1997 F-250

Consumer Reviews

1997 Ford F-250

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Ford F-250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Clater Banger

by SVT lover from Madison, SD on Sat Sep 29 2012

Bought a 97 F-250 diesel extended cab 4 x 4 pick-up with 210,000 miles. Took me 5 months to find one that wasn't a rust bucket. Use it mainly for my work with Habitat for Humanity, pulling trailers and picking up building materials. Wonderful truck getting almost 19 miles per gallon. Love the noise of the diesel and the Basset hounds here me coming 3 blocks away.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice Truck

by Larry from Wilsonville, Oregon on Sun Aug 31 2014

I just this truck a few years ago for fishing/camping, deer and elk hunting. It has performed beyond my expectations. Everything on it says high quality. Very strong, dependable and reliable. I'd definitely get another Ford F250 if something happened to this one. Heaven forbid!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

F250 with 7.3L

by PapaTSWIdaho from Idaho on Wed Oct 04 2017

this is one of most reliable, durable and least expensive Diesel pickup to own. well maybe until you see the price of the new pickups, that cost as much as some small homes. I have owned this pickup 9 years, and put approx 175K miles on the 7.3L . i purchased is with 102K miles on it. pulling a 3400lb cabover and a bass boat behind it, it does exactly what is needs to without complaining.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Thank You cars.com

by papasteam from Phoenix on Wed Nov 20 2013

could not of found it without you wanted a exact one, and got it it was a needle in the hay stack ooooya

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All time favorite truck

by Ol time 4X4 enthusiast from Dallas, TX on Fri Jun 19 2009

I have driven 4X4 trucks and SUVs for close to 40 years and this has to be the best overall performer I have ever owned. Easy to handle with plenty of room and comfort on long drives far exceeds any truck ever driven. The 7.3L has all the power needed for pulling and the ride is excellent (especially for a 4X4). Fuel economy isn't the greatest, (around 15 to 16 mpg) but what do you expect from an 8,000 lb. gorilla?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck!

by Camping fools from Sebastopol on Tue Dec 16 2008

The ride is the best I've had in a full size truck, it has comfortable seating on long trips. We pull our 27 ft. travel trailer with it and it has all the power you'd want from a truck.I love the body style of this truck, I can't say enough about it. Check it out, you won't be sorry!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

loved this truck!

by ranch woman from eastern, CO on Mon Oct 22 2007

wish i had never let this truck go, it was great! my only complaint was the diesel engine was really loud, but other than that it was a dream!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best truck ever !!

by extreem from anoka,mn on Fri Oct 26 2012

ford makes the best trucks... i am so happy with all the ford trucks that i bought over the years.. i had a 97 f150 ford ext cab xlt 4x4 flareside and 97 ford f250 xlt 4x4 and a 84 and 78 and i have had some very great trucks from ford....the best trucks out there hands down !!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ford

by Big Green from ohio on Sat May 12 2012

This Truck does come with the diesel or gas engine I prefer the 5.8 gas powered engine and with the dual tank Feature and non stop driving switch tanks with the flick of a switch its great ! And it looks great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Ford 7.3 Ltr Diesel best truck around

by MjT from Boise, ID on Wed May 17 2017

This Truck has been great, no problems so and I'm at 133,000 miles automatic trans 4x4 extra cab. 7.3 ltr diesel powerstroke has been a great truck, pack my camper pulls my boat or anything else Ive put behind it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2