2005 Accord Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2005 Honda Accord Hybrid

$1,539 - $8,491  MSRP Range
2005 Honda Accord Hybrid

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Honda Accord Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great buy used

by Sy from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Oct 25 2010

Bought 2005 with about 50,000 miles for half of the original price new. This car gets very good gas mileage for a V6 with eco drive. I will say that you have to learn how to drive it, because it doesn't handle like my previous accords did. For example, when you come to a stop light, the gasoline engine shuts off and the car runs only on electric motor while idling - so people think that it "surges forward" when you're trying to stop. Once you learn how much pressure to put on the brakes, you'll be able to control it and love the increased gas mileage from not having the engine run when stopped. This feature does not work when the defrost is on though - not sure why. My guess is it has to do with needing the air compressor on during defrost. Secondly, the car is a V6 and you can get every bit of the horsepower out of it when you put your foot to the pedal. It's a very quick response on highway when needed. Very good control during acceleration. The power steering is actually controlled by the electric motor, so it's always extremely smooth. Way better than any other accord I've had (89, 96, 99). As long as you keep the tires properly inflated and use low rolling resistance tires, you can get 35-40mpg on the highway depending on the inclines. If your drive is relatively flat, you'll get on the higher end of that. I got 39.5mpg on the highway from Lexington to Cincinnati. If you don't accelerate wildly, then the Eco drive kicks in on your drive - this takes the cylinders down to 3 instead of 6 for cruising. That's where you'll get your improved mpg on the highway - and sometimes in the city. Any time you keep a constant speed, whether it's with cruise control or with your foot on the pedal, the Eco drive kicks in and gives you the improved mpg. But as soon as you need to give it the gas, the electric motor assists in providing more torque to the V6, which results in a very quick acceleration when needed. I love this car, but it took some driving it on different roads to figure out how to maximize mpg and other quirks. If you have a hilly drive every day, you're not going to use the Eco drive much, and you will be in the 25-30mpg range - because you're mostly using the V6. I wish all of this would have been explained to me when I bought it, but I am still very glad I got it. I recently went over 500 miles on a single tank, with a gallon and a half to spare when I filled it up. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

61 out of 61 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hessanator

by Hessanator from on Wed Apr 26 2017

Love this car but the battery pack was replaced 8 or 9 years into the lifeof the car I think the hondas are engineered a little better but the toyotas last just as long

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never left me on he road. 100% reliable.

by Esmeralda from Tampa, Fl on Mon Jun 19 2017

This car met all my needs and I hope the next owner will be just as impressed. I love the fact that since it's a hybrid, the engine is running so softly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!

by Sunshine from Cape Coral, FL on Wed Jul 04 2018

This car is very comfortable, with plenty of leg and head room. It has a smooth quiet ride and gets excellent mileage. Despite its age (13 years old), it has never needed anything but routine maintenance, and just had its first brake change! It has great pickup, as you?d expect with a 6 cyl vehicle. I love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

05 Accord Hybrid

by Big D from MD on Wed Jun 30 2010

Extraordinary car. 28-30 mpg MD-VA daily commute through DC. 6 cyl power when and if needed. 35 mpg pure hwy. No maint, comfortable for big person, Unlike Toyota-car keeps going if hybrid battery dies,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Ally from Tampa on Mon Jan 14 2008

Hybrid model, 2005, runs quiet and smooth, actually gets EPA gas mileage, even more if you don't drive it too hard. EXCELLENT value for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the car, value keeps going up

by Kazsual1 from Rocklin, CA on Wed Jul 30 2008

I've had this car for a little over a year. I love it! The handling is incredible, the pick-up with the V-6 is a nice to have, and the look of the car is amazing! The bottom of the seats are a little small. Although the mileage isn't the best for a hybrid. I average around 28mpg. I do drive a bit aggressive and think I could get over 30 if I toned it down. The value of this car is the best feature. Because of gas prices I can probably sell it for what I bought it for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Honda

by CV from Wichita, KS on Tue Feb 13 2007

After owning the Accord for over a year, I can attest that the car is classic Honda. Reliability and safety are excellent. Acceleration is rapid. The car is a blast to drive, and the IMA system works flawlessly. The only negative is that my 2000 Chevy Silverado had several features that my top-of-the-line Honda doesn't have, such as automatic headlights.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My first car!!!

by Maggy_d on Wed Nov 22 2017

This car meets all of my needs! Being a 2005 it runs AMAZING! This car is going to be with me for a very long time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car that I've owned

by Fabulous Honda from Hotchkiss, Colorado on Wed Jul 25 2018

This car exceeded my wildest expectations. It was a gas sipper on my long commutes, was comfortable, had a wonderful stereo, and was virtually indestructible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1