1999 F-150

Consumer Reviews
1999 Ford F-150

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned (out of about 10)...

by OK Angler from Penticton, BC, Canada on November 26, 2016

Bought my 1999 F-150 Lariat with 299,000kms on it in August 2015. It was owned by one family since new and dealer-maintained regularly. It drives like a car, but has tons of power to tow my bass boat. In the past year and a bit I had to replace the ignition coils ($600) and fuel pump ($780), but other than that, no problems at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly reliable

by South Carolina "Halfback" from Clemson, SC on November 26, 2008

I bought my F-150 Lariat King Cab new in Florida in 1999 and have spent less than $1K on repairs in almost ten years of daily driving. Except for parking lot dings on the outside and minor wear on the uppholstery and steering wheel it still looks and runs like new. I have a very expensive German car too, and the F-150 wins hands down for reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

F150

by Akbesha from Costa Mesa, CA on September 6, 2011

I am not a man of a lot of words but all I can say is Great truck for commuting and off road riding.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I always come back to the F150s!!

by FordmanDan from Tennessee on January 2, 2017

Like all trucks, things can go wrong. Maintenance is the life of all vehicles. But for myself, i have owned many trucks and i have always came back to the Ford F150. It's always been a comfortable ride with plenty of leg room and very dependable! 266k miles and still going!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is a great truck and it hulls heavy weights

by jose from hampton on October 19, 2017

this truck is great the lights turn off after you turn engine off and it has great interior for a 1999 and it has plenty of room in the cab and in the extended cab

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still looks good after all these years

by SK from Port Henry, NY on May 24, 2017

Bought this truck new at the end of the model year and has been reliable. has been comfortable too. Only have single bench seat. Paint remains good. Only problem has been with massive rusting on underbody mostly due to being kept near lake.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

F-150 Supercab 4x4 4.6L Manual

by RSavage from La Crosse, Wisconsin on March 9, 2018

Amazing vehicle, 204,000 and going strong. A little rusted, (Wisconsin Truck) nothing that some sanding, neutralizer, bondo and paint didn't fix. Had a few different trucks over the years; I've always come back to the F-150. Although, some of the new models have too many bells and whistles for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best car i've ever bought

by spooky from plano tx on May 8, 2017

i think its wonderful and a perfect fit for me. i love trucks and i love this care its amazing. if i could just copy this care and change the color it would be my biggest dream car. its perfect for driving around and having fun with the boys. i love mudding in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Always wanted a Ford Truck because of its value.

by Sharon on March 10, 2018

I have not owned it long enough to really say. It is definitely comfortable, with lots of space and runs smoothly. I really like it. Prefer a Ford Truck over any other.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

155k Miles in the Rustbelt and Still Going Strong

by Hatthans from St. Francis, WI on January 19, 2017

When this generation F150 came out, it was the first truck that wasn't shaped like a brick and also had a decent interior. The V8s are great engines and the 4x4 system is good enough to drive exclusively on soft-sand beaches for two summers straight (I know b/c I did this!) Like any older vehicle, parts start to wear as the age (and to a lesser extent mileage) start to add up. However, this truck is pretty easy to work on and all of the major components (engine, transmission, etc.) work well. I would recommend an F150 to anyone who wants a good blend of performance, value and great ownership community. There are so many folks who own these that you can find videos online for replacing anything. Parts are cheap too!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 1999 Ford F-150