Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 CR-Z

Consumer Reviews

2011 Honda CR-Z

$3,990 - $11,666  MSRP Range
2011 Honda CR-Z

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

71 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Honda CR-Z?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 71 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun, economical and sporty

by rwjrn from Brentwood, CA on Wed Sep 08 2010

Although it doesn't get the same mileage as a Prius it's a heck of lot better looking and much more fun to drive. It has 3 driving modes. Normal, Eco and Sport. It handles like a dream in the corners and still gets very good mileage. I'm averaging about 36 mpg with the automatic with the majority of that being highway miles. It is ridiculous that you buy the top of the line model with navigation and that doesn't come with an arm rest, auto dimming mirror, home link or an option for a back up camera which is desperately needed with the poor rear visibility in this car. I guess the next thing is the dealers will charge astronomical fees for cup holders. The fee for for the cheap plastic arm rest is ludicrous. There's plenty of cargo room in the back as well as storage bins that can be covered. If it weren't for the outrageously overpriced accessories and the poor visibility out the back this car would be perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The future in sport cars

by Urban DC commuter from Washington DC on Tue Sep 14 2010

Not a true road runner or get extreme mileage like a Tesla but in the right direction. However, for an affordable two seat roadster hybrid with unique retro good looks, I love it. Hopefully they will make an all electric sport car affordable for my next car. Until then, I am going to enjoy driving my Honda sports hybrid cr z.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Popular Guy on the Road

by YoungAgainAt50 from Ithaca, NY on Wed Sep 22 2010

We are a Honda and Acura family, so it came as no surprise that we decided to purchase another great automobile when we opted for this snazzy economic sports coupe. The new 2011 CR-Z exceeded all of our expectations and continues to impress. It is very roomy, handles beautifully, rides like a dream, is mighty zippy, gets stellar gas mileage (low 50s) and looks like nothing else on the road in the best possible way. The bright silver paint with gray luxury-sports cloth seating makes for a rich combination that turns heads. Many ask how we like our new Honda. We are pleased we payed just a tad more for the nicely equipped "EX" edition with navigation and get a thrill out of the countless waves and "thumbs-up" we get from admirers. Every switch works with precision, rivaling vehicles costing far more. The plethora of safety features and top rated brakes were major selling points, as was the room for 6 footers-plus. We opted for the comfortable armrest option. It is worth the small increase and is large enough for both driver and front passenger to use jointly. I do miss having a sunroof, but the air conditioning is strong and most effective without any noticeable loss of power or lower gas mileage. The interior materials are first rate and the exterior quality is paramount. Kudos, Honda for another well-rounded, inexpensive car with superior road manners and gusto. It should be noted that the CR-Z is extremely reliable and Honda's high resale value contributed to this purchase, as with our dozens of current and past Honda and Acura coupes, sedans, rag tops, SUV's and crossovers, including a new '10 AWD Accord Crosstour EX with Navi. Two wise decisions in one year with great deals and unbelievable resale of our Honda Civic EX and Acura TL AWD traded for both new cars. It was hard parting with these two proven family sedans/winners, but it was time for a hybrid and wagon-like Crosstour after putting over 150,000 miles on each vehicle traded and wanting something unique in each new motorcar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

S2000 Vs. CR-Z and CR-V

by S2000 from on Sun Sep 12 2010

EX is better than Base, Manual is better than CVT. CR-Z is only 97 inches, which is shorter than S2000.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Some nicpicks--pluses

by JuliusH from Atlanta, ga. on Sat Mar 05 2011

Awful rear vision Harsh ride Much road noise Mediocre milage 34-35 Peppy in sport mode Turns heads everywhere You can pump the driver's seat height up or down Great handling Chicks love it............

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive & a tiny carbon footprint

by CRV85032 from Phoenix on Tue May 17 2011

This car gets allot of MPG for how fun it is to drive. It has saved me so much money at the gas pumps. Its quiet, sporty and the seats fit a full size man. I would buy another one if needed. The cars tiny carbon footprint makes me feel like im doing my part for the kids future too. This is a real feel good car if I ever owned one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for this economy

by Dzungsi2002 from San Jose CA on Sun May 01 2011

I am in love the style and its gas mileage with this car when it first came out and keep dreaming for it for 3 months after reading a lot of review. I then arranged with a saleman to get the model and option I like. Took on ly 2 hrs for em to dirve test and drive home my dream car. Now with 220 miles on it the the gas tank level show 1/2 tank full. Then tank is 10.5 GAL capacity. Now can I leave my other utility home and only use it when driving family on a long trip or hauling big stuffs for home or garden. I am in love with my CR-Z for good!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Sports Car

by Honda Lover from Atlanta, GA on Sun Oct 10 2010

I've owned a lot of Hondas (Accord, CRV, Odyssey and Civic) and this one is my favorite! Drives like a dream and has good pickup even in ECON mode (it's a Hybrid that you can also drive in REG and SPORT mode)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fewer Gas pumps visited

by Harvesto from Malaga, Washington on Tue Mar 13 2012

Good car. Got all the bells and whistles. Had to buy a center armrest. Not from Honda. Honda wanted almost 4 hundred, for after market, paid less than 100 from another. Like the around town gas mileage 38 plus. Drive over 70 and mileage drops to about 28. Car ride is loud. Looking into different tires for quieter ride. GPS is poor. DVD driven. Many rural areas not "verified". Won't give directions. My portable that I paid less than $100 is better.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

CR-Z Turbo! PLEASE

by mwp from Chesapeake, Va. on Wed Mar 09 2011

I bought the 6 speed EX-w/ navi. Fun to drive. Gets great comments and loads of looks. I already know if the newer version is a non-Hybrid my wife will be driving this one and yours truely will be getting a new car. I had several of the CRX Si models in the 90's and hoped this would be the same. It's close, but not the same. Love the exterior and most of the interior. It still a blast to drive but Honda, please offer a non Hybrid model. Thanks for making driving fun again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2011 Honda CR-Z


The theory of "temperate pragmatism," in vogue with some futurists, says we will no longer pursue luxury without portfolio. Hard times have chastened us, including those with money, or those left with less of it after Wall Street scams and bank failures, the theory says.

As a result, according to that thinking, luxury now requires redemptive virtue. It must offer something other than exclusivity and pizazz. The new luxury must have meaning, function.

It's a theory that may fade away with the current, slowly fading recession. But it has already brought forth automotive products for the have-your-cake-and-eat-it-too crowd.

The trend is particularly noticeable in the arena of gas-electric hybrid cars... Read More