NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,267 - $36,487  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

292 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

81 - 90 of 292 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

the explorer i owned has been a plesure

by mr.G from Tannersville, N.Y. on Thu Apr 20 2017

the explorer has been a vehicle I leased for over 9 years and I still want to lease this vehicle now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice Explorer

by Spaceghost from Stafford, VA on Sat Jun 24 2017

I shopped around and compare this vehicle to the Toyota 4runner and Nissan Pathfinder. In all areas, the Ford came out ahead, especially value for cost. Additionally, my Ford has tech features not available on the other SUVs I compared. So far, I love it and hope it lasts forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by michele and jeff from Tallmadge, ohio on Fri Apr 28 2017

The ride is wonderful. So much space but doesn't feel like you are driving a large truck. The panoramic sun roof is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my Ford Explorer Platinum is AWESOME!!

by Love Ford Explorers!!! from McDonough, Georgia on Wed Jun 28 2017

I just bought a 2017 Ford Explorer Platinum and it is a beautiful car and rides like a dream. It's AWESOME! It's fully loaded with everything. I love this SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells & whistles

by Cookie Baker from Tuscumbia, AL on Sun Oct 01 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looking for a Great SUV ? Ford has it

by Wolfeye from Hibbing Minnesota on Mon Sep 18 2017

The 2017 Exporer is all you need when it comes to an SUV , Stylish,Comfortable,Powerful and full of Technology that is easy to understand ! So glad we made this our purchase ! Get to your Ford Dealer now and test drive the Explorer and see for yourselves

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third Explorer... love them

by Ronacl from Frontier SK on Sat Jun 17 2017

Great for my hauling needs. Great look. Very comfortable to drive and ride in. Easy handling. Great power to pass.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Much improved!

by Darrell from Canton, Mi on Fri Sep 08 2017

Much improved over the 2011 Explorer I used to own. More of a solid feel, acceleration with the 3.5 engine better and more comfortable ride with the 4x4 option.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As Good as High End Makes

by gdg from Brandon, MS on Thu Jun 22 2017

We test drove Cadillac, Lincoln, Lexis and some others. We went back to the Explorer. The slight difference in ride and comfort was not worth the difference in price. The 4 cylinder Eco boost engine has more power than I expected. It will get up and go when passing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle

by Happy chic from Jewett City Ct on Mon Jun 26 2017

This vehicle is roomy and gorgeous. So quiet and rides nice. I never have been so happy like this. I get compliments all the time. I recommend it to whoever is looking for a new vehicle. You will be greatly satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com