2013 Yukon XL

Consumer Reviews

2013 GMC Yukon XL

$10,447 - $37,263  MSRP Range
2013 GMC Yukon XL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

17 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2013 GMC Yukon XL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Yukon XL Denali

by Family with 3 kids! from Allentown, PA on Tue Jan 08 2013

Just upgraded from a 2008 Yukon XL to a 2013 XL Denali. Glad we made the purchase! The denali performance is much impressive than my older model. Gas mileage is around 13 compared to 14.5, no big difference. Interior is great just would like the middle seats to slide forward or backward. Also would be nice for the rear seats to fold flat. Overall great SUV that can carry a boatload of stuff.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable so far! But it's nearly new! Should be!!

by Nature lover from Pa. on Sat Aug 03 2013

I moved up ten years with this vehicle so it has features I haven't had before; Back-up camera is nice especially w/such a long vehicle & I lack depth perception. Don't have a navigation system. However as they become outdated so quickly due to modern advancing technology I think that is good. The heated leather seats are especially comfy in cold weather as my old vehicle had them. Heated steering wheel would be nice as would be seats w/cool feature as well. I especially like the extra room the Yukon "XL" has over the shorter Yukon as we have a vacation home in the mountains about two hour drive from home. Haul lots of stuff.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lee

by Lee from Summersville , WV on Wed Oct 02 2013

I love the pearl black, the feel, handling and comfort. The dealership and salesman were very knowledgeable, courteous and polite. I feel they did their most to make our car buying experience as pleasant as possible. The one drawback is that I feel all cars are just too costly which has nothig to do with the dealer, but the dealer did save me some $$$ with 2.95 financing. Overall experience was 4.5 stars with list price as my only complaint.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best SUV for the money

by CHET from melbourne on Thu Sep 06 2012

I love the design and looks of my new 2013 Yukon.It is comfortable to drive,but when i look at the gas milage i am disapointed.11-12 miles to the gallon in city.I know it is a big V8 engine but i expected a little better.Ihave not got a chance to check the milage on the highway yet but i hope it is at least in the low 20's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Black 2013 GMC Yukon Denali XL

by Kcfamilyof5 from California on Sat Apr 08 2017

We bought this car a little over a year ago with very low Milage & it's been a very smart decision for our family of 5. We have 3 children ages 11-2. The bucket seats in the middle make it very easy to maneuver around inside. The Tv's are helpful on trips. It's fully loaded with all the bells & whistles. The only complaint I have is the color, the black is very hard to keep clean. Other then that none.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fit my family of 5 perfect

by SArcher from Rapid City on Thu Jul 20 2017

The truck is fine plenty of room for the kids. Comfortable not bad on gas smooth ride. So far I'm loving it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Almost perfect

by Almost perfect from on Fri Jul 15 2016

I just bought a used 2013 Yukon XL and find that it is a great vehicle...except....the nav system. It is BY FAR, the worst nav I have used. It uses two different voices, one of them sounding very mechanical. But, the real issue I have is, that it is slow in determining where you really are, when you are using it to navigate. Several times, it missed telling me in a timely manner, that I had a turn to make. The interaction of the map is also sub-par. It's too hard to zoom in or out. In short, I'd love to tear out the nav and put in an aftermarket one that actually works.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car ever!

by Lyssadrak000 from Illinois on Mon Jun 19 2017

So far I love my Yukon. It's everything I could have imagined it would be as far as space, comfort and reliability. My kids love the infotainment system also!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by butchb from eden prairie, mn on Sat Oct 21 2017

The SUV has all the space and features that I need. mileage fine and tends to fall in line with the published range.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second best car that I have owned.

by Mrs Lewis-Torres from Covina, Ca. on Tue May 23 2017

This is the best car for my family. There is enough room for everyone. Dvd players for the kids for those long drives. Great cargo room for the stroller, sports equipment/bags and all the groceries.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2013 GMC Yukon XL

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2012 about the 2012 GMC Yukon XL. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2013, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2012 GMC Yukon XL combines room and capability like few SUVs can, but unless you're getting the high-line Denali trim, it's hard to see why you wouldn't pick its cheaper twin, the Chevrolet Suburban.

The Yukon XL is GMC's version of the Suburban (compare them here) and it gets a few updates for 2012. As its name suggests, the Yukon XL is an extension of the shorter Yukon; it's also related to the Chevrolet Tahoe, as well as Cadillac's Escalade family. It's... Read More