NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,304 - $36,520  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I Would Buy It Again

by Ford Loyalist from Lake Wales, FL on Mon May 08 2017

I previously owned a 2013 Ford Explorer and it was a great vehicle! I enjoyed driving it! So, when I was ready, I traded it in for my new 2017 Ford Explorer. I am enjoying this vehicle even more than the previous one! This SUV is a smooth drive, very comfortable seats, aesthetically appealing, lots of get up and go, and roomy enough for me to haul around my grandchildren. I bought it because it is a wonderful deal! You get a beautiful vehicle that is reliable with a third seat. And it is fun to drive! I may even buy it again in a few years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives smooth as silk!

by Nancy RL from on Sat Mar 04 2017

This car is like a haven! Smooth, comfortable drive, keyless start. Makes driving seem like a vacation!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Waste of money for pricy limited model

by Charlie from Franklin, Wi on Tue Nov 20 2018

Car was delivered with outdated data loaded into navigation system, and for customer service advised to use cell phone instead. Smell of catalytic converter in passenger compartment due to design flaw and spent numerous times at dealer for fix, but it still stinks during rapid acceleration. Factory installed tires (Hankook) are junk after 25,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loaded

by Connie from Rock Island, Tennessee on Sun Apr 30 2017

The Ford Explorer Limited has everything! Style, looks, navigation, heated and cooled seats, stero. I could go on! Love this SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Explorer

by KImH from Mechanicville, NY on Sat Apr 29 2017

I've had my new Explorer for a month now and I love it!! I've always wanted one and I was not let down after I purchased it. It is a great value. It is comfortable and the safety features such as front and rear sensors and lane changing sensors are awesome. It gives that added feeling of security and comfort when driving. Dave at the dealership was a great help in finding just the Explorer that I wanted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun family car I have own

by Ford Fan from Detorit, MI on Sun Apr 02 2017

Great! thanks for the dealership for recommending this car to me. My kids love it. It has so much space for family of 6.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

It keeps having issues!!!!

by Chris C from Battle Ground WA on Thu Jan 03 2019

I'm just going to list the issues. E-Brake cut wiring harness, garbage tires only lasted 17k miles, massaging seats malfunction, rear lift door works when it wants, the wind shield dressing left and right side cracked and they replaced it. Today the driver side window dressing flew off on the highway at 65 mph. Back fires when I punch it, transmission slips while going up hill. They did some recall repair while getting my oil changed and now my airbag light goes on and off. This was supposed to be a great SUV and it's completely garbage. This is the 2017 Limited 3.5 Twin Turbo model LEMON.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most exciting vehicle I've ever owned

by Nick D from Metairie, LA on Thu Apr 13 2017

Fell in love with the XLT model. Can't wait to take it on a road trip. Comfortable and roomy for long trips. Very good visibility on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Explorer

by Allison from Columbus, Ohio on Wed Apr 26 2017

Absolutely LOVE my new Ford Explorer! Plenty of room for our family of 4 plus 2 dogs with room to grow!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first Ford

by FordFan from on Mon Apr 24 2017

This was my first Ford purchase. I love the way it rides. It's a great feeling car as far as safe and secure. I do wish the interior body was a little more like the Chevy Traverse.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com