1999 F-150

Consumer Reviews

1999 Ford F-150

1999 Ford F-150

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

26 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Ford F-150?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned (out of about 10)...

by OK Angler from Penticton, BC, Canada on Sat Nov 26 2016

Bought my 1999 F-150 Lariat with 299,000kms on it in August 2015. It was owned by one family since new and dealer-maintained regularly. It drives like a car, but has tons of power to tow my bass boat. In the past year and a bit I had to replace the ignition coils ($600) and fuel pump ($780), but other than that, no problems at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly reliable

by South Carolina "Halfback" from Clemson, SC on Wed Nov 26 2008

I bought my F-150 Lariat King Cab new in Florida in 1999 and have spent less than $1K on repairs in almost ten years of daily driving. Except for parking lot dings on the outside and minor wear on the uppholstery and steering wheel it still looks and runs like new. I have a very expensive German car too, and the F-150 wins hands down for reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

F150

by Akbesha from Costa Mesa, CA on Tue Sep 06 2011

I am not a man of a lot of words but all I can say is Great truck for commuting and off road riding.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I always come back to the F150s!!

by FordmanDan from Tennessee on Mon Jan 02 2017

Like all trucks, things can go wrong. Maintenance is the life of all vehicles. But for myself, i have owned many trucks and i have always came back to the Ford F150. It's always been a comfortable ride with plenty of leg room and very dependable! 266k miles and still going!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is a great truck and it hulls heavy weights

by jose from hampton on Thu Oct 19 2017

this truck is great the lights turn off after you turn engine off and it has great interior for a 1999 and it has plenty of room in the cab and in the extended cab

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

F-150 Supercab 4x4 4.6L Manual

by RSavage from La Crosse, Wisconsin on Fri Mar 09 2018

Amazing vehicle, 204,000 and going strong. A little rusted, (Wisconsin Truck) nothing that some sanding, neutralizer, bondo and paint didn't fix. Had a few different trucks over the years; I've always come back to the F-150. Although, some of the new models have too many bells and whistles for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still looks good after all these years

by SK from Port Henry, NY on Wed May 24 2017

Bought this truck new at the end of the model year and has been reliable. has been comfortable too. Only have single bench seat. Paint remains good. Only problem has been with massive rusting on underbody mostly due to being kept near lake.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Always wanted a Ford Truck because of its value.

by Sharon on Sat Mar 10 2018

I have not owned it long enough to really say. It is definitely comfortable, with lots of space and runs smoothly. I really like it. Prefer a Ford Truck over any other.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best car i've ever bought

by spooky from plano tx on Mon May 08 2017

i think its wonderful and a perfect fit for me. i love trucks and i love this care its amazing. if i could just copy this care and change the color it would be my biggest dream car. its perfect for driving around and having fun with the boys. i love mudding in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dependable and serviceable pickup

by CAB from Nebraska on Fri May 11 2018

Sturdy and reliable, have not had any major issues, only routine maintenance. Not great gas mileage, but it?s a pickup. Tow?s and pulls adequately when needed. Would buy it again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1999 Ford F-150

Pickup trucks are selling so fast you'd think half the country is in the home remodeling business.

Roughly half of all vehicles sold are trucks, and last year Ford's F-series racked up more than 836,000 sales, making it once again the best-selling vehicle in the country.

Most trucks fall into the "personal use" category, where their beds haul little or nothing most of the time. With the accouterments of a passenger car, a ride soft enough to be tolerable on a daily basis and extended cabs with back doors and nearly full size back seats, it's not surprising that pickup trucks have become the epitome of a "personal" vehicle.

It was with these things in mind that I approached Ford's F-150... Read More