NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 RX 350

Consumer Reviews

2016 Lexus RX 350

$23,026 - $45,206  MSRP Range
2016 Lexus RX 350

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

94 Reviews
79% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Lexus RX 350?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 94 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Gotta get one

by More than I can handle from Clifton NJ on Fri Mar 11 2016

My wife and I totally enjoy our new addition to our family. It is more than we expected. It's a real "head turner". Many great reassuring comments from friends, family and even STRANGERS. It has way too many "bells and whistles" than we know what to do with. I'm sure it will take some time to figure them all out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Droning Sound Fixed!!!

by KenSW from Long Island, NY on Fri Feb 16 2018

Great to horrible to great again. Lexus released a fix for the droning and vibration. Just had it installed and it worked. The middle section of the exhaust system gets replaced. Other than the weird Enform controller, the RX does most things right. Comfy and smooth are the key items.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Looks great, but..............

by rocnstn from Palm Desert, CA on Sat Dec 15 2018

We previously owned a 2004 and 2010 RX, Both were great, the '10 RX350 had 111K mi when we sold it, and looked/drove new. Absolutely no repairs since new. Purchased a '16 RX350 w/most options. $52K sticker. Bought it on the internet based on great past Lexus/Toyota experience. The car looked great, but drove terribly. Always hesitated from start, then took off like a rocket- almost impossible to accelerate slowly. Worst was constant groaning at idle and lower speed- slight vibration as well. Cruise control was worthless- even on lowest sensitivity setting it would slow down way too early, then do nothing for a few beats, then abruptly take off. Very jerky, and dangerous. Hands free tailgate never worked, nor did voice activated navigation- system never got what we said. Sold the car at a huge loss to CarMax. Would consider a '16+ RX450h hybrid- different engine and transmission- but I am disappointed in Lexus- our '16 RX350 was a real loser.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

This Lexus is a Lemon

by carguy from on Thu May 18 2017

Accelerating slow to moderate, the car will often bog down, and sometimes jerk multiple times per second. The A/C has a mind of its own and will sometimes start blowing much warmer air than what it's set at or reduce the airflow. The car has an "economy" setting for the A/C, which we do not have it set to, but why would a luxury car have this anyway. The lane-keeping-assist used w/cruise control forces the car to the right side of the lane. The dashboard controls are terrible with controls for things like A/C and Music all in a row with the same low profile buttons requiring you to take eyes off the road to make adjustments. My previous 4 Lexus cars/suvs were fantastic, and didn't have these issues. Why go backwards on design and make things worse. That's what they did with this car. There's more problems but I don't have the space to write about them all. The decisions that Lexus made on this car make me question their competence. They just didn't test things out well at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It’s noisy !

by Gabby2016 from Georgia on Wed Jan 30 2019

A lot more engine and road noise than my 2012 rx. Drives and rides smoothly however there is a bit of hesitation during take off.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Shame on you Lexus!!!

by Frustrated Lexus Owner from Valencia on Tue Jun 06 2017

I purchased the new RX350 without even test driving it because I have been a Lexus owner for almost 30 years and have always been happy with the brand for being the smoothest and quietest brand out there. Big mistake, when I drove the car home I immediately noticed the vibration and droning noises that you can feel in the steering wheel, pedals, floor board, seats. This is not the same Lexus that I and my family have know to love. I took the car back to the dealer to inform them of my issue with the car and the service manager said that this is a "normal characteristic of this vehicle." It's been over a year and Lexus still has no solution to this problem. Others with the newer 2017 model are also complaining about this issue.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and good looking SUV

by Downsizing from a 1 Ton Dually from Northern Virginia on Sun Nov 29 2015

Very luxurious and comfortable SUV: rides like a big sedan. Very quiet, many excellent safety features: blind side warnings, lane shift warnings, park assist, adaptive high beam headlights and others. Many nice touches on the interior for information and comfort. Shifts smoothly and controls well placed. All in all, very pleased with the vehicle so far. The front grill is a concern, with parking damage possible when parallel parked, but that seems to be the design trend these days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Safe driver from Fresno, CA on Wed Aug 03 2016

Drove on my first road trip with it, handled beautifully . Mileage was better than I expected. Was pleased to be higher up in my first SUV. Seats so comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Drives poorly

by Haggis from Toronto on Sat Aug 18 2018

Multiple quality issues from jammed drivers door, small gas tank, rotors that last 2 years, $1000 oil and brake fluid service to noisy rear fan. The worst for me by far is the TSB on laggy trasmission which Lexus finally issued. Its better but still drives worse than my Honda van. Lots of hesitation. The TSB software fix removed the Sport plus drive option from the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

drone noise at 1500 RPM , lexus wont fix

by GabRe from Los Angeles CA on Sat Jul 01 2017

new car that vibrates on 1500 RPM , as other people mentioned , Lexus aware of the problem but says its normal ! for a 58k$ car ? drone noise ? are you kidding me? stay away from this grabage

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2016 Lexus RX 350

Wild styling draws attention to the 2016 Lexus RX 350, but uninspired handling, lackluster brake feel and a lack of innovative features won't win it many new friends.

Since its introduction in 1998, the Lexus RX midsize luxury SUV has been a hit. It's one of the few luxury vehicles of any type that regularly sells more than 100,000 units a year in the U.S. It's been a boon for the Lexus brand. But Lexus has always played it safe with the Lexus RX, with styling that was warm but never hot and driving dynamics that were pleasing but never entertaining.

The new 2016 RX 350 and RX 450h hybrid are the latest attempts to inject some youthful exuberance into the Lexus lexicon, but... Read More