2012 Civic

Consumer Reviews

2012 Honda Civic

$6,207 - $14,515  MSRP Range
2012 Honda Civic

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

268 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Honda Civic?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 268 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Gets you A to B I guess

by Eemda from Gaithersburg, MD on Tue Apr 18 2017

If you just need to get from one place to another and that is your only concern, then this car is great. If you are looking to get more out of driving such as comfort, pleasure, style, or entertainment, look elsewhere immediately. The car has a severe disconnect from the driver. There is zero feel for the car and the handling is atrocious. You might as well be driving the car with an arcade steering wheel as there is no feedback. The car is an absolute drag to drive and is severely underpowered even for a civic. It takes a noticeable amount of time to react to the gas pedal and the automatic transmission is just a little slower than that. Lots of body roll even on regular corners. Other than that the car has many quirks that irk me. The digital speedometer location is exactly in the wrong position for one handed driving. The steering wheel doesn't have enough adjustment. Windshield wipers will squeak and streak regardless of brand. After using wiper nozzles, a line of fluid goes straight down the middle of the windshield. Once you set the cruise control, be prepared to have a 5-7 MPH variation especially on hills. Overall, I hate this car. It's cheap and poorly designed. The engine and drivetrain is lackluster and underpowered. The handling is a joke.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rock Solid Car

by Justin from Pittsburg, PA on Fri Jun 12 2015

I've had this car for almost 2 years now. I drive 53 miles one way to work every day, mostly highway. Driving at 70 mph, I average 44 mpg with an automatic, which is just awesome. I bought the EX-L which comes with leather seats. The seats show very little wear. No repairs to anything yet with just over 51k miles. Original tires only lasted 30k miles, which is poor for gentle highway driving. Brakes are still about 75%. Ride quality is decent for a compact car. Can be a bit bumpy on rough roads, but handles great. I love the dash layout and steering wheel controls. They are very user friendly and look very cool. The radio sounds great! I really only have one complaint and it's a minor one. The dash and door plastic seems kinda cheap and hard along with the carpet and floor mats. They aren't terrible, but feel a little cheap. Guess Honda has to save a few pennies here and there. Overall, it's holding up great and looks and drives like the day I bought it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Honda Civic HF

by greybird from Kissimmee, FL on Fri Aug 10 2012

The Honda Civic HF is about high fuel efficiency (thus the 'HF' for high fuel efficiency!) and was an unexpected pleasure to drve and after nearly 3 months, continues to provide great economy and comfort. I have never owned what is now called a 'compact sedan' and had doubts about the Civic. But a record of reliability and value as well as economy and Honda's reputation made me look. I went past what I thought and read was a boring and routine ride and handling, and found thus car was sporty and firm, and lacked few things I wanted. The big thing was I wanted 4-wheel discs brakes, but the weight and balance of these cars seems to offset this, and the additional cost of the EX package just wasn't justifiable. All in all, look past the Consumer Research or Reports statements of a lack of handling and ride comfort and bland interior. Look at the VW Jetta and see if that excites you! I believe reliability and economy outweigh what some call mundane, and frankly, I have not seen this car as bland or boring. A little stark, but I do not regret the decision to buy and if it makes you feel good and confident and the record Honda has (which many car companies are very envious of) is a factor for safety and reliability, buy it. Drive it and then see for yourself. Never let some writer who makes general statements make your buying decisions! Think and decide for yourself! As a GM advocate most of my life, the change to Honda is both refreshing and comes, regretfully, rather late in my life! But I will never go back to GM!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Honda Driver from GA on Tue Feb 02 2016

As far as Honda's go it's the best car next to an Accord. The power with an Accord is better but it will cost you more in gas. With the Civic most times it only takes $15 to fill up. Curry Honda is pretty good as far as having great well kept cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The way car driving should be.

