NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,251 - $36,475  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

281 - 290 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!!!

by Marty on Mon Jul 31 2017

Exceptional performance comfortable fun to drive - luv to drive - Great for long trips or just around town

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Ford

by Cgold from Chatom al on Sat May 06 2017

Comfortable and got lots of extras for reasonable price! I got the v6 and it will move on down the road!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Explorer Rocks that I bought a Second one

by N4cer7168 from Austin on Fri Nov 03 2017

I purchased a 2017 Ford Explorer Sports for a good price. My wife and I took a trip to Colorado Springs driving our ford to the mountains. The ride was quiet, comfortable, nice design with a 3.5L engine. The MPG was awesome. It had no problem driving thru the mountains of Colorado. The comfort was right on as well as the navigation and Sirius. I could not be more pleased with the exceptional value I recieved from our explorer. I had this Explorer for about 4 months before we took the trip. What I got back home to Austin Tx I got a second Explorer. It’s proven its value to me and my family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Ayoung from Hicksville,Ohio on Tue Dec 05 2017

This car has great space for a family. I only wish we would’ve upgraded packages to more than the basic. The only downside to the sub is the towing capability isn’t very much, but it really isn’t intended for that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1 month review

by Andre from Brick, NJ on Sat Dec 09 2017

Of the 5 mid size suvs researched and test drove, we were most comfortable in the explorer. Will get used to the power lift gate location and timing, there is a slight delay to adjust to. I hope it handles as advertised in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It’s a great vehicle

by Sonja from Lima, Ohio on Fri Dec 29 2017

I love how comfortable is feels to ride in. The extra seat capacity is great! The vehicle feels very safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Ride

by Big Blue from Philadelphia,PA on Sun Jan 21 2018

I have owned an explorer in the past and was very happy-with it keeping it almost 16 yrs. My 2017 Explorer has out done the 2002 hands down. With its smooth comfortable ride along with its many extras to name only a few like bumper sensors front and rear along with back up camera navagation, blind spot mirrors,heated leather seats making this car a pleasure to drive. I look forward to being the owner of this car for a long time and would recommend it to everyone for it is a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Master Gardener

by Master Gardener from Exeter, CA on Mon Feb 19 2018

I bought this car for the large cargo space and for its passenger room. All I really asked for in a 2017 model was garage door remote, hands-free rear door and NOT WHITE. They found all this and more in this Sport model with 4WD!! Love the power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable

by Ford Fan from LA on Sat May 20 2017

It is a fantastic automobile. Fantastic drive ability. The durability is outstanding and the gas mileage is awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love my new Ford Explorer.

by Louisiana fan from Shakopee, Mn on Fri Aug 25 2017

Meets all of my needs and has everything I want in a vehicle. Extremely happy with my purchase and excited to drive it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com