NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 CX-9

Consumer Reviews

2019 Mazda CX-9

$32,280 - $45,365  MSRP Range
2019 Mazda CX-9

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

35 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Mazda CX-9?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by Amanda M from Portland, OR on Wed Jul 10 2019

The car is quiet, luxurious, comfortable, zippy and an incredible value for the money. It's very comfortable for our family of five. The entertainment console offers me a range of HD radio stations I couldn't get in my last car and I'm thrilled with the gas mileage I'm getting in town and on the freeway. Mazda has really improved this car in the past few years. I'm crazy about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't have enough of it!

by Midlife from Buffalo, NY on Tue Apr 09 2019

Absolutely awesome. After 2 months, still amazed about its looks and features. It drives like a much smaller car: has lots of power at low revs plus it sticks to the road on curves (I guess this is the g-vectoring thingy acting). It feels like a luxury car, with very little noise and lots of comfort items. Children love the heated back seats, and I am quite happy with heated steering/active driving display. The average mpg so far is 21/22, mostly from city driving. The one highway trip so far returned 26 mpg, as promised. The only complaint is about the 360 display: resolution is rather low. Apart from that, it is just perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun to drive.

by Lisa R from Chicago, IL on Sat Jan 12 2019

Fun to drive. Easy to handle. Quiet smooth ride. Lots of room. I've received lots of compliments on it. Good value for the money. I'm glad I bought this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

cx9-mazda

by johnadams from orlando,florida on Mon Sep 23 2019

this car is the "ULTIMATE"you have an excellent view ,front,rear and side view with a side blind spot monitor!, excellent car ,stability,heavy duty steel outer panels,steel reinforcements in all doors ,great security in all aspects ! rear view backup monitor! passenger seating for 7 persons, and plenty of storage space, and has the engine boost or turbo!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second one owned

by Golfer from Bethpage,NY on Sat Aug 31 2019

The CX5 is too small. Traded it in for a CX 9. Wish Mazda still made the CX 7 which is in between the two. CX9 has plenty of legroom in the 2nd and 3rd rows. With the 3rd row folded down the cargo area is large. The 2nd row also folds down. Was disappointed that a fully loaded CX5 has Auto Hold which is not available in the CX9. This feature holds the brake down at red lights so you can rest your driving foot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No SUV better

by Phil from Lakeville, MN on Wed Oct 09 2019

I love the CX9. Ive owned 4 over the last 8 years and each one has been an excellent vehicle. After driving mine, I’ve had 3 different friends go out and buy the same car. To drive it is to love it. The new 2019 GT is a thing of beauty and the interior is as nice as any luxury vehicle I’ve been in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The technology in this car far exceeds

by Cleve from Fort Worth, TX on Wed Jan 23 2019

The third row seating in very useful when needed. Leaving tons of storage space when not. The technology far exceeded what I was expecting. The auto braking makes me feel much safer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most Luxury available from a non luxury name

by DSFox from Keller, TX on Mon Apr 29 2019

The CX-9 Signature scores high for it looks, style and enjoyment of driving. The interior and exterior styling surpass anything offered from the other luxury name brands.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my third one

by Mort S from Owings Mills, MD on Mon Jun 17 2019

This Mazda CX-9 is the third one that I have purchased since 2014. It is comfortable , reliable, value. My wife also has a Mazda 6, which is her second one since 2014, again, reliable, comfortable, and a great value versus their competition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My CX-9

by Roxy from Columbus, OH on Thu Jul 04 2019

This car just rocks! For a mid size SUV, it has the pep and responsiveness of a smaller car. The turbo charged engine makes this vehicle. The seating is comfortable and features lots of adaptations. Love the heated and cooling seats. Controls and gages are well positioned and easy to use. Even with all the technology, it’s pretty easy to use and figure out. Love the third row seating and the roominess of the vehicle. Color and styling is fabulous

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com