NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,238 - $36,462  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

the explorer i owned has been a plesure

by mr.G from Tannersville, N.Y. on Thu Apr 20 2017

the explorer has been a vehicle I leased for over 9 years and I still want to lease this vehicle now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Kss from Westerville on Mon Jun 12 2017

This vehicle rides very well. I have enjoyed driving and riding in it. The only thing could say I wish it had a bit more room in the rear for luggage when needing to use all the seats. Not a major deal. Very happy over all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by michele and jeff from Tallmadge, ohio on Fri Apr 28 2017

The ride is wonderful. So much space but doesn't feel like you are driving a large truck. The panoramic sun roof is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells & whistles

by Cookie Baker from Tuscumbia, AL on Sun Oct 01 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Ford

by Cgold from Chatom al on Sat May 06 2017

Comfortable and got lots of extras for reasonable price! I got the v6 and it will move on down the road!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ford tough

by David from ashland,KY on Mon Jul 31 2017

being in the U.S.Army in Afghanistan for two years we drove Ford Rangers and they were tough, also years back in the 80's and early 90's I worked for a company and we drove ford Econoline vans 300 inline 6s hundreds of thousands of miles, a friend of mine had a F250 with over 400,000 miles 300 inline 6,the quality of my new 2017 Ford Explorer is great this will probably my last vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third Explorer... love them

by Ronacl from Frontier SK on Sat Jun 17 2017

Great for my hauling needs. Great look. Very comfortable to drive and ride in. Easy handling. Great power to pass.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV!!!

by ddwilkin from BARTOW on Wed May 03 2017

I have loved the Explorer for years but just recently took the plunge and bought one. I am so happy with this vehicle and look forward to driving it for years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As Good as High End Makes

by gdg from Brandon, MS on Thu Jun 22 2017

We test drove Cadillac, Lincoln, Lexis and some others. We went back to the Explorer. The slight difference in ride and comfort was not worth the difference in price. The 4 cylinder Eco boost engine has more power than I expected. It will get up and go when passing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just a beautiful car.

by Pumpkin from on Sun Jun 18 2017

It is a beautiful riding car. I feel like a queen behind the wheel. The sound system is incredible. It drives so smooth and with such ease. A very quiet riding vehicle. A joy to drive. Thank you Ford.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com