2012 Veloster

Consumer Reviews

2012 Hyundai Veloster

$5,895 - $12,515  MSRP Range
2012 Hyundai Veloster

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

71 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Hyundai Veloster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Fuel Efficient Car with Style and Features

by Arthur from Bay Area, CA on Sun Dec 25 2011

The Hyundai Veloster's look does not reflect on how the engine actually performs. That's not to say that the engine is terrible due to the high fuel efficiency. The Veloster is mainly intended for daily commute while saving gas and money without sacrificing the exterior styling. Unexpectedly, the interior quality also is on par with the exterior quality. The Veloster offers a long list of standard features including a touch screen which is normally not included with any car of this class. I am happy with the vehicle so far as it has performed well for gas saving. I chose the Veloster mainly due to the high fuel economy, exterior styling, interior quality, and the standard features. I will not recommend this vehicle for the car enthusiasts who crave for a power engine. If you are searching for a gas-saving car that looks good and offers good standard features and options, this is for you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

75 out of 75 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by MSH from Dallas, TX on Wed Nov 02 2011

If you are looking for speed and performance don't buy this car, wait for the turbo. If you want a car that is fun to drive, has tons of features and great gas mileage, buy this car. I have a 60-mile roundtrip commute to work and have been averaging 34 mpg in a mix of highway and rush hour traffic. Very pleased with the purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Veloster-It Glides

by Teqnopagan from New Castle, De on Tue Aug 28 2012

When finally released from the torment of stoplight to stoplight driving, my new 2012 Hyundai Veloster simply devours the road and looks good doing it. True to all the reports, it is slightly underpowered (but only slightly). It picks up nicely on surface roads, blends and merges with ongoing traffic smoothly and hits high marks for fuel efficiency. The engine responds crisply with the six speed manual transmission. Handling is agile with very little sway. It's not a sports car, and it doesn't pretend to be one. It's a solid driving vehicle that moves when you need it and cruises like a dream. From the interior perspective, all the controls feel right, everything from clutch to radio is exactly where they need to be. Controls are responsive. Instruments are easy to read. The audio system with bluetooth integration for your mobile device works flawlessly. As a package, the Veloster fits me, well. Anyone who wants a brisk and exhilarating driving experience should try this car. Driving to work used to be a chore, now i can't wait to get up and go. I find myself itching for the steering wheel on the train ride back to the parking lot. A solid car, user friendly and a joy to drive. Highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great mileage-good in snow- sprorty

by Just me from Brookfield , WI on Mon Mar 18 2013

Love this car. My son picked it for me since he gets it when I'm done. I commute 90 miles a day. It's great on gas. It handles very well in snow . It does ride low to the ground so it is a bit stiff in bad pavement . Overall though this is a great car most especially for the price

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect efficiency/sporty package

by Efficiency Monger from Indianapolis, IN on Mon Feb 27 2012

Why buy a Prius when you can give up a few miles a gallon and get the best bang for buck in the compact market? The Veloster is everything its marketed to be. It's a head-turner on the road, and it dominates in the efficiency game at 40 MPG. Of course, you've got to give up a bit of horsepower to get that mileage, but the Veloster has plenty of pep for the onramp and in traffic. In short, the Veloster is unique in the market with it's three full door design, dramatic shape, and incredible technology package, all for under $23,000 fully loaded.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love the gas milage

by love my car from on Tue Apr 10 2012

Enjoying my Veloster so far, its only been a couple of months. The handleing is amazing all though the jump off the start is not. The features on the car are great and I love the gas milage. I researched for months and this is the best car in its class( cost, specs, gas milage, features and looks).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sweet little ride.

by RinWY from Cheyenne,WY on Thu Nov 21 2013

Very sporty and gets a lot of looks. Fits my style perfectly. Not going to win any races with it but I'm too old for that anyway. Stable and fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Feature rich, great price, and smooth drive

by corydave from Rochester, NY on Thu Mar 29 2012

I was initially concerned about two things (slow acceleration, and no spare tire). Both of these issues made me think twice about the vehicle. However, it drives exceptionally well, and has more features than any other similar vehicle. I have the Style Package, and for the extra $2000, I got a lot of luxury items. I highly recommend getting the Style Package. As far as acceleration, it's true that it isn't first off the line (my Dad's 2006 Corolla accelerates faster). However, once I'm out of 2nd or 3rd gear, I don't notice any performance issues. I haven't had a lot of highway experience with it yet, but if it performs similarly to the city driving, I'll be very happy. I was also standoffish about not having a spare. But other manufacturers are starting to do this too (to save weight for fuel economy), and it comes equipped with a patch kit and pump (and Hyundai has great roadside assistance). If I end up doing a lot of long distance driving, perhaps I'll get a spare and a jack. Right now, I'm rocking around 32 mpg, and that is with virtually no highway driving. Overall, I'm very pleased with the vehicle. The blind spots are a bit rough, but I'm getting used to them. But for the money, I couldn't find a vehicle with as many amenities or visual appeal as this one. It's also worth mentioning that it has a HUGE storage capacity and great safety measures.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very happy with purchase

by Shelly from Pemberton nj on Fri Jan 27 2012

car has many features that come standard that would be extra on other vehicles . Car drives very nice and handles well. Pick up is ok , but your not going to win any races with it . The 40 mpg is one of the best features of the car along with the a/v system . Would recommend to anyone looking for a compact car .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Veloster is fun

by LoveOldMopars from Reading, Pa on Fri Aug 24 2012

My 2012 Boston red Volester is a not of fun and draws a lot of attention. It is a fully loaded manual shift. The 1.6L engine is a little under powered pulling out but not bad at all when cruising. I have the cloth/leather seat combination and the bolster on the drivers side seat at the door is not wearing well. I carry my wallet on the left side and the leather was stretched and the cushion deformed after only a few hundred miles on the car. I am not a big guy and took it to the dealer who said they would try to add padding and or try to pull the cover tighter at my first service. Has been a great car otherwise with 1200 miles on it so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2012 Hyundai Veloster

Driving the four-seat 2012 Hyundai Veloster for two weeks was as energizing as downing a doppio espresso via IV drip and exactly the kick in the pants I needed after driving clone after clone of bland, boring cars.

You know that amazing feeling when you walk out of the hair salon after getting a fabulous seasonal shape up and highlight refresh? It gives you just a little extra sway to your swagger, and the Veloster is that feeling in car form. For men who may not know this "new hairstyle high," just drive the Veloster. Besides being fun, it'll give you a little extra insight into the female mind (brownie points!).

Every Hyundai I've driven lately has impressed me in some fashion, and the Veloster is... Read More