2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car...

by DonArt from Leesburg, FL on Mon Aug 20 2018

We have had a Hyundai Sonata for the past 8 years. We would never have another brand. It is reliable, beautiful, and easy to drive,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort, valued with lots of amenity

by Sonata 2.0T from Westminster, CA on Wed Dec 13 2017

2.0T Sonata has plenty of power, spacious rear leg room with spacious trunk for your cargo. Smooth engine and transmission with plenty power. Android auto and Apple Car Play that enable your smart phone to connect to vehicle display for all your favorite apps. Hyundai will give you 3 years of Blue Link and 3 months of XM radio for free along with their warranty. Love this car so far with no complaints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My new Sonata makes me smile!

by JCarz3 from Fairfield, Ohio on Fri Aug 24 2018

My new car fits all my needs, it has everything I could possibly imagine on it. It hugs the road and has a smooth rid

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Winnymac from Salem, Oregon on Mon Apr 02 2018

This car has all the bells and whistles, plus it is gorgeous. I did step up to make the 100,000/ 10 year warranty bumper to bumper. I have owned a 2000 Sonata too, and loved it also. For the price I could not find another car with all these features. So happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We love it!

by savannahdillen on Wed Nov 15 2017

We got the 2018 Hyundai Sonata SE! We absolutely love it. It’s very spacious car with a huge trunk and a lot of room all around! It’s drives very smooth and I love the different drive modes. It’s overall a great car and very reliable. I absolutely love it and wouldn’t trade it for anything. It’s the greatest looking models out there. The shape of the car is one of a kind for the sonata!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a head turner! Love it inside & out!

by sonataluver2018 from Rigby, ID on Sat Nov 04 2017

We were looking for style, and economy, as well as the ability to pass other vehicles without wondering if we could! :-) This vehicle meets all of the 5 star ratings that it touts! We were impressed when insuring it to find it was cheaper to insure than the 2013 we traded in! 5 star in the crash rating tests too! We feel blessed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

10 year /100,000-mile Warranty! You can’t go wrong

by OldDude from Slidell, LA on Tue Dec 19 2017

Looks nice, has lots of head and leg room. I was impressed with the 10 year /100,000-mile Warranty and the 5-star safety rating. I really like the ’Blind Spot Detection’. It makes it a lot easier when entering on the interstate highways. The price was right.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly feature rich

by Duke from Sleepy Hollow, IL on Fri Mar 23 2018

I needed a new car for business, was looking for something that gets good mileage, dependable, comfortable and relatively inexpensive. The Sonata fit that, plus the added bonus of being very feature rich and luxurious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car

by Happy wife from Chattanooga, Tn on Wed Jan 24 2018

Very roomy. I've owned several different sedans and this car is up there in quality, room, and reliability. I've heard about the road noise well with my experience I've had Nissan maxima and they are all going to have some. But this one seems quiter. Loving my Sonota. I didn't think I would only own maximas for my car needs but this experience has changed my mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Features for the price

by YankeeFanNC from Matthews, NC on Sat Dec 09 2017

Overall i like the vehicle. There is more wind noise when driving down the road that the 2015 sonata that i owned. The engine has an inherent tick when you start it up i listened to 4 different vehicles just like the one i purchased they had the same tick. Has a vibration and hesitation in the car when cruising at about 40 to 45 and at about 1300 to 1500 rpms it is a hollow vibration sound very noticeable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More