NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,094 - $36,090  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

299 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

121 - 130 of 299 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It’s a great vehicle

by Sonja from Lima, Ohio on Fri Dec 29 2017

I love how comfortable is feels to ride in. The extra seat capacity is great! The vehicle feels very safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Ride

by Big Blue from Philadelphia,PA on Sun Jan 21 2018

I have owned an explorer in the past and was very happy-with it keeping it almost 16 yrs. My 2017 Explorer has out done the 2002 hands down. With its smooth comfortable ride along with its many extras to name only a few like bumper sensors front and rear along with back up camera navagation, blind spot mirrors,heated leather seats making this car a pleasure to drive. I look forward to being the owner of this car for a long time and would recommend it to everyone for it is a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Master Gardener

by Master Gardener from Exeter, CA on Mon Feb 19 2018

I bought this car for the large cargo space and for its passenger room. All I really asked for in a 2017 model was garage door remote, hands-free rear door and NOT WHITE. They found all this and more in this Sport model with 4WD!! Love the power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable

by Ford Fan from LA on Sat May 20 2017

It is a fantastic automobile. Fantastic drive ability. The durability is outstanding and the gas mileage is awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love my new Ford Explorer.

by Louisiana fan from Shakopee, Mn on Fri Aug 25 2017

Meets all of my needs and has everything I want in a vehicle. Extremely happy with my purchase and excited to drive it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall very nice looks, tech, comfort

by CoCola from Ny on Sun Sep 10 2017

Great truck. Tech is awesome. Great styling. Performance impressive for its size and weight. 3rd row ease of use is fantastic. Great for families. CarPlay is nice sound system excellent

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Peaches from Lynwood on Sun Sep 10 2017

Drives good very confortable love the hands free features . The only thing I don't like is the gas mileage it gets .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value

by Ford owner from Texas on Tue Aug 29 2017

This is our second ford explorer and we like the size and overall driving experience of this car. I would recommend it to anyone wanting an SUV with third row seating.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car!

by Tony on Thu May 03 2018

This truck has it all anything you think about is in there! 7-seater, navigation, massage seats, ac and heat for the seat...etc simply love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safety & Reliability

by Suv lover from Cockeysville,Maryland on Thu Jun 29 2017

I was impressed with the vehicle overall. I was looking for comfort and reliability.With this vehicle I feel it has all that I was looking for.The price in relation to overall reliability is still being judged. I would recommend buying this vehicle to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com