2002 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$859 - $7,979  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 72 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Spacious, comfy ride

by Long-time Jeep Lover from Chicago, IL on Thu May 18 2006

I bought my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee just after I graduated from college. I wanted something which handled like a coupe, had the storage/passenger space of a van, and that didn't suck down gas like a semi. In all my research, this vehicle had it all. The seats are extremely comfortable and have always been the focus of the first comment made by my friends/family upon getting in. Even when at full capacity (easily 5 adults), everyone was still really comfortable. The stereo puts out immaculate sound complimented by the design wish eliminates most, if not all, outside noise. Having owned a Jeep Wrangler, the elimination of outside wind noise was a HUGE selling point. With a 20 gallon gas tank, my experience with filling this baby up has been nothing but sublime. Driving this Grand Cherokee cross-country was one of the best experiences of my life--a comfortable, smooth, quiet ride which allowed more conversations with friends than complications with our vehicle. The only down-side is the absence of a sunroof which, after owning this Jeep for nearly 3 years, is the ONLY thing that I feel is missing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland

by freerein99 from Aurora, CO on Wed Aug 17 2011

Love this Jeep very plush seats and very comfortable on long drives...Lots of power hard on gas... If you keep it maintained it will never let you down...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value and ROCK solid

by Suburban Jeepman from Newton Ma. on Tue Feb 07 2012

I was in the market for an inexpensive used car and found this mint condition 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with 150K miles for less the $5K. I took it for a test drive and had my mechanic give it the once over. He found it to be in excellent condition and was maintained extremely well, multiple Jeep replacement parts have been installed. Who ever owned this before me must have loved this car because the interior and exterior and nearly flawless. I've owned it for 3 months. Not a drop of oil has been consumed by the V8 engine over my first 3000 miles. Every accessory works, the AC blows cold air, the brakes and rotors were new, and the suspension is quiet and tight. I average 15mpg in city driving. Great SUV! Very solidly built and rust resistant... not a spot of rust anywhere. I highly recommend you try and find a well cared for Jeep Grand Cherokee LIMITED... luxury at a bargain price!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Replaced 2000 Eldorado with 2002 Grand Cherokee

by Dyno Don from Uwharrie National Forest, North Carolina. on Fri Sep 01 2017

Very good vehicle if you get one with 6 cylinder motor, (avoid the 4.7l v8, I had the 4.7l in a Dakota and it imploded, poor oil return passages, to small). The 6 cyl. is a great engine, and the rest of the Grand Cherokee is impressive also. Parts are readily available. I'll keep mine till it is illegal to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

and Suddenly........ I'm a Jeep girl

by Lizzy from on Fri Jan 24 2014

I just upgraded from a 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, to the 2002 model. She's such a SWEET ride. Like falling in love all over again. Her body is great, her interior is perfect and only 59 K miles. She's amazing. Passing the 95 Grand Cherokee down to my oldest grandson whose pulling straight A's :))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I’ve owned

by Treyquone from Winchester va on Wed Jan 30 2019

I think that this is a great suv, 4x4 is great cant beat it, I would recommend this Jeep to anyone, highly recommended to everyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid, classic, all-around sport-utility

by auchen on Sun Feb 18 2018

The Grand Cherokee tradition goes back a long way and together with it's sibling Cherokee, defined the genre. It was the first - and still teh best as each generation has only gotten better. This particular vehicle was purchased new and has been like a member of the family since. Solid, reliable performance with plenty of power and very classic Jeep look to it. WIth All- Wheel Quadra Drive and it's spectacular in snow, and is a comfortable all 'rounder. The reliability has been great, but I only gave it 4 stars, because while the front brakes perform well, the rotors were a little undersized and tend to warp, necessitating replacement sooner than in subsequent generations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

02 Overland For $500

by MrDrDre from St Helier, Jersey on Mon Dec 30 2013

I'm extremely happy with my Overland. I bought it for $500 and it's in perfect condition but the only problem was that the reverse gear was really weak. I got it fixed for about a hundred bucks, just changed the fluid and both filters. The performance is great for a SUV as the acceleration pushes me into the seat and ghe engine as well as the exhaust system sound awesomely, better than a Jaguar XK8 00. Access to parts is easy and most are fairly easy to remove/replace. I really like the design of the exterior and the interior. It drives very well either off road on the freeway or in urban areas. I had this car for about a year now and I never had a problem with it. Only thing I did to it was replacing the air filter from the original boxy thing to a K&N Air Intake for $180 which made the throttle respond quicker besides from changing all brake pads and all fluids. I'm also incredibly surprised by the fuel consumption which is really little. For $50 I can cruise for about two weeks. There's a trick but you have to find out for yourselves :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best car that I ever owned

by Pancho from Vero Beach Florida on Mon Jan 09 2012

My car has an excellent performance and reliability. Sill in great shape, the paint look like new. Is not to good in gas but make around 18 mile per/gallon in the city and about 20 in high way, that is the only thins a have found to good for the price of gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOOD TOW CAR

by SCOTTYATBEACH from tampa bay,fl on Thu Mar 24 2011

Has been very good towing travel trailer strong engine averaged 13 mpg towing seating very comfortable with out trailer getting 15.5 mpg.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

There’s little doubt about the power of the Jeep name.

During World War II, foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle described the U.S. Army vehicle as being “faithful as a dog, as strong as a mule and as agile as a goat.” Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, Allied Supreme Commander in Europe, said after the war “the Jeep, the Dakota airplane and the landing craft were the three tools that won the war.”

The 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland edition may be the SUV that wins over luxury import buyers. With a sticker price of nearly $40,000, the Overland is aimed at such popular foreign brands as the Mercedes-Benz ML320, Lexus RX300 and Acura MDX.

He: Funny that Jeep should resurrect... Read More