2013 Civic Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2013 Honda Civic Hybrid

$4,938 - $22,102  MSRP Range
2013 Honda Civic Hybrid

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

14 Reviews
79% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Honda Civic Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love the 2013 Honda Civic Hybrid!

by coppercuckoo from Philadephia, PA on Sun Mar 10 2013

This is my second Honda Civic Hybrid, so I knew pretty much what to expect. It seems like the car I had before was nice, but this one is classy! I have only driven this one for 9 days so far, and have put a little over 200 miles on it. I got the pretty much loaded version, considered the EX/L trim. The seats are comfortable, the cockpit dash is interesting, and the pep is even better than my 2005 was. I like the large numbers for the speed at which I am traveling. There is no question about the speed or about the temperature of the cabin. I have actually been warm at 70 degrees! Bear in mind that driving in the Winter, the Hybrid will get less mpg than in the summer. This weekend, for example, I got 38 mpg. I do have the Econ button on all of the time. This is the best mpg I have ever gotten in the Winter, and I had the 2005 HCH for almost 8 years. I also bought the new one for all of the safety features and that it had passed the 5 mph crash test. There are many more diagnostic items for me to follow in this car than I had in the 2005. For example, they have a tire pressure monitor. This is a very nice feature, since Steel Belted Radials tend to leak.. I like that they put black floor mats in the car. That will hide some of the dirt. Someone said that the windshield is at a "rakish angle". Yes, it does slant more, but it was not at all difficult to see out of. I like the large outside mirrors. I thought it would take some getting used to about the smaller windows, but that is fine, too. It is a nice looking car. I was a little surprised that the colors of the exterior change so much. It is the metallic paint that makes the colors change. My Green Opal car ranges from a light blue, blue. green, to medium/ almost sea foam kind of green, depending on the lighting. No matter what color it looks like, it is a sharp looking car. Since this is my second HCH, I am never going back to conventional engine cars.. It is also my 5th car, all of which have been Honda Civics. I care about the environment and like getting good gas mileage, but that extra pep from the electric hybrid battery is absolutely wonderful! It is nice to pass people in traffic, but watch your speed. For a small car, this car can sure move.. The Econ button will help you drive more efficiently and get the better gas mileage. The car includes an anti theft system , consisting of an immobilizer. If someone tries breaking into your car to steal it, it will cut off the fuel supply. The screen in the cockpit area gives you a lot of information about the car, including how energy efficient your driving is. Today, i found out that the virtual clock is automatically changing to DST. I like that very much. I have not done that much with the Navi yet. That should be interesting. This is definitely a fun car to drive, and i would highly recommend it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2013 Honda Civic Hybrid

by DavidM from Sun City west, AZ on Wed Jan 06 2016

I've had my Civic since April 2013 and have over 60,000 miles on it. I've traveled from Niagara Falls, NY to Phoenix, AZ and back once; then back to Sun City West, AZ (A total distance of approx. 7,000miles). I've had no problems with this car and like getting 41 - 44 mpg. I also like the fact it uses the electric battery, instead of gas, when I come to a stoplight or during stop and go traffic. The only thing I'm concerned about is; how much value I'll get for it, when I'm ready to trade it in, or sell it. Hopefully, I won't have to worry about for some time; since I plan on keeping it for another 2 - 3 years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a great car!

by Carrsax from California on Mon Apr 01 2013

Rides like a luxury car, averaging 45 mpg. Good performance, great looking upgrades from regular Civic (turn lights, brakelights etc.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 months with 13 HCH

