Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2003 Focus

Consumer Reviews

2003 Ford Focus

$627 - $6,275  MSRP Range
2003 Ford Focus

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

60 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Ford Focus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 60 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Old faithful

by Keepfocused from Medford NJ on Sat Jun 24 2017

It's a great car to commute for work or school. $20 fills the tank and last me all week when on a tight budget. Cheap to fix and inexpensive overall but as a 30 yr old I don't feel like a complete nerd I've actually got it over a 100 comfortable

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Literally Best Car I Owned

by BlueFocusGuy from Washington, DC on Sat Aug 05 2017

I bought my 2003 ZX3 Hatchback with a 5 Speed and the DOHC motor and 23,000 miles in 2005. Now In August 2017, it has 245,000+ miles on it. Burns no oil, has the original clutch. Replaced the Alternator, and a few other normal maintenance parts but nothing of note and it has been totally reliable. It's been the best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by PrincessK from NJ on Wed Jun 14 2017

If you're looking for a great first car for your children, I would recommend this car, simply bc the gas mileage and small fuel tank made $20 last.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent mileage and condition for a 2003

by Previous Owner from SW Florida on Fri May 19 2017

This vehicle has very low mileage. It also has a lot of room due to the hatchback and fold-down seats. Feels very secure on the road. Great for commuting to and from work, long road trips, and even family travel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ford Focus SVT

by JMac on Fri Feb 23 2018

This car is a bargain of a lifetime if you want a hot hatch. Very fun to drive. Parts are very hard to find. Good luck. Interior is very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

250,000 miles later and I still love this car!

by Ryrysmommy from Nj on Sun Nov 27 2016

I bought this car used when I was 17 for $700 and had 125,000 miles on it we put about $500 dollars into it, and I still love this car 6 years later! It has been smashed into a gaurdrail doing 80, she's banged up but still drives like nothing happened with a bit of body work. I have had some dumb things here and there that have needed fixing but nothing major. My husband drives this car 3 hours 5 days a week and it's super reliable! Only complaint is the door handles suck and break constantly but that's nothing big.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Comfortable

by Jimmy from SIOUX FALLS, SD on Tue Aug 15 2017

This car in very reliable and economy in gasoline. Good style and comfortable. I recommend this car to anything.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ran great for a few years

by KWfocus03 from Lynchburg, VA on Fri Aug 25 2017

This car ran great for a long time. I bought it used in 2012, and it lasted 3.5 years before the transmission went out. It was great on gas mileage. Very economical.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

the perfect size. I wish ford still made them.

by billl from duluth, mn on Wed Oct 04 2017

This is the perfect size car. It carries a lot of things but doesn't look bulky like a SUV. It gets much better gas mileage than a SUV and carries more. It's too bad only Volvo makes a stationwagon now. They are too pricey. If ford still made one I would have bought another. Very reliable and durable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great 1st car

by Wintercoe from Columbus,OH on Thu Sep 14 2017

This car has been super reliable and is perfect for a teenagers first car. Has big trunk space and great safety features.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Prev
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2003 Ford Focus

The left front wheel was out of alignment. It shimmied at high speeds. The steering wheel vibrated. We were tempted to return the 2003 Ford Focus SE sedan to the airport Hertz fleet.

But we looked at the odometer. This rental car had been driven 25,000 miles before we picked it up. Later, we checked its vehicle identification number and manufacture date. Judging from that information, the Focus had been in service a bit more than five months. That worked out to an average 5,000 miles per month, which meant the Focus was going to auction.

Good car-rental companies don't keep high-mileage cars. They ship them for resale. Hertz is a good car-rental company. Our high-mileage 2003 car was... Read More