NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,327 - $36,527  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

290 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 290 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

I like it, not love it!

by Athletic Mom from Goose Creek, SC on Thu Nov 30 2017

Nice vehicle. I love the body style and all the interior features: air conditioner & lighting throughout vehicle and the auto fold 3rd row! The speakers were not very good, and kinda felt like I was driving a mini van. Maybe because I was so use to driving the Expedition... I chose to buy the 4 Runner instead.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new car

by BroncoFan from Henderson , Co on Mon May 22 2017

I absolutely love my new Ford Explorer. It's drives nice, comfortable & very roomy . I couldn't be happier

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FORD THEY LIE BUY GM

by indi c from homosassa springs on Sat May 25 2019

is a nice car has a bunch of issues the dealer and ford fail to fix and to look at this is heading to court will not stop till is all public fumes inside car steering noise, brake issues and i can go on and on, ford ignores issues and the selling dealer are a bunch of fools telling you stories and lying to you is time to go public and take them to court 35k is a lot of money to lie to public will never buy another ford

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Choose another car if you have a family

by IllinoisFamily from chicago.il on Sat Dec 31 2016

The front seat is fine, some nice accommodations but you definitely get more updates options and styling in other models. Where I strongly recommend that you don't get this car is for the second and third row. Very uncomfortable to ride in. Seats are too small and poorly positioned. Definately look elsewhere, which I had bought a GMC for comfort. Price tag ended up being over 50K for a boring, uncomfortable car.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Terible Engine

by Kpetrizio from Sellersville, Pa on Thu May 18 2017

I would never buy this vehicle again with the Ecoboost Engine. The engine needed to be replaced at 1500 miles. My five week old car now has a replaced engine. The engine is just too small for an Explorer.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, minor technologies would improve it

by kfreckma from Green Bay, WI on Wed Jan 16 2019

I love my 2011 Ford Explorer Limited and the 2017 Ford Explorer Limited I'm currently purchasing. I just wish it got better gas mileage and that it had Qi Wireless Charging capabilities as many other vehicles do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointed

by Tyler from Lexington, MA on Fri Jul 07 2017

After three years with the faulty 2012 Ford Focus, we traded in 2014 for the Nissan Rogue Select, also very unreliable. Instead of going to a new brand, I decided to go back to Ford as many of my co-workers own the Ford vehicles and have said nothing but nice things about them. I went over to my Ford dealership and ordered my Shadow Black 2017 Ford Explorer XLT with the 202A package, 4-Wheel Drive, and the "Fuel Efficient" 2.3L EcoBoost 4 Cylinder. I was very excited to pickup my vehicle but when I drove out of the lot, I got rear-ended. I could not believe the amount of damage to the vehicle for the very little force applied to the rear of the vehicle. It was destroyed. It spent three weeks in the shop being repaired. Very expensive might I add. About three days after bringing it home, I noticed that the seal on the roof-rail was coming off. I brought it back to the dealership and they replaced it for $250.00. At this point, I was not happy. About a week later, I noticed that the vehicle was making a really absurd clunking noise when I went up a hill reaching speeds of anything over 30 MPH. Yet again, I brought it to the dealer and they claimed that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and told me to move on. Very rude. So now I am stuck with a vehicle that has severe issues when driving. Also, not to mention that all of the chimes and warning sounds change quite often. Not always the nice sounds that are in the 2017 vehicle, but the god awful chime in the 2015 Fusion. Overall, I am not very impressed with this vehicle but I can tell you that I find the vehicle very quiet in the interior and very comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

A perfect marriage of utility and style

by Sarasotaexplorers from Sarasota FL on Sun Jul 02 2017

Quiet, smooth ride-handles like a luxury car. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. 100. Characters is a silly requirement. Brevity is the mark of an organized mind

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Didn't buy it !!

by geo from connellsville,pa on Sun May 06 2018

Can't review what I didn't buy !! Price was way to high and I won't pay it !! No deal was to be had here !! The price was $8,000 more then promised. Would not honor even ad price.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Explorer XLT

by Blessedintx from North Richland Hills, TX on Sun Apr 16 2017

Love this vehicle! We love 5 Star Ford....always feel like we got a deal with Lee Clanton and Ford! Went to check out an Edge but the Explorer called my name!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com