2006 Insight

Consumer Reviews
2006 Honda Insight

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

8 Reviews
2006 Honda Insight
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

love my toy

by matchbox from Rockville Centre,NY on January 27, 2007

love the look,fun to drive ,park,and can stop on a dime .parkway entrances canbe hard once you get the hang of it but the power is there.I always get 50 mpg and only drive highway at fast speeds

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You can afford to have a 2 seater with this milage

by Jzafar from Edmond, OK on September 13, 2006

I bought a 04 Honda insight with 70k miles and i love it. I drive this car every where and it is very reliable, what else would you expect from a honda. This car is a automatic but they are avaliable in manual transmition. The idle stop feature itself can be turned on or off on the automatic but i have read that on the manual models this stays on all the time. Which basically means that every single time you make a full stop the car shuts completely off except for A/C, radio, and lights. Having an automatic i am able to turn this idle stop feature off and when i need to conserve alot i just turn it on. Over all i LOVE this car b/c i can put 5 dollars in it and it lasts me about a week and a half. You cannot get this from other vehicles even other hybrid vehicles dont offer as much fuel economy. I often see the Toyota Prius and sure it would be very nice to have a 5 passanger car but having this 2 seater is definately worth it. If you are in the market for a hybrid and can get away with owning a 2 seater i definately recomend this to you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible fuel economy

by Two who love to travel from Blythe, CA on December 15, 2006

Indianapolis to Blyhe, CA averaged 78 MPG at 60 MPH! Presently have 55,000 on odometer. Check engine light came on when traveling through Colorado Springs this summer. Stopped at a Honda dealer for check and they determined that the vehicle needed new parts in the converter. The repair was made without cost to us as it was still under warrenty. This is a 2001 car and this occured in the summer of 2006! Imagine! At 82 MPH the engine is only turning 2900 RPM. Average MPG over the 55,000 + miles is 55.2.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by 66 mpg from Springfield, Oregon on July 5, 2012

Bought a 2006 slightly used as they had stopped making them. I think someone must have bought it to get the tax credit. Right now, at 114,000 miles, it has averaged 66 mpg over the life of the car. It has a manual transmission and the engine stops when you stop in the economy mode if outside temp is above 41 F. I have snow tires but only get about 50 mpg with them. It handles great in the snow. I got 800 miles recently on a tank of gas, a little over 10 gal. I pretty much use it only for long trips, 20 miles or more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Low lifetime mpg?s; unknown problem!

by Imamatthews from MAINE on July 21, 2018

This car was someone else?s headache. After several visits to the Honda dealer, the cause of the low MPGs could not be found by the previous owner. It only has 84K miles. Regrettably at this time, it is a ?clusterf__k?! Paint is scratched excessively. Paid $6700+, too much. I have $8000 into this vehicle and still searching for the problem(s)!! Not very impressed so far. This vehicle ? is the best path to getting radically upside-down. So sad ?!! It has potential, but right now it is a nightmare.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most energy efficient economy choice, BY FAR

by ArmelMartin from Minneapolis, Minnesota on April 30, 2017

Really fun to ride. Simple, no bells and whistles. Im over 270 miles and the 10.6 gallon tank is still over half full. THE most economical energy efficient hybrid on the market today more than a decade later. Looking to baby this vehicle until I can't drive it anymore.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great value car if you want your money back you

by Kevinfl from Fort Myers, Fl on July 21, 2018

I have owned my car since it had 11,000 miles and i think its one of the best cars for the money.You will have a hard time finding a better car for 3,000 dollars.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing value

by Carguy1234 from Nevada on March 20, 2018

This car is awesome. Excellent for saving money and super cool! It’s very unique. The first generation insight is very fun to drive. The only down side is it’s not a great family car. Car seat doesn’t work in the passenger seat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1