Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$1,430 - $21,618  MSRP Range
2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV, great value

by Sportyfan from Michigan on Sun Aug 16 2009

We have a 2009 Laredo 4x4 with the standard 3.7L V6 and 5 speed automatic. The performance is very acceptable (contrary to some articles I've read) and the fuel economy is good for a SUV - 2 to 3 MPG better than EPA ratings. We love the style, confort and overall package. The full time 4WD and 5 speed auto are smooth and seamless. Lots of standard features. We got the Rocky Mountain package which includes the excellent My-gig radio, sunroof, heated seats and nice machined wheels - a very good value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Overall great car, but I picked one up with start-

by Jeep Enthusiast from Sufflok County, NY on Tue Apr 28 2015

I brought a 2009 Grand Cherokee with great enthusiasm. My wife and I love the car. It's has a comfortable interior and the stereo quality is better than my former 1997 Grand Cherokee. I enjoy driving it to visit my family and to work. Unfortunately, lately, it's having starting issues. When I drove it for more than 25 miles in warm weather and I park it for 15 minutes or more (with the engine off of course), I would start it again and the engine would rock a lot and back fire. After 2 attempt, the engine would run smoothly. So far this issue happened to me twice for the month I owned the Jeep. The dealer is in the process of arranging an appointment to bring in the car for service. I hope they will find the problem. I took a video to show them the issue. Wish me luck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really good

by Hunter from Montreal Quebec on Mon Jun 28 2010

Was looking for a 4x4 but was not sure wich one to choose. After browsing thru the web and finally narrowing my search on three models. I was suprised after trying the others that the grand cherokee was by far the best for handling, comfort and styling. The only problem I see at the moment is that the 3.7 L engine lacks a little bit of pep. A 30 or 40 horsepower more would had been great. Gas comsumption is a little high but I don`t mind spending a couple of bucks more to have the pleasure of driving this truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable SUV I've Owned

by SJ from Pittsburgh, PA on Wed Mar 27 2013

Fully loaded and I enjoy driving it more every time I take it out on the road. The way it rides, the features and comfort items really make it a thrill to drive. Ownership of an automobile is part of the American dream and this one really fulfills that for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for my family

by Lmbennett from Abilene, Tx on Fri Jun 16 2017

I needed an SUV but didn't want anything too big. My Jeep is the perfect fit for my family. Lots of room. Drives great! The interior design is awesome. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luxury vehicle without the luxury price!

by OffHisRocker from Oconomowoc, Wisconsin on Tue Jun 20 2017

Compared to other vehicles I drove, the Grand Cherokee gives you style and comfort without hurting the check book. It also has all of the options without a large chunk of cash to spend them on. I would recommend the Grand Cherokee to everyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee

by Jeepster from FL. on Tue Nov 21 2017

Reliable vehicle; suits my needs perfectly . Purchased used as a theft recovery vehicle. On my 5th year driving it with only minor repairs and maintenance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most exciting purchase

by Jeff p from Wilminton Delaware on Fri May 04 2018

This car was in great condition with low miles.. I love jeep. I owned a 2002 Laredo and sold it woth 200,000 miles. Quality vehicles that last

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3.0 litre diesel

by DieselinOntario from SW Ontario - Canada on Sat Mar 21 2009

Fuel consumption on the highway was right on as per the windshield data - quite a pleasant surprise. Friends are amazed at the quietness of the engine. The GPS is amazing. It took some doing to find a unit with skid plates and Quadra-Drive II. Dealers may be trying to shave a few bucks on the price by ordering without - a mistake!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 2nd Overland....loved 1st one and same with new

by Arnie from British Columbia on Wed Nov 17 2010

I have nothing but praise for Chrysler and the job they do with the Jeep Cherokee Overlands. I owned a 2004, never a problem. My 2009 Overland is my vehicle of choice between BMW 5 series and the Jeep.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee


I think of the Jeep Grand Cherokee as the original SUV; it's the SUV everyone had before everyone had SUVs. It's still popular today with plenty of moms. The Grand Cherokee provides ample room for a family of four without being too cumbersome. It's comfortable and stylish without being obnoxiously overloaded, and it has a reassuring steadiness under the toughest road conditions.

I do have one major issue with the 2009 Grand Cherokee, though, and that's its fuel economy, estimated at 14/19 mpg city/highway (and realistically below that). I had to fill 'er up twice in one week, and that did not make this mama happy. My test car was flex-fuel capable - meaning you can fill it with E85 ethanol - but... Read More