2006 F-150

Consumer Reviews

2006 Ford F-150

$3,524 - $14,708  MSRP Range
2006 Ford F-150

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

121 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Ford F-150?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 121 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great work truck.

by Marc from on Fri May 19 2017

Rarely driving or used for work Truck. It is just my truck that runs great. I use it for commuting and going to the gym. Indash screen with rear view back up camera. Everything works fine and has never let me down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by John from New York, NY on Thu Jul 14 2011

AMERICAN TRUCK AT ITS BEST! id rather push a ford than drive anything else honestly but really ford is a very good company. I have always purchased Ford vehicles and will continue to do so. AMAZING

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Truckin' from on Mon Nov 15 2010

Great truck, I tow 6,000lbs with it once a week and it's my daily driver. Tows/handles fine with a load. F150 Ext Cab XL 4x4 4.6l

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent for hauling large loads

by boat hauler from Sanford NC on Wed Jun 14 2006

pulls a 7,400 lb 25 ft. boat without a hickup. Great hauler without the need to move up to a F-250. 5.4L motor with 3.73 rear gears and sturdy frame platform definately "git R done"

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Piece of Junk!

by JLT from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Dec 18 2012

Purchase vehicle new in Oct 2006. Nice looking but nothing but trouble. Replaced transmission at 71,000 miles. Has never towed anything! Previously had a Expedition which had transmission troubles at 37,000 miles. Never any hep from Ford other than dealer wanted to overcharge. Replaced spark plugs at 100K. Costs $1,000 because of faulty design in plugs and motor. Bad power window motor which needs to be replaced. Bad air conditioner whichis making noise. Never buy one of these!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

F 150

by JG from Mississippi on Tue Jan 17 2012

Bought this 2006 F150 used looks good rides good just wish it had better gas mileage. But would recommend the F150.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

its good

by tyman from marion ohio on Fri Mar 18 2011

its good and rugged work truck i would lice to have a new one i wish i could get a new heavy duity truck

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

They still cant get it right!

by never again from rapid city, sd on Wed Dec 28 2011

This is the second newer (2006) ford f150 that I have owned. Routine maintence such as spark plugs should not cost up to $2000 dollors. The 5.4 liter 3 valve motor have a horrible reputation for the spark plugs breaking off when they are taken out. So something as simple as changing spark plugs can involve removing the heads. At best there will probly only be 2 or 3 that break off, the charge for each one is between $200 and $300. Not to mention the $260 for the special plugs themselves.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Ford F150

by Love Fords from Wichita, Kansas on Thu May 30 2013

Love the Ford F150 2006 Lariat! We have not had one problem since owning this awesome truck! So comfortable and smooth riding! Recommend to everyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

MOST HORRIBLE TRUCK I'VE EVER OWNED!

by FORD'S SUCK from Percy, Il on Sat Jun 09 2012

I bought my 2006 Ford 150 4x4 with the triton engine. I have owned my truck now for 4 years. It was used when I purchased it. It has 65 thousand miles on it. It now has 160 thousand. I have had no problems with this truck until here lately. It's been cutting out while driving it down the road. Took it to a mechanic. He said it needed the plugs changed. Ok no big deal right? Oh how wrong I was in that assumption. To replace the plugs can cost anywhere to 2 to 4 thousand dollars depending if the plugs break off while changing them. Really what's up FORD??? Who can afford a pricey fix like that? Getting ready to trade my Ford in on something else but I guarentee you it will NOT be a FORD product. So dissapointed! Why hasn't Ford has a recall on this. The mechanic told me it was the 2004 to 2006 that has this problem. I won't buy another vehicle from the dealership I bought this truck from either. They convientley didn't tell me about the plugs being so pricey to change out. Horrible dissapointed in this make and model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2006 Ford F-150


As a showcase for powertrain innovations, the 2006 F-150 Harley-Davidson breaks new ground with the availability of all-wheel-drive. That’s a first for any Ford pickup and another step in attracting active truckers in regions prone to inclement weather.

But the seventh edition of the alliance between Ford and Harley doesn’t push the styling envelope. The familiar deep black paint, large chrome wheels, orange graphics and leather/chrome interior trim returns. It’s a comfortable look and one that surely will appeal to Harley faithful. Maybe I’m getting a little jaded by the Harley-Davidson model, but finding aesthetic pleasure in another black-on-black truck is tough, especially when... Read More