from denver on Thu Jan 28 2010

I've owned two Explorers ('97 and '03). I traded my '03 for a 2010 Escape Hybrid AWD Limited. My previous purchases were XLT's so I was awed by all the options on the Escape. Its a fun vehicle to drive, feels very carlike. The only time you know its a hybrid is when you first start it and there is no engine noise. The display reads "ready to drive". Probably not the car for everyone but it fits our needs living in Colorado and needing more cargo room than a sedan. Bought it in Nov. I avg 30 mpg mostly around town driving.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great features , comfort and gas miser

by Green car enthusiast from Cheektowaga, NY on Fri Apr 09 2010

This car has all the features we can imagine. Plus it rides very quietly and smoothly. I would recommend this vehicle to everyone. The only thing I miss is the handle over the driver's door for ease in entering and exiting the car. My wife loves the heated seats and seperate HVAC controls for driver & passenger. We also like the fuel effeciency which is ranging in the high 30's M.P.G

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than advertised.................

by Mr. Bill from Valparaiso, IN on Tue Aug 13 2013

The fuel efficiency rating by the Fed was 34MPG city to 31MPG Highway. I have always done better than these numbers. The average is more like 37MPG City and 35MPG Highway. In the warmer months the car delivers 38 to 45 MPG City and 31 to 40 Highway. If more peopole knew how to drive these Hybrid vehicles more people would own them. I prefer bigger cars having previously owned minivans. When it comes to room and comfort these vehicles spoil one relative to other cars. If there was an effective minivan hybrid, I would want one. The Escape has been very reliable. There have been no service issues. My dealer is an exemplary one. I have had to pay for no srvice beyond oil changes, filters and windsheild wiper blades. I think Ford makes the quietest cars in the industry. My hat is off to Ford for this specific model. I only wish the rear seat could move a bit backwards to provid a bit more rear seat leg room.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

recommended

by cars.com from newyork,ny on Tue Jul 13 2010

nice comfort car good milage and good for saving and concerving gas. overall good car for any transporting and famliy trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Self parking feature

by mythirdford from Denver, CO on Mon Jul 26 2010

I have to parallel park on the street all summer at my dad's apt complex while they rebuild the garages. The self parking feature is a blast. Push the button on the consol, pull forward until the readout tells you to stop. Put the car in reverse, let go of the steering wheel and it does its thing. The steering wheel spins clockwise and then counterclockwise, slips the car into the space and stops it before it backs into the car behind. You can use the brakes while it parks but if you grab the steering wheel it disables the system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet

by Driver from on Fri Apr 09 2010

Coooooooooooool. Very nice. Everyone should have their own! Very reliable and also very smooth on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2010 Ford Escape Hybrid

Editor's note: This review was written in September 2008 about the 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2010, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Small SUVs are relatively efficient compared to their larger counterparts, but even in a model like that, topping off the tank can get pricey when gas is above $4 a gallon — as it is in many places around the country.

What's an SUV shopper to do? If you're not ready to downsize to a small car, the 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid remains one of the most efficient small SUVs available today, with an EPA-estimated 34/31 mpg city/highway for the front-wheel-drive model... Read More