2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a head turner! Love it inside & out!

by sonataluver2018 from Rigby, ID on Sat Nov 04 2017

We were looking for style, and economy, as well as the ability to pass other vehicles without wondering if we could! :-) This vehicle meets all of the 5 star ratings that it touts! We were impressed when insuring it to find it was cheaper to insure than the 2013 we traded in! 5 star in the crash rating tests too! We feel blessed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and stylish

by Sunnyside from Union,NJ on Thu May 17 2018

This car has a lot of room, stylish dashboard, nice interior. Music is off satisfactory quality. Includes Eco option. Overall a reliable and affordable car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sonatas are extremly reliable

by Jay Da 3rd from Chicago on Sun Dec 10 2017

I have been a fan of the Sonata family since 2011. This is my 4th Sonata. I upgrade to save money. Love the new body style and keyless entry

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

5th Hyundai and most reliable car ever!

by 5 time Hyundai owner 4th Sonata from Mount Vernon, IL on Sun Oct 29 2017

I love my new Sonata! Not a fan of the body style in the front but IM getting use to it. I had the 2014 before this and absolutely love that body style and will purchase a new Sonata in the future if this body style is brought back. Other than that IM in love and wouldn't have picked another make or model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

first sonata i leased this one i bought

by santanao1 from marlboro,nj on Thu Dec 14 2017

Best car on the road in it's class and for the price. It's comfortable, roomy and drives really well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Sunday! Woohoo!

by Matthew from Mechanicsburg, PA on Wed Sep 06 2017

This car meets all of my needs. Sleek, stylish, great MPGs! Overall great value. I couldn't pick a better car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

is the most reliable car we never own and is beaut

by mysonata from san antonio texas on Thu Aug 16 2018

i think is A beautiful car very very very spacious and off curse comfortable i really like the futures and how luxury it is but most import is that is very economic on gas

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It made a believer out of me

by Clay from Farmville on Sat Sep 09 2017

I was looking for a car with a lot of comfort. This definitely fills the bill and at a very reasonable price. I have owned Audi and Volvo but this the best appointed car I have ever bought. I was skeptical when I came in to drive this car but it made a believer out of me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly feature rich

by Duke from Sleepy Hollow, IL on Fri Mar 23 2018

I needed a new car for business, was looking for something that gets good mileage, dependable, comfortable and relatively inexpensive. The Sonata fit that, plus the added bonus of being very feature rich and luxurious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car

by Happy wife from Chattanooga, Tn on Wed Jan 24 2018

Very roomy. I've owned several different sedans and this car is up there in quality, room, and reliability. I've heard about the road noise well with my experience I've had Nissan maxima and they are all going to have some. But this one seems quiter. Loving my Sonota. I didn't think I would only own maximas for my car needs but this experience has changed my mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More