NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,238 - $36,462  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle yet

by OurS from Bristol,IL on Wed Aug 02 2017

We spotted our new Explorer on the dealer's lot and almost immediately we knew we wanted it. The looks-ride-and easy to drive are beyond imagine. Controls were easy to learn and use. The Sony sound system is great. The mpg was a disappointment but with only 700+ miles we need to put on a lot more miles before we will really know how the mpg really is. The seats are very comfortable and the massage feature is nice to have. Today we give the vehicle a 5 star rating and we hope that rating lasts for as long as we own it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car-More car than a Lexus GX

by Bossy Chrissy from Everett, WA on Fri Dec 22 2017

Better technology, electric back seats, and back door, smooth ride, zippy engine. The new Lexus GX doesn't even compare (the GX was my backup option). The back door of the Lexus opens the wrong way and no electric.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the explorer i owned has been a plesure

by mr.G from Tannersville, N.Y. on Thu Apr 20 2017

the explorer has been a vehicle I leased for over 9 years and I still want to lease this vehicle now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Kss from Westerville on Mon Jun 12 2017

This vehicle rides very well. I have enjoyed driving and riding in it. The only thing could say I wish it had a bit more room in the rear for luggage when needing to use all the seats. Not a major deal. Very happy over all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Explorer sport rocks

by GSK from Farmington Hills on Wed Jun 28 2017

I drove 750 miles already and i am absolutely in love with my vehicle. The styling is stunning and the power is right there at my disposal when i need it. I would have liked a more appealing interior , but i am satisfied with what it is. Intelligent AWD makes it a joy to drive on all surfaces. What's interesting is that the cargo space looks much bigger than an Expedition and it does fit more luggage. I did feel the driver and passenger seat to be smaller than my previous fusion, but it was only because of the relative size of the vehicle. Driver leg room is not the best but i did not feel any issue with 175 mile one way ride especially when you make use of cruise and adaptive cruise ( if equipped ). Second seat leg room is adjustable which makes good space for third row especially with 2 little kids 2 and 7 i minimized the second row and i also have captain chairs in the second row for easy access of 3rd row. Sync 3 Infotainment system is a big improvement from Myford touch on my ford fusion with car play and android auto a big plus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by michele and jeff from Tallmadge, ohio on Fri Apr 28 2017

The ride is wonderful. So much space but doesn't feel like you are driving a large truck. The panoramic sun roof is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my Ford Explorer Platinum is AWESOME!!

by Love Ford Explorers!!! from McDonough, Georgia on Wed Jun 28 2017

I just bought a 2017 Ford Explorer Platinum and it is a beautiful car and rides like a dream. It's AWESOME! It's fully loaded with everything. I love this SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third Explorer... love them

by Ronacl from Frontier SK on Sat Jun 17 2017

Great for my hauling needs. Great look. Very comfortable to drive and ride in. Easy handling. Great power to pass.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells & whistles

by Cookie Baker from Tuscumbia, AL on Sun Oct 01 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As Good as High End Makes

by gdg from Brandon, MS on Thu Jun 22 2017

We test drove Cadillac, Lincoln, Lexis and some others. We went back to the Explorer. The slight difference in ride and comfort was not worth the difference in price. The 4 cylinder Eco boost engine has more power than I expected. It will get up and go when passing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com