by chaincent from philadelphia, pa on Sun Jun 30 2013

The car is still running smoothly and I can't believe I am sometimes getting more than the rated mpg. I guess the secret is to keep the Econ button on, like i was told by the salesman back in early March, The car has gone 3850 miles and still says it has 50% oil life. I think I don't want to wait that long for my first oil & lube. I want to do what I did with my last HCH, keep it running smoothly by doing every repair they recommend doing. I am very happy with this car.! The car still looks sharp and I am enjoying passing the slow drivers without much effort. I am very comfortable taking this car for either City or highway driving. After 4 months, I am still smiling about the car. The Navi could use a little better sense of direction, but it has helped me out in some tough spots. When I get lost, i am so thankful I have the Navi. Besides, that looks better on the dash than an ugly button! I have had plenty of client calls, thanks to the pairing of the Smartphone with the Navi. I like being able to take client calls hands-free in the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honda civic hybrid 2013

by love my Honda from Rhinelander Honda from AURORA, WI on Sat Jan 25 2014

We had been dealing with Rhinelander Honda with our 2009 hybrid. always got A++ customer Service. then we thought it was time to look for a new hybrid. and of course we went to Rhinelander Honda and got our new hybrid. and again got A++ customer service. WE LOVE OUR HONDA CIVIC HYBRID LEATHER HEATED SEATS THIS WINTER A MAJOR PLUS..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Civic Hybrid saves gas

by Love my Civic from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Aug 20 2013

Not the best performance, but definitely a cost saver. Fewer trips to the pump and on regular unleaded!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not suitable for stop-and-go traffic

by Disappointment so far from Boston, MA on Thu Jun 27 2013

I have owned this car for 6 months now and bought it primarily for the promised 44mpg city rating, as I use it for a 15 mile daily commute in stop-and-go traffic. I thought I would even get better than 44mpg, as I hit heavy traffic and many stop-lights. I'm averaging 32-34mpg with mine. Warm vs cold weather makes only a difference of 1-2mpg. The gas engine is always running, even at very low speeds, the only time is turned off is when the car comes to a complete stop, while the foot is on the brake. As soon as the foot is of the brake pedal, the gas engine comes back on. I believe that makes the stop-and-go part of the city traffic be very strenuous on the gas engine, which I assume causes the 32mpg instead of the promised 44mpg. Dealer inspected the hybrid system recently, and said everything is working at nominal parameters. They explained to me how the EPA tests for city MPG rating. Not helpful... Other than that, so far the car behaves as advertised. On longer highway trips, I do get 44mpg and even better. Other issues: bluetooth sometimes stops working, have to re-pair the phone. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this car for city driving. The same brand non-hybrid version is considerably cheaper and probably gets a city mpg at least in the higher 20s, if not similar to this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Regretting purchase

by Trixie from Oklahoma City, OK on Thu Aug 28 2014

I had a little Pruis that I loved until someone hit me and wrecked it. The new ones were too expensive, so I went to Honda and bought a Civic Hybrid. The first thing I noticed after I bought the car, is there are no cup holders in the back seat. A week after I bought it, it didn't start and I had to call a tow truck to get it started. I took it to the dealer and they found nothing wrong with it. I never get 44 mpg. I know that is an estimate, but I get 41. I think I could have bought a non-hybrid and still had that mpg and saved a few bucks. Everyone complains about the road noise when I am on the phone. There is no carpeting in this car, just a felt like material that looks like it should go under the carpet. It lost connection with my phone and I didn't have blue tooth for a couple of days until I could figure out how to reset it. The back end tends to break loose when cornering at high speeds. It won't allow any features to be adjusted while the car is in motion. I asked my son to reset the clock while I was driving and he couldn't do it, nor use anything else. On the good side, I like the styling inside and out. I like the good mpg and reliability. I would not buy another one. It's no Prius.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

this high tech car I own

by TRAN from SAN JOSE CALI on Sat Nov 08 2014

I feel Ok everything but I don't like head-rest not comfortable, bad design head-rest From 46 to 50 miles/gas depend the road up hill down hill or even

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

head rest

by minh from ca on Sun Mar 19 2017

Head rest bent so much, touch my head, I can't not straight my head. If I run short distance ( about 4 miles ) every day, my car is 25 miles/gallon Nice car, look good, attractive car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2