2009 Odyssey

Consumer Reviews

2009 Honda Odyssey

$3,898 - $14,754  MSRP Range
2009 Honda Odyssey

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

49 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Honda Odyssey?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort and Reliability

by DangHolt from Mid Missouri on Tue Jun 26 2012

Having owned 3 minivans from other makers I have a pretty good handle on features and what being a minivan is all about. Convenience items are fine as long as there is build quality backing it and Honda excels in this. The seats are very comfortable, the cabin is well insulated and quiet. The seating position and ergonomics are well thought out and deliver the touch and feel of a well built design. By far and away the best minivan I've owned. However there are some features that are missing that I've become used to. No auto on/off headlamps. No multi-readout displays for ambient temp, avg. mpg or distance to empty on the fuel tank. The fuel mileage is a disappointment as it is a stretch to get 21 on the highway. No hands free bluetooth for the phone (an option with Nav system only) and not enough aux ports to plug in cell phone chargers and such that seem to travel with families these days. All of that aside the Odyssey is a joy to drive and with confidence that it will perform without hesitation in all aspects. The A/C does a great job of cooling a large vehicle and the interior room easily accommodates a load of 6' adults with storage room to spare. It will be hard to consider any other van after having this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride!

by Dartan from Upstate, NY on Mon Jun 21 2010

First Honda I have owned. The steering is responsive for a minivan and the ride is very smooth. Very solid construction, nothing rattles. Plenty of leg room for both driver and passengers. This minivan is wider than others allowing elbow room for the passengers in the back rows. The only improvement I would recommend is to have auto-sensing headlights for all models as opposed to my version which is manual.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Way Better Than an SUV

by New Van Owner from Wisconsin on Sat Feb 26 2011

This is the first Minivan I've owned as we have 1year old twins to transport. I have had other hondas along with many jeep products in the past. The comfort and refinement is unsurpassed in Minivan segment and get better milage than expected. I will routinely get 25mpg in the highway and the DVD player is excellent. If you want a great van for the family, the Odyssey is the best way to go!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Van Wonderful Features, ROUGH RIDE, Tranny

by Sean S from New York, NY on Sun Sep 06 2015

From a features standpoint my EX-L with rear entertainment is a beautiful van second to none in terms of interior fit and finish and features. The engine is strong and the handling is great almost car-like. It's the little things that only an owner would notice that gets annoying. My friend's siena although not as nice would fit better because of some of these issues. This car is oversprung, you expect a van of this size and weight to float over potholes but you feel every last one more than in my sedan! It's horribly annoying especially since I am in pothole city and I can't stand the way this thing bangs around. The brakes are too small for a van of this weight, they warp easily and just don't do the job as well as the Toyota. Lastly, the tranny is questionable. 1st to 2nd is starting to show signs of issues at 75,000miles. It's nicer than the Toyota but at the end of the day I would have traded off for a better ride and reliability.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great van!

by ddPp from lansdale on Sat Aug 11 2012

Fun to ride. Feels like a car. Great mileage and comfort. Safe to haul kids. Easy to change seating options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, Reliable Ride.

by Driving into new horizons. from Geneva NY on Tue Jun 17 2014

We needed a car to meet my husbands recent health and physical limitations; the Honda Odyssey EX-L had what we needed. Our specific needs are reliability, smooth handling, sound integrity, comfortable seats, heated seats, power controlled driver and passenger seats. We found the Odyssey has so much more; fold into floor storage for third row seats, GPS, DVD, moon roof/ sunroof. Ultimately, we were so pleased with the vehicle we found and the price point, we bought it ! We are very pleased.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a great van!

by Always Honda from Boston area, Massachusetts on Thu May 08 2014

We've driven Honda's for years. The Odysses is roomy, comfortable, and stylish. We have travelled with a family of five across the country, as well as lots of local driving. Fits 3 moms and 5 girls scouts AND all their belongs for a weekend away.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Needed room for a third carseat

by Mommyof2boys from Orange county, ca on Mon Jun 18 2012

So far I love it! Very mommy friendly. Biggest complaint is no auto headlights and dvd/radio complicated to use. Gas milage not great, but okay.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOOD VAN

by jester from Phoenix on Tue May 26 2009

Overall a good van, don't like the tilt wheel design and has some wind noise also seats could be better

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing!

by car man from sammammish,WA on Sun Aug 09 2009

this car was a rental i got in california and it gets 22 mpg has comfartble seats and is really worth the money it takes 17 gallons so its about 50 dollars a fill up but who should complain? i learned how to fill up the car and its very fun.it also has good handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2009 Honda Odyssey

The Honda Odyssey, one of America's best-selling minivans, has all the patent strengths a kid-hauler should have: roominess, safety, reliability and decent fuel efficiency. It's even a bit of fun to drive, though at some point either you or your spouse will likely complain about its firm ride. I also wish Honda would learn a thing or two from Chrysler and make its features more user-friendly.

The current generation has been around since the 2005 model year, and it got a modest freshening for 2008. There are minimal changes for the 2009 version, which you can compare with the '08 here. In ascending order, trim levels include the LX, EX, EX-L and Touring. I drove an Honda Odyssey EX-L.

 

The Inside
Minivan... Read More