NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,224 - $36,452  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

the explorer i owned has been a plesure

by mr.G from Tannersville, N.Y. on Thu Apr 20 2017

the explorer has been a vehicle I leased for over 9 years and I still want to lease this vehicle now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Ford

by Cgold from Chatom al on Sat May 06 2017

Comfortable and got lots of extras for reasonable price! I got the v6 and it will move on down the road!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!!!

by Marty on Mon Jul 31 2017

Exceptional performance comfortable fun to drive - luv to drive - Great for long trips or just around town

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Ford Explorer

by MsBusia from Toledo, OH on Mon Nov 20 2017

I needed a larger car because of when I take my grandkids places they complain about being to close together. I love my car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by JustenS from Milford DE on Fri Dec 08 2017

The car is everything I was looking for in a family vehicle. It is roomy, seats 7. It drives nice. We live the look of the car, inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my Ford Explorer Platinum is AWESOME!!

by Love Ford Explorers!!! from McDonough, Georgia on Wed Jun 28 2017

I just bought a 2017 Ford Explorer Platinum and it is a beautiful car and rides like a dream. It's AWESOME! It's fully loaded with everything. I love this SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Stumbling out of the gate.

by 17explore on Tue Oct 10 2017

Once determined the Ford F-150 would not fit in my garage, I turned to the Explorer to have that "higher up" big car feel. The car is loaded with technology which may be a bad thing. Within 2 days of purchase the cars touchscreen was acting up and jumping all over the place. Two visits to the dealership to fix, the touchscreen was replaced and knock on wood no issues since. This experience is like having a horse stumble out of the gate during the Kentucky derby..... Will it recover? Time will tell. The car has good acceleration and many safety features. Inside is comfortable with plenty of room for family or as I did, put the third row down and place a cargo liner in it to mimic a small pickup. Time will tell if this car will last my normal 12-14 years that I keep them. After that stumble out of the gate, the car right now is graded a "B"

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells & whistles

by Cookie Baker from Tuscumbia, AL on Sun Oct 01 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most comfortable car

by Tammy from McLean on Mon Sep 18 2017

This car combines luxury and performance. I've been looking for an SUV that is sporty and comfortable and this is it. plenty of room in all the seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable SUV!

by Shauna from on Thu Sep 14 2017

This SUV has met all my needs. It has lots of leg room in the front and back as well as in the 3rd row seating.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com