NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,238 - $36,462  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

El mejor carro muy c�modo para toda la familia

by Gloria Godinez from Lawrencville ga 30043 on Tue Nov 13 2018

El mejor Carro muy c�modo suficiente espacio para mi familia econ�mico de Gas tiene todo lo que est�s buscando s�per contenta Lo recomiendo a todos !!!??

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

To new to judge.

by Rgerena from Amherst, Ohio on Mon Apr 17 2017

Ford, cars have always been reliable for me and the family. Ford has come along way in design,style and the motor is outstanding.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Smooth riding comfortable

by Tom wisconson true from Greenbay wI on Fri Nov 09 2018

bough used xlt loaded many acessories dual panoramic moonroof, nav, no auto lift gate but don't need it, lift gate lifts fine manually, no sony audio system, but 6 speaker audio that comes with nav sounds good, 3.5 ltr v6 none turbo engine moves this biger vehicle just fine, gas milage is good for this size of vehicle, overall ride is good, styling is up to date, and styling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Roomy and looks good

by mic1005 from Broomfield on Wed Nov 01 2017

With the third row seating there is tons of room. The gas mileage is better than previous SUVs I've owned and it looks great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Daphneh from North Richland Hills, Tx on Fri Jul 07 2017

Love the car, just wish the cup holders in the back were bigger. Great ride and comfortable, easy to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the look

by Erin from New Castle DE on Sat Apr 29 2017

I want the rear hatch window to open like it did on the older models. Its less utility now a days and all sport.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells & whistles

by Cookie Baker from Tuscumbia, AL on Sun Oct 01 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ford tough

by David from ashland,KY on Mon Jul 31 2017

being in the U.S.Army in Afghanistan for two years we drove Ford Rangers and they were tough, also years back in the 80's and early 90's I worked for a company and we drove ford Econoline vans 300 inline 6s hundreds of thousands of miles, a friend of mine had a F250 with over 400,000 miles 300 inline 6,the quality of my new 2017 Ford Explorer is great this will probably my last vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by michele and jeff from Tallmadge, ohio on Fri Apr 28 2017

The ride is wonderful. So much space but doesn't feel like you are driving a large truck. The panoramic sun roof is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the explorer i owned has been a plesure

by mr.G from Tannersville, N.Y. on Thu Apr 20 2017

the explorer has been a vehicle I leased for over 9 years and I still want to lease this vehicle now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com