2003 Focus

Consumer Reviews

2003 Ford Focus

$784 - $5,968  MSRP Range
2003 Ford Focus

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

60 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Ford Focus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 60 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Sm]st new car buy, for my needs.

by Old man on the hill from Westport, KY on Mon Oct 09 2017

Smart styling, comfortable, and great mileage. Took car on trip with three large people, full cooler, and miscellaneous stuff to the mountains of eastern Kentucky. Averaged 33.9 miles to the gallon. My friend, who drove part of the way and is a bus driver loved the way it handled.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable commuter

by ZX5 owner from Fort Collins, CO on Tue Aug 08 2017

Very practical, inexpensive, easy to maintain, and reliable. Love driving it, although the 4 cylinder doesn't have much "giddy up and go" it's very tight and smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

250,000 miles later and I still love this car!

by Ryrysmommy from Nj on Sun Nov 27 2016

I bought this car used when I was 17 for $700 and had 125,000 miles on it we put about $500 dollars into it, and I still love this car 6 years later! It has been smashed into a gaurdrail doing 80, she's banged up but still drives like nothing happened with a bit of body work. I have had some dumb things here and there that have needed fixing but nothing major. My husband drives this car 3 hours 5 days a week and it's super reliable! Only complaint is the door handles suck and break constantly but that's nothing big.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Inexpensive reliable transportaion.

by callsign on Sat Jul 29 2017

Owned from new for 11 years. Over 211,000 basically trouble free miles. Needed a few repairs, but all were easy and I did them in my garage. It always ran and always got me home, even when it was acting up a bit. One of the very best engineered cars I've owned. Only engine components I changed were, the regular maintenance parts, a thermostat housing that leaked and the coil pack which failed, neither of which prevented me from driving the car until I fixed it. I would heartily recommend the car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ford Focus SVT

by JMac on Fri Feb 23 2018

This car is a bargain of a lifetime if you want a hot hatch. Very fun to drive. Parts are very hard to find. Good luck. Interior is very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car on the street and very economic

by Spartan moe from Ny on Wed Jun 21 2017

This car simply have met all my needs , it's very economic on gas , sounds nice and runs perfectly ..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford focus

by JackieMsaysYes from Detroit, MI on Wed Sep 06 2017

The design is nice interior and exterior. The vechicle takes about $20-25.00 to fill up. I love the smooth ride. It's a used car anyway. Just keep up the on it and u can will have this for years. It's very good car to lease, to buy, or to sell. Just keep regular mainteance on the car, etc. And u are good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice , car ,excellent, condition

by Daisy on Mon Sep 18 2017

Test driven, the car was priced well, had plenty of comfort, drove well, the miles were under 100,000 , the color and condition was perfect

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ran great for a few years

by KWfocus03 from Lynchburg, VA on Fri Aug 25 2017

This car ran great for a long time. I bought it used in 2012, and it lasted 3.5 years before the transmission went out. It was great on gas mileage. Very economical.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great 1st car

by Wintercoe from Columbus,OH on Thu Sep 14 2017

This car has been super reliable and is perfect for a teenagers first car. Has big trunk space and great safety features.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Prev
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2003 Ford Focus

The left front wheel was out of alignment. It shimmied at high speeds. The steering wheel vibrated. We were tempted to return the 2003 Ford Focus SE sedan to the airport Hertz fleet.

But we looked at the odometer. This rental car had been driven 25,000 miles before we picked it up. Later, we checked its vehicle identification number and manufacture date. Judging from that information, the Focus had been in service a bit more than five months. That worked out to an average 5,000 miles per month, which meant the Focus was going to auction.

Good car-rental companies don't keep high-mileage cars. They ship them for resale. Hertz is a good car-rental company. Our high-mileage 2003 car was... Read More