Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

1999 Hyundai Elantra

$275 - $5,815  MSRP Range
1999 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

8 Reviews
63% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by mj from Lillian, AL on Thu Mar 26 2009

I bought this car new, it will be 10 years old April. It has 201,000 miles. I have changed the transmission at 125,ooo miles. Timing belt 3 times waterpump twice I have done everything by the book maintainence wise. The interior is still in great shape Would buy another Hyundai.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent Car

by chillywilly from Maine/Arizona on Sat Aug 01 2009

Great warranty, with the right dealer. It had a very slow coolant leak when new that the original dealer couldn't/wouldn't find That caused major trouble later. And the headlights were aimed at the ground. After that it was near flawless until about 130K then the AC lost its charge, cooling fans quit, CV joints went, radio LCD screen went blank, idle solenoid died, struts needed replacing and many interior bits are breaking. However, she keeps on running! Great fuel mileage 27 city/30+ highway. VERY slow acceleration, but once up to speed she can cruise easily 75+. The auto transmission doesn't always shift smoothly and has always felt a little fragile but it has never given much trouble. Features are spartan, but what it does have is laid out and works well. It fits me but my 6'2" husband is cramped. The back seat has surprisingly adequate room. At 160+K miles we are looking for a replacement.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

IT'S A VERY GOOD CAR FOR THE PRICE

by lOREO from SAN DIEGO on Tue Feb 19 2008

I BOUGHT THIS CAR BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE MORE MONEY AND I REALLY LOVED IT, IT IS SMALL AND IT HAS A NICE SHAPE AND IT IS VERY GOOD EQUIPPED.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the money

by Get to Work Guy from Wyoming, MI on Sun Jul 15 2007

I bought the car Brand new. It now has about 105K miles on it. I have had very few problems with it. My clutch is just starting to wear out. I had to replace the fuel filter. That Caused me some problems trying to identify the problem. No big deal after it got fixed. One of my Balljoints was in bad shape about 80K miles. I replaced those and the car ran great. The MAF sensor died on me at about $50K, but that was still under warranty. It is now starting to rust a little on the bottom of the doors, but other than that, the car has been great. Most of my driving is in the city. I average about 22-24 MPG. With 140HP, this car has some power (compared to similar cars in this class). The handling is not the greatest on this car, but other than that I really cannot complain about this car. It has been a very reliable car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Bought it New

by Lili from Elgin, Illinois on Fri Aug 11 2006

The car was good until a year or two. Parts started to break little by little. The lights on the dashboard did not work; my axle broke a week after I went to get my winter tires (from a good company). When the air conditioner is on your car does not accelerate very much which is very dangerous, all your horsepower is gone. Seat belt lock, break, and my truck release broke and cost allots to replace. Good things. Good gas mileage and is good for anyone just starting to drive because is easier to park and fit in places. I guess you get for what you pay for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

blah

by Jwittdawg from on Sun Oct 10 2010

car sucks. i would never drive it again.. it handles terribly and i would never drive as a passenger in this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Piece of xxxx, but gets you from point a to point

by DavesGoneWild from Fresno, California on Thu Nov 15 2018

It's definitely a budget car! It works most of the time but definitely a xxxxty car! Great in town but scary on freeways. Very easy to park is it's best quality. Bottom line if you're not broke lol don't buy one!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

You get what you pay for.

by Trey from NY on Sun Sep 10 2017

This car met all of my needs, it needed a little more than i thought after a few weeks of being purchased but it definitely got the job done.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1999 Hyundai Elantra

A reader from Ithaca, N.Y., says she gets a kick out of reading our reviews of $90,000-plus dream rides like the BMW 750iL. But she also asks if we could critique more affordable vehicles.

We're happy to say we recently spent a couple of weeks in one of the best values in the small-car market - the 1999 Hyundai Elantra GLS. Even with options such as cruise control, a CD player and rear spoiler, the Korean-made compact only cost $14,744. That's several thousand less than a comparably equipped Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla.

In the past, we usually slammed Korean offerings with low one-star ratings. But we both agree, the Elantra is a solid, three-star offering that's vastly improved over its predecessors.

He:... Read More