1996 Town Car

Consumer Reviews

1996 Lincoln Town Car

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Lincoln Town Car?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

T CAR

by LUXURYRIDE from WILMINGTON , DE on Sat Dec 20 2008

THESE ARE GREAT CARS. 4.6 ENGINE. REAR DRIVE. MANY OF THESE CARS GO 300,000 MOST OLD COOTS MOVED TO CADILLAC FRONT WHEEL DRIVE. THEY MISSED OUT. THIS REAR DRIVE CAR WILL OUTLAST ANY FRONT DRIVER.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW What a great car

by 1996 TOWN CAR from Lakeland FL on Fri Aug 11 2006

I love my 1996 Town car it drives great and it's not bad on gas . The 1997 was the last of the good Town Car's i love that Town car look . When your seen in this Town car you get the look's .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First car

by D James from NJ on Fri Jun 28 2013

I have a black on black 96 town car as my first car. My uncle gave me this car for my birthday. It was his main car when he drove black car in Brooklyn. It has 315,000 miles and runs like a jem. All of the mechanics are original and work great. The only reason for 4 stars on reliability is because all of the brake lines rusted out and I had to pay 1000$ to fix them. All of my friends might have fast cars, but I always tell them that their cars are nowhere near as comfortable as mine. I don't plan on getting rid of this car for a long long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i

by most reliable car I"VE OWNED from wv on Sat Jan 05 2008

kept in garage; 21,000 miles; dark green; one owner; one driver; driven only locally with exception of one or two vacation trips

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Car At It's Best

by Mack Dog from Little Rock, AR on Thu Jul 13 2006

You can forget about motorhomes and gas guzzelers when you travel in this limousine. My idea of roughing it is Hotels and Motels without a microwave and refridgerator in the room. This limo gets over 20 mpg on the highway and includes all the luxury items you expect in a great car with a 75" stretch.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value

by dealer51 from burbank ,ca on Mon Jan 22 2018

you cannot go wrong with a used town car for the money. it is a great value , rides very nice , and does not break down like other vehicles. Your repair ratio on this vehicle is above normal meaning you have to fix it a lot less.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

1996 Lincoln Towncar Signature..Immaculate,

by BIG JOHN from BOYNTON BEACH FLA on Mon May 29 2017

Bought it new.. This is one of the last of truly big automobiles, a massive six passenger luxury car whose suspension system is designed to cushion all occupants from the slightest imperfection in the roadway. This 1996 Town Car is meant for lap of luxury motoring, the traditional soft, cushy approach to travel. I haven't found a current new car that rides as smooth and is as comfortable my 1996.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car that lasted over 20 years

by Tpmiscool from Chicago, il on Sat Jun 10 2017

This car was perfect for road trips and long rides inside. Even in 1996 it had climate control and its all digital dashboard left you wondering why cars today still use dials. Its leather interior never ripped or tore and the electronic closing trunk was a nice feature (other than trying to convince people you didnt need to slam it. It drove smoothly and comfortable and it could stand up to anything. It was very wide, parking was always a challenge. The steering tightness was adjustable and I miss its looseness.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

i a great old card -- well maintained . .

by patrick's towncar . . . from oroville, california on Mon Oct 30 2017

a love this 1996 lincoln. i am also surprised that one in this very fine condition, needs a little upholstery work, very little on the driver's seat, is only valued at between $1,500 and $3.500. i certainly would not let this car go for under $3,500. i would give it away first.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1996 Lincoln Town Car Signiture

by Luckstike7 from Garfield N.J on Thu Apr 20 2017

This is a great car for the money. I would buy this car over any luxury car of its day. I just bought mine Burgundy over Burgundy one of the nicest color combos 103,000 mi runs like new looks great one of the best deals I have ever made

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1996 Lincoln Town Car

Call it Ivory soap because the Town Car floats.

This is one of the last of the big boats, a massive six-passenger luxurycar whose suspension system is designed to cushion all occupants from theslightest imperfection in the roadway.

As a result, however, when entering the interstate, you swing wide and leansharply and feel as if you are riding on the sidewalls.

This is not a car to be driven aggressively, unless your definition ofaggressive is 75 m.p.h. in a straight line between Chicago and Detroit onInterstate Highway 94.

The Town Car is meant for lap-of-luxury motoring, the traditional soft,cushy approach to travel. You'll arrive as fresh as when you left. Just beprepared for a rather sterile... Read More