NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,304 - $36,520  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2nd 2017 we’ve owned

by Bolshoy from Quincy ca on Tue Dec 12 2017

My wife feels very safe in this vehicle she loves the way I drive lives with handles I wish it was better on gas mileage it also is good on towing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by michele and jeff from Tallmadge, ohio on Fri Apr 28 2017

The ride is wonderful. So much space but doesn't feel like you are driving a large truck. The panoramic sun roof is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my Ford Explorer Platinum is AWESOME!!

by Love Ford Explorers!!! from McDonough, Georgia on Wed Jun 28 2017

I just bought a 2017 Ford Explorer Platinum and it is a beautiful car and rides like a dream. It's AWESOME! It's fully loaded with everything. I love this SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells & whistles

by Cookie Baker from Tuscumbia, AL on Sun Oct 01 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good

by New Car For Us from Victorville CA on Tue Nov 07 2017

I did a lot of research prior to buying this vehicle. It is the widest most roomiest SUV in it's class. Of course, it is expensive like all SUVS nowadays. I would buy it again. It is the 2017 Ford Explorer Limited, non-ecoboost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort and safety

by TLS from Edmonton on Thu Sep 28 2017

I love my Explorer. The ride is smooth and responds well in all weather conditions. Love the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ford tough

by David from ashland,KY on Mon Jul 31 2017

being in the U.S.Army in Afghanistan for two years we drove Ford Rangers and they were tough, also years back in the 80's and early 90's I worked for a company and we drove ford Econoline vans 300 inline 6s hundreds of thousands of miles, a friend of mine had a F250 with over 400,000 miles 300 inline 6,the quality of my new 2017 Ford Explorer is great this will probably my last vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Late night shopping

by Late night shopper from Chippewa Falls WI on Wed Nov 15 2017

I love it! Handles great, comfortable seating. My first ever New vehicle. Roomy enough for my husband's long legs. Love the stowing 3rd row seats. V6 has get up n go power, unlike the V4 we test drove. Will be a great long term vehicle for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Ford family member.

by Heri from Jenison, MI on Sun Dec 31 2017

So far, it has surpassed the expectations. The roomies vehicle and the four wheel drive is excellent. Stability upon sudden breaking is fabulous. I would recommend this to all older folks. I am 83 and just loving the performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1 month review

by Andre from Brick, NJ on Sat Dec 09 2017

Of the 5 mid size suvs researched and test drove, we were most comfortable in the explorer. Will get used to the power lift gate location and timing, there is a slight delay to adjust to. I hope it handles as advertised in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com