Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 Fit

Consumer Reviews

2009 Honda Fit

$3,372 - $10,796  MSRP Range
2009 Honda Fit

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

81 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Honda Fit?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 81 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

big disappointment!!!!

by andrew from wisconsin on Sun Mar 13 2011

I've had a 3 hondas before and I have big respect for that company,up antill I've bought Fit.Gas milege is around 30 avarege,exterior not bad,now the things I didn't like:interior is cheap worse then KIA,it is the most uncomfortable car I ever had,don't even think take it on a higway whent speed limit 75 especially in a winter time,handelling is werryy poor.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE my Fit

by Petunia from St Louis on Fri Apr 15 2011

I love my Fit's reliability, its nearly 40 mpg, it ultra-low emissions, and its adaptable interior. I have carried boxes, luggage, furniture, even two fruit trees from the home improvement superstore to plant in my yard. It can carry 8 bags of mulch easily. It looks pretty cool, too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a solid car

by dave from on Thu Nov 19 2009

everything is great but it lacks horsepower i like it is also good on gas i get alittle under 300miles between fill ups and alittle under $30.00 per tank. if i had a better job and more money my dream car would be the 2010 camaro ss .315 horsepower v8 and looks to kill

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Replacing a Civic with a Fit

by Farmerandre from Florissant,MO on Thu Jun 15 2017

Love the spunk of that 1.5 motor and low 40's mpg! I looked at buying an 07 Fit new but could never get my hands on a stick model 10 years ago and I hated that dreadful 5 speed automatic! I test drove a new Fit 2 years ago but instead, I fell in love with a 2016 HR-V EX with the 6 speed manual! After I wrecked our backup vehicle, a 2003 Civic with 189,000 miles, I found this 09 Fit with 110,000 on it with a 5 speed manual! Oil changes are easy, and its' turning radius is tight. I hope to keep this car for a long time and this car will accomplish that.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute car, great mileage, and it really scoots!

by Farmerandre from Florissant,MO on Mon Sep 18 2017

The 09 Honda Fit with 5 speed manual is very nice, way better than the 5 speed constant shift automatic! It has very nice power and really scoots along while delivering 42-43 mpg!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite small car of all time

by ShongalooKen from Louisiana on Tue Feb 06 2018

I used to own a 2009 Honda Fit until I passed it on to my son. It was hard to part with it. I got great mileage, had a super roomy and comfortable interior, and 10 cup holders. When the seats were let down I could haul many things that have no business being put it a tiny car instead of a truck. I hauled lumber and plumbing supplies and on a few occasions during Football game trips to New Orleans I would sleep in it without any trouble. I always was very comfortable in regards to its reliability and never hesitated to strike out on long trips without hesitation. Other that a battery change I never has any issues or repairs. I miss that car. It was fun while I had her.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive.

by Graf from Philadelphia , PA on Sun Apr 22 2018

Good acceleration, quiet inside while driving, deceptively room interior and excellent handling even driving in the rain. The car doesn’t drive or ride like a small car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great interior space for big people

by CJ from Burnsville, MN on Fri Jun 16 2017

I am 6'2'' and my dad is 6'4'' and the Fit has plenty of space in all 5 seating positions. The magic seats are great, can Fit (haha) anything in there big or small. the fit is a great fit for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Relaible and you can't beat the mileage!

by NurseLinny from Rochester,NY on Sat Nov 11 2017

Love it! Amazing MPG, never gotten stuck in the snow! I'm passing it on to my daughter and just bought another one! Love these cars!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever!

by Rose from Saint George,ut on Mon Oct 09 2017

This car is an excellent car that has great gas mileage and did everything i needed. It has a lot of room in the back. It was the best car for 2009. The honda fit is very safe car and an excellent choice for anyone. I would recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2009 Honda Fit

The Honda Fit subcompact hit the U.S. market in 2007, but it's been sold in numerous countries since 2001, so a redesign is already coming in September for the 2009 model year. The first generation was no slouch; it joined a subcompact class that was already growing, with the Chevrolet Aveo and Scion xB and xA joining the likes of the Hyundai Accent and Suzuki Esteem (the latter since discontinued). Though the Fit's 2007 launch coincided with those of the Nissan Versa and Toyota Yaris, the Fit snatched the top spot, in our opinion, thanks to its overall quality, despite strong competition from the larger, more affordable Versa.

I spent a few hours with the 2009 Fit and Fit Sport in both manual and... Read More