1998 Q45

Consumer Reviews

1998 INFINITI Q45

1998 INFINITI Q45

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 INFINITI Q45?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BEST ROAD CAR FOR A SMOOTH RIDE

by BEACHBUNNY from ST. LOUIS MO. on Sun Jan 03 2010

WE HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE SINCE 1998 AND IT STILL DRIVES AS SMOOTHH AS ID DID ON DAY ONE. tHE FEELING IS LIKE BEING IN A NEW CAR EVERY TIME WE GO SOMEWHERE. THIS IS AN ECXEPTIONAL VEHICLE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most inexpensive car I've ever owned

by Going for " the" ride from Ocean, NJ on Wed Jul 27 2011

Think about it! Bought it in 2000 used, 2 years old, with 65,000 miles for the reasonable price of $16,000.00. looked like a brand new car out of the show room from an Infinity dealer here in NJ. Never had any trouble or put any money into it. Still working as good as when I bought it. chances are I will get another 30 or 40K miles out of it in the next 3 or 4 years with no troubles, and will be doing it in luxury, listening to the best Bose sound system I've ever heard, without interruptions, and.... in style!. How can you beat that after 12 years of reliability!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable luxury for ten years!

by duck from Londonderry, NH on Tue May 31 2011

I have owned my 1998 Q45 for nearly ten years. It had 62k miles when I bought it and now it has 165k. It's never had an oil or transmission leak and never had an electrical problem. I've done brakes, front springs, knock sensors and MAF. That's it. It still runs like it has another 100k left in the motor. I've wanted a new car for over a year, but every time I drive a BMW, Lexus or others, while some are nicer, I still end up feeling like my Q is as good for a fraction of the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best of the best

by Q45Tlover from Manassas, VA on Mon Jun 25 2012

I own a 1999 Q45 and LOVE this car. It's my second Infinit( had a J30 ) and always hope to drive Infiniti. Excellent cars and worth every penny

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I liked this car so much I bought a second one.

by Brad the computer guy from Rochester, NY on Mon Feb 18 2013

I bought a 1998 Q45 in 2007 with 78K miles and drove it 100K miles in five years. I broke down the cost per year and it was cheaper to own than my last Corolla. I'm about to pick up a clone of this car, and this time I'm getting it for $6K with only 54K miles on it. The car rides great...just the right mix of road feel without being too stiff. The steering feels right, the power when hitting the gas is very entertaining. Considering this car was $50K now and if you look hard enough can get a low mileage Q45 for less than $7K....you can find no better buy. I've seen Sentras and Corollas going for more and they are just little buzzy cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Q45 is a great understated car.

by Rajesh Garg from Naperville, IL on Thu May 18 2006

Perfect luxury car with excellent reliability. It is fully loaded car with decent price. Infiniti quality is better than Lexus.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Driver from NC on Sun Jun 07 2015

Best car I ever owned! No mechanical problems EVER! Changed oil, tires, brakes and belts only! No idea why Infiniti quit making them?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Oldie but a goodie

by Q45Goodie from Kingwood, TX on Tue May 16 2017

If i had the funds to repair I would not sell it. It is a great car just old and in need of some tlc

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1998 Infinity Q45T, Black 4 Dr Sedan

by Classiccars from on Tue Apr 04 2017

The car feels and look like a classic black limousine with plenty of space inside. Relaxing to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best riding car i have ever driven

by gofish from moriches, ny on Sun May 06 2018

I this this is one of the best cars on the road. it has all the features that a luxury car should have whit the quality of a Japanese import.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 INFINITI Q45

I loved the first Infiniti Q45, which debuted in 1989. It was a big, substantial-feeling, luxury sedan that had an edgy, rather than sumptuous, personality. And its dealers promised top-notch customer service.

But annual Q45 sales quickly peaked at 14,622, and Infiniti was forced to tinker with the car.

Today, after years of changes, the Q45 is all mainstream and not edgy any longer. It's smaller than the original and has a smaller, more fuel-efficient V-8.

But customers still rave about the service at dealerships, and Infiniti is at or near the top of the J.D. Power and Associates customer satisfaction studies. Best of all, sales of the rear-wheel drive Q45 are improving. I... Read More