Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2013 Elantra GT

Consumer Reviews

2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

$7,049 - $14,449  MSRP Range
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

80 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Hyundai Elantra GT?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 80 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Good car to get the job done. Not an ideal family

by n3vadan775 from Reno, NV on Fri Jul 13 2018

Not an ideal family car. Too small for a family, but it?s a gas saver which is a positive. Like the color and the speed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Look'in Value

by carbuff from Ohio on Tue Sep 25 2012

I took delivery 9/20 and love it so far. Great looks, great value. All the needed bells & whistles. They only make 1 model but 2 packages. I took neither. Style package for $2,750 gives you a rather useless long sunroof, 17" wheels, (I have 16"}, metal pedals (for kids) and leather (only option I wanted). I had leather custom installed for $1,400. Tech Package, $2.350, gives you navigation and other unnecessary options for practical car like GT. Can't get 2nd package without first. I paid total of $21,114 including leather but before state sales taxes, a great value in my view. White with tan leather is beautiful.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car with Minor Flaws

by Lefty from Meriden, CT on Tue Nov 13 2012

I've had my GT with style and tech package for about a month now. The exterior is amazing. It's sleek and very modern. The interior is great too. The leather seats are firm yet comfortable. The panoramic sun roof is amazing, and when it opens it's definitely a site to see. Heated seats are a plus. The high setting gets really hot and should only be used for a short amount of time. The backseat has tons of space and the cargo area is huge. Blind spots take some time to get use to, but seem to be easier as time passes. Performance is adequate. Getting on a highway requires some high revs but acceleration is very smooth. When going over rough pavement, the front suspension is great however the rear tends to bounce around. Handling is superb, cornering at high speeds is effortless and confident. I've been getting around 30 MPG and around 320 miles per tank. A little less than I'm use to but I'm sure it'll get better. My first month of owning this car has been shaky. I have had 4 problems in the first 4 days of ownership. This makes me question the reliability of the car. Hopefully I will have no more problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best option for the money!

by Nate from Atlanta, GA on Sat Oct 14 2017

I'm a 23 year old male with a decent job. I was looking for a car with some style, speed, comfort, reliability, great sound system, and bells and whistles. There are only 3 Hyundai Elentra GT 2013's ever made that are fully loaded, and i have one of them. I can't speak for the ones without all of the bells and whistles, but i love my car! Met all of my needs and wants and I never had an issue with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent hatchback, one major flaw

by Hatchback Enthusiast from Wisconsin on Thu Sep 06 2012

I test drove the 2013 Elantra GT with manual transmission and Style package this week and I am mostly impressed. The ride is better than expected given rear chassis compromises made when Hyundai brought the i30 to North America. While the rear-end comes slightly unglued on uneven surfaces, the suspension is acceptable on most U.S. roads. The rear chassis is not good at crossing speed bumps or driveway entrances on an angle moving faster than 5 MPH. Acceleration is not much worse than my 2000 Prizm Lsi (1.8L). Steering is greatly improved over 2012 Elantra sedan?s numb EPS. Hyundai?s 6-speed manual transmission is a delight! I did not experience any awkwardness between second and third gears that some professional reviews noted. A welcome improvement for 2013 is the stereo now supports my iPod Touch and iPod Video manual controls ? unlike 2012 Hyundais. My dealer could never get iPods to work well with 2012 Hyundais using their special cable. This is excellent progress. Hyundai?s factory stereo puts most econobox carmakers to shame! (Are you listening, Mazda, Ford, GM?) I still plan to replace the factory speakers with better equipment, but at least the head unit seems not too bad. Another great feature of Elantra GT over other 30+ MPG hatchbacks (Mazda 3, Ford Focus, Prius, Chevy Sonic) is the generous rear legroom. Front and rear seats are more comfortable than most cars in this segment. Seats tuck nicely to create the bed. Light duty towing appears to be possible despite limited HP. My major criticism is GT?s poor rear visibility compared to above-listed cars? though it?s certainly better than Hyundai Accent or Veloster?s horrendous rear visibility. The backup camera in the Tech Package solves this problem, but only for backing up ? not for driving. Backing the car into a parking slot and parallel parking was nerve-wracking. Rear awareness in/among merging highway traffic was unacceptable to my wife and myself. We will need to purchase an aftermarket camera system to address the GT?s poor on-the-road rear visibility. Overall, Elantra GT is a strong contender among class 3 econoboxes. I?m still planning to drive a Ford Focus ST before making a purchase, but the GT has much appeal ? notwithstanding its poor rear visibility.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's a very nice little car, but no 40MPG

by JoeLansing from Lansing, MI on Sat Sep 15 2012

I got this for my wife. It's very nice and has tons of features. To get 40MPG on the EPA test they geared it so high it's a gutless wonder. And it only gets really good gas mileage on perfectly flat roads. Even the smallest uphill and it's 25MPG. Look at the real owner's mpg logs on Fuelly. They have about a 27MPG average. My Toyota Corolla does better easily and it's rated 32-38.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love the HYUNDAI!!

by grandma from Fargo, ND on Fri Mar 29 2013

We bought a Sante Fe in 2002, and it was the best car that we have owned. That is why we didn't consider any other line. We wanted the gas mileage that the Elantra offers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

by Casey from Carroll,Ohio on Wed Apr 24 2013

Nice car. Well thought out. A little skeptical on the mileage claims,but I've only got about 1100 miles on the car. Wait & see if it improves.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable Vehicle I Have Owned

by Camper from Kankakee, IL on Sat Jun 08 2013

Negatives: Hatch does not have an automatic open. Gas door does not lock. Brakes are touchy. Positives: Very comfortable ride. Very good gas mileage. Back seats lie down easily enhancing cargo space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

by 2013 Elantra GT from Bridgewater, MA on Wed Jun 05 2013

This car gives you more for the money than any car I have ever owened. The safety features, creature comfort, convienience Items that are standard equipment on this car are way above and beyound any vehicle I have ever owend. These items and an above average treatment received at the dealership put Hyundai at the head of the other auto manufactures. If they are smart they will lookat your program and try to emulate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

Editor's note: Estimated mileage ratings have been lowered to reflect a November 2012 EPA audit of this car's stated mileage.

The 2013 Elantra GT hatchback is a new addition to Hyundai's growing arsenal of Elantra models, including an Elantra Coupe that's also new for 2013 and a hot-selling sedan that was redesigned for the 2011 model year. Compare Elantra body styles here. The GT is a stylish replacement for the Elantra Touring, which looked like a mutated wagon/hatchback version of the previous-generation Elantra sedan.

The 2013 Hyundai Elantra GT doesn't settle for being just a utilitarian hatchback version of the sedan; it's a more premium experience with a... Read More