by kkal from Boston, MA on Thu Feb 04 2016

You will read many reviews on how the 2012 lacks when compared to the 2013 and newer models. For instance, Bluetooth is not standard on the LX model, and the back-up camera became standard on all 2013 and newer models. With that being said, I was able to use this information to my advantage and bought the 2012 LX model at a very nice discount! I spent $50 and bought a good quality Bluetooth headset, thus saving quite a bit from having to either get an EX or higher model or buying a 2013 and newer model. Regarding a back-up camera, there are kits available that will actually connect with the I-MED screen on the Civic and the cost is fairly inexpensive. Basically, you can purchase a 2012 model using these key points at a huge discount and just pay a little bit more out of pocket to incorporate Bluetooth and a back-up camera! What I love about this Civic is how simple, yet refined it really is. I feel like cars nowadays are driven more by computers than the actual driver! I really like how I feel so much more in control of driving, yet at the same time, I have those basic electronic features that keep me safe (ABS, Traction Control, Many Airbags, etc.). The Civic is also surprisingly very smooth even at high speeds. The stock tires are great for gas mileage, but only so-so with wet/winter roads, so definitely look into some better quality tires (make sure they are low-rolling resistance to maintain high MPG!). The backseats surprisingly have a decent amount of legroom, though it would have been nice if the Civic had cup holders integrated in the side door pockets like other vehicles (however, you can fit small plastic bottles on the side). The trunk size is decent for a compact car and I have been able to fit 3 medium-large sized suitcases for the airport just fine. After driving this car for 6 months/10,000 miles, I would give this car a 4.5/5, showing that although there are a few minor imperfections, remember, this is a Civic, and this car will get you from any Point A to Point B! Simplicity, with a few nice toys, at its finest!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very very good on gas

by easy user from Modesto Ca on Wed Dec 13 2017

This is a great car for a commuter it usually get over 40 mpg on the . Air works very fast and the car seat 4 with a lot of comfort.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car@

by Handsome Harold from Hopewell, VA on Mon Nov 21 2011

My wife just bought a 2012 civic 4 door. we took it to Maryland for a trip and it averaged 41 mpg! Its got good power and its comfy. all we buy is Hondas and never had issues with any of them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car, great ride!

by Cowgirl from Woolwich, Maine on Wed Nov 09 2011

We just purchased this car last month, but it has already proven how much we will save on gas, mpg is really, really wonderful and that has been mainly on secondary roads. Can't wait to see how great it does hwy mpg! Very comfortable car, love the i-MID and all the controls are easy to reach and read. We tried out quite a few cars before choosing the 2012 Civic EX sedan, and we are secure in our decision. It took awhile to obtain a 2012 in the color blue we wanted, but when it arrived...WOW, what a beautiful blue color. Lots of compliments, too. The car is roomy and very quiet. Also, it handles our back roads in Maine very nicely and so smoothly. Glides around the corners. Interior has lots of room and is very attractive and comfortable for folks in the front and rear. Our pets are thrilled also :o)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable & fun small car I've ever owned

by Go Lo Go from Pittsburgh, Pa on Wed Sep 10 2014

I love the over-all handling of the 2012 Honda Civic! Very responsive & stable handling! Very safe car with all-around air bags to protect you in any situation! After leasing my Honda, I bought it! I just couldn't give it up!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

too much road noise, cheap interior.

by Michael from Phoenix, Arizona on Tue Dec 19 2017

Purchased this car for commuting and its good for that purpose. The interior is mostly hard molded plastic, previous Honda Civics owned were 2000 LX and 2004 Civic EX and seemed to have better interior quality and a little less road noise. AT 70 miles per hour you can`t even hear the radio.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Honda Civic

Sport-compact enthusiasts, I have some bad news: Make a sign, bang some drums, occupy the local auto mall.

The 2012 Honda Civic Si has gone soft.

The Honda Civic's performance version has been around since 1985, and the nameplate's ninth-generation redesign gets the largest Civic engine ever. While it scoots with newfound power and gets better gas mileage, the high-rev pizzazz and handling poise that gave the Si such unique appeal — even as its competitors got faster — are gone. The ninth-generation Honda Civic chose comfort over dynamics, and too much of that rubbed off on the Si.

This review details the Civic Si, which comes as a coupe or sedan with a six-speed... Read More