2012 Civic

Consumer Reviews

2012 Honda Civic

$6,207 - $14,515  MSRP Range
2012 Honda Civic

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

268 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Honda Civic?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 268 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Environmental Car I've owned

by Super Saver Environmentalist from St Pete, Fl on Sun Apr 07 2013

After a long search for a reasonably priced used Honda, civic LX , we found a great deal on craigslist from a private owner. It has under 17,000miles, one owner, comfortable and economic ride. It looks , feels and runs like new and the price was better than most 2010 to 2012 Civics we considered. We are very happy with our 2012 Honda Civic and pleasantly pleased with the new styling. R E

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honda the right car for the right money

by Oscarlee from WV on Mon Feb 13 2012

Honda is a quality car , It has great value. The gas usage is excellent. I will definately recommend, this car to friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2012 Civic

by Loki from norfolk, va on Mon Feb 20 2012

Keep this short, great gas mileage could be better on breaking responsiveness as well as acceleration and cornering.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car Uncomfortable Seats

by Sunny from on Tue Feb 21 2012

Civic Si...wonderful mechanics, the engine is responsive, great pick-up, the 6 speed gear shifts fast and smooth. a little noisy on highway, muffler note reduced from previous years but....very uncomfortable seats

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Honda Civic Natural Gas car

by CNG enthusist from Ogden, UT on Wed Oct 16 2013

I just purchased the 2012 Honda Civic CNG. This is a great car. Very comfortable, tight ride. Great fuel economy--51mpg highway, 44 mpg overall. Best part CNG is only $1.53 per gallon. This is one of the best kept secrets in the car world.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car

by Going to College from Delaware on Sun May 11 2014

All my family buys is Hondas so I decided to follow the tradition and I am glad with my decision. I bought a used Honda Civic Coupe 2012 EX for a great price and so far I have very little negative things i can say about it. The control on the car is very good and you really feel like you are in control of the car. The exterior on a coupe looks pretty good as well, the design is very smooth and sporty. This, however, is no sports car and you can tell it has a small engine when you put too much weight in the car. The fuel economy is great when you take care of the oil and everything, I am getting about 32 mpg going to school and back. The interior design is a little plain but when you get used to it it's not a big deal. Civics have a good reputation of being reliable cars so if reliability is key for you this is the car you want. If you want a reliable, fuel efficient car with a little power, this car is perfect for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Vehcicle!

by Honda Lover from Arlington, TX on Sun Oct 05 2014

I just got this my 2012 Honda Civic EX and I love it. The handling is great, AWESOME mpg for sure, and the dashboard is outstanding. I do have to agree that the acceleration kinda sucks and the motor noise, but the sound system covers that. I fill up my tank with $40 (Premium Gas) and lasts 2 weeks or a little bit more! Everyone in my family loves to ride in it and comfortability is great for us! (:

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like my used 2012 Honda Civic

by Mel from Carver, MN on Wed Jan 15 2014

My 2012 Honda Civic handles well, is comfortable and is very economical. I think it is a good value for the money and reliable transportation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hard to beat all around!

by Wild Bill 16316 from Florida Suncoast on Tue Jan 28 2014

I needed a gently-used/low mileage, comfortable, fuel-efficient buzz bomb with a good sound system due to new job with lots of traveling - but roomy enough for my 6' wife (I'm 5'5"). The 4-dr EXL was the ticket! We looked at Fusion, Focus, Versa, Elantra, Corolla, Rio, Mini and a few other comparable models. The first road test was the Civic, and we kept saying it was "the one" after every other model tried. It was just superior in almost every aspect, including having considerably more features and loaded with extras, making it a shoe-in. The front seats are wonderful even w/o the power option, the interior is very roomy even in the rear (and very quiet), the upgraded sound system is concert-hall quality, the mileage hovers around 33 every day (35+ on Econ), the engine is zippy, the handling is excellent and the safety features are reassuring. If there was something to pick at, it would be the sun visors are too small, the "reading lights" are way too bright, the instrument lights need to be at 40% at night to eliminate the overall dashboard-to-windshield glare and the exterior paint chips very easily. Overall, this car is hard to beat. I'll buy another Honda for sure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected from Honda

by Scoots from on Tue Dec 27 2016

This is my 3rd and last Honda Civic. This model year reminds me of the junk Detroit put out in the late 70's - Overpriced, inferior and unreliable. The 1st thing to fail was the traction control unit at 500 miles, then the A/C went out at 1,500 mile. Next, the emission system died. The interior is so fragile that a passenger of mine got in and struck the side console panel with their foot - cracking the panel in half. The stereo is absolutely horrible. I've listened to clock-radios that sounded better. The seats are uncomfortable and road noise is almost unbearable. The only thing going for this car is the gas mileage. I average 35 MPG on the highway.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Honda Civic

Sport-compact enthusiasts, I have some bad news: Make a sign, bang some drums, occupy the local auto mall.

The 2012 Honda Civic Si has gone soft.

The Honda Civic's performance version has been around since 1985, and the nameplate's ninth-generation redesign gets the largest Civic engine ever. While it scoots with newfound power and gets better gas mileage, the high-rev pizzazz and handling poise that gave the Si such unique appeal — even as its competitors got faster — are gone. The ninth-generation Honda Civic chose comfort over dynamics, and too much of that rubbed off on the Si.

This review details the Civic Si, which comes as a coupe or sedan with a six-speed... Read More