NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2014 CX-5

Consumer Reviews

2014 Mazda CX-5

$8,434 - $19,786  MSRP Range
2014 Mazda CX-5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

187 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Mazda CX-5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 187 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Three near misses in 5 months

by Dog Chauffeur from Redmond Wa. on Fri Mar 18 2016

Purchased a 2014 cx5 on November. 2015. I am having trouble seeing while trying to make a turn. The front side door posts are quite large, and the large housing on rear view mirrors impair the sightline. I am a 5'6" woman. yes, I have adjusted the seat, added a pillow. Also dog does not appreciate seat not folding flat .

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good ride

by Murrary from Portland, ME on Thu Jul 17 2014

I purchased a new CX-5 Mazda after driving a '01 Protege for 13 years since new I am proud with the Mazda lineup on their vehicles. This crossover has more technology compared on what used to drive with a vehicle having base options as power windows, power doors, am/fm radio, CC, but now things have changed since than this is more like a Base SUV being cheaper in new advanced technology. It rides solid, features are really outstanding on CX-5 got navigation, rain sensor wipers, iPod interface, info center, heated seats, backup camera, keyless, lane departure warning. CX-5 gives me some of the most greatest road handling ever, there is nothing could think in lows on this little SUV after all I think have got much better deal instead buying a CR-V which really considering buying but since owned and drove a Mazda for 13 years with zero problems went for another new one know right could trust the reliability but so pleased with all new features and better technology ever. The transmission is automatic makes me have a really firm ride with comfortable seats in lots of bolstered support being more safer to drive too. Overall Mazda vehicles does last up to 350K miles or up this is the 3rd I bought own a (2 Protege and CX-5) one lasted 400xxx a '92 and '01 went 240xxx with zero issues no oil burning or nothing. Recently purchased my CX-5 few weeks ago still learning the basics for navigation to infotainment systems but loving this SUV...Oh! The gas mileage is a plus one thing with these vehicles they are gas misers I am getting 35.8 mpg on CX-5 but on both Protege vehicles averaged out 40 mpg still with the CX-5 think have good gas mileage otherwise got better discount sticking with Mazda again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUV that drives like a small sports sedan

by Mazdaowner from Chicago on Wed Dec 25 2013

Adequate power for its size. Just to give a perspective, its about 0.1" shorter than a Honda Civic in length. Drives like a small sports sedan, nimble, and agile. I get a lot of compliments on the car, also because I own the Sky Blue which is a rare color. Simplistic interior but a very german style to it, without too many buttons. The only con are the leather seats and Leather steering wheel in winter. Front Seats at least are heated but the steering wheel is hard to hold for a few minutes until the car warms up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Mazda!

by the Gypsy Queen from Chicago on Tue Mar 03 2015

Traded my 2004 ford explorer EB edition v8 for my 14' CX-5 and I'm in love, I love driving it, I feel safe and it does great on gas! Totally recommend. Zoom,Zoom.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A keeper

by Nmlobo from Yorktown,va on Sun Jul 06 2014

Owned my 2015 cx5 GT for 14 months and 16,000 miles. Smooth quiet ride. Excellent gas milage ~ 30 mpg city and 34 to 36. Highway. It did have a driver side window rattle that was fixed by the dealer within 5 minutes. I completely pleased with this suv!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

BAD BAD MPG

by Notafan from Tulsa, OK on Tue Feb 03 2015

Bought the CX5 Grand Touring mainly for it's gas mileage, the salesmen all bragged about how great it was and that I'd get better than rating of 25 city, 32 highway and 27 combined as per EPA. None of that was true. I'm lucky to get 22.5 combined. Best pure highway was 29, worst pure highway was 22. Best city was within first 4 months and that was 26 with some highway. worst city was 15.6. I don't gun it, I drive very conservatively and very seldom in rush hour traffic. These mpgs are all from cars calculation. Also the paint job is horrible, barely touch it and it chips off. The back of the driver's seat squeaks, the navigation is totally ridiculous - doesn't even begin to work. The sound system is putz. The middle AC vents hit me right on the right are (driver). Would have been better if they put the vents above the navigation screen. All in all, I don't recommend this vehicle. Don't know if I got a bad one or if these problems are fixable. Intend to take it in for the 10K oil change soon and hopefully they can/will fix these issues.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ms.

by Mazda beat out outlander sport ! from DFW area on Tue May 07 2013

I was planning on getting the Mitsubishi Outlander sport, BUT once I drove the Mazda CX 5 to compare...WOW, could not really invest Almost as much $$ for the Mitsubishi ! The mazda drove better, tighter steering, better suspension & quieter inside ! Nice sunroof that actually opens ( better personnally for ME ) . GooD CHoiCE by ME ! :-))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

first suv

by x sports car owner from Los Angelas on Mon Jan 27 2014

The wife and I have owned mostly fast sporty cars. As I have aged I find comfort and economy more important. That is why we bought something more roomy and economical. So far we have enjoyed the CX-5. Quite and comfy the Grand Touring has just the right amount of a luxury feel without breaking the bank. We plan on this SUV being with us a long time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great mileage and lots of room

by Hoarder on wheels from Southern Pines on Mon Mar 10 2014

Love this car. It has all the bells and whistles along with head room, room for long legs,and good mileage. My GPS voice is actually fun as a driving companion.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far

by JJ from Morris, IL on Wed Mar 05 2014

I only have put on 1000 miles, but so far so good! I can't wait to see if the gas mileage goes even higher as it breaks in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com