2004 RX-8

Consumer Reviews
2004 Mazda RX-8

Change Vehicle
4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

66 Reviews
2004 Mazda RX-8
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

love this rotary

by PT from maryland on November 10, 2010

I absolutely love my rx8! The only complaint I really have about it is a manufacturer problem where you cannot turn the car on and right back off without letting it warm the engine up. It will cause the engine to flood and is an expensive repair. It never happened to me yet, but it happened to the previous owner once. Other than that I love it! Very sporty and fun car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

65 out of 65 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super fun car! Drive it hard

by Anthony from tulsa, ok on March 18, 2014

A lot of people complain about having to replace engines in these cars, most people don't know that it's because they baby it and don't drive it hard. that's actually bad for the car, you have to drive it hard for it to last longer. It's a rotary engine so the higher rpms are good for the engine, keeps it from having carbon build up around the rotary. if you baby it then it builds up inside the engine and eventually goes out. Drive it like you stole it and these last forever plus it sounds great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Don't Hesitate... Buy One!

by Metro Man from South Shore, MA on May 13, 2011

I would like to quell the negative and naive comments posted. The RX8 and other rotary powered Mazdas are EXTREMELY reliable machines, given they have only 3 moving internal parts (the trochoids and eccentric shaft). Yes, you have to follow a similar procedure to a turbocharged vehicle, letting it warm up prior to shutdown and you should rev an early model prior to shutdown. This is a small price to pay considering the performance you get. It's not the fastest thing around, but in the twisties, there are few cars that match it and no others at this price point. You will be visiting quite a few gas stations and it does require premium fuel, but you're buying a sports car. The engine noise at redline is simply intoxicating, and with exhaust work, it sounds like an old F1 car screaming down the road. Bottom line, make sure there is someone capable of servicing this car near you and don't hesitate to buy one, it is a fantastic car with lots of room, great performance and timelessly quirky styling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest Rotary Sports car for the practical type

by Rotary owner from Carson CA on April 19, 2014

Ive owned my rx8 for a year now and bought it with over 100,000 miles and havent had a problem with it at all. Still has the original rotary engine and has never been replaced. This car has the greatest cornering and handling ability for its class. Not so much torque but thats what your 9,500rpm redline is for, the car just loves to rev and its required you redline it daily, its not your average machine. It consumes gas and oil but creates a smile on your face. One of the funnest cars to drive out there on the market. The engine revs so smooth and it attacks corners without breaking a sweat. Seating is good enough to have a six footer such as i, in the back and front seat. I always get questions and compliment about my mazda and love the faces of the people who ask me how many miles im on with the original engine. This car is reliable to an owner who knows the cars functions. Its reccomended that anyone intrested in the car, should do research on it before they decide to purchase one. It differs from your average automobile and should be looked over alot. This car has never let me down and with the way it runs, i can imagine the same engine running strong even 150,000 miles later down the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun

by cid from califronia on November 21, 2009

this is a great car, but if you dont take care of it, it will bite back. since its a rotary engine, it need more maintanace then your avg car. it really picks up speed after 3rd gear but its really slow in 1-2. for the price i got it, you cant beat that! and i love how the doors open, plus its a 4 seater!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lots of ''Zoom Zoom'' for your $$

by mazdaman from Cleveland,Ohio on August 8, 2006

Even though I sell these incredible sports car,I can tell you with a unbiased opinion,there are not many cars that can steer,brake and handle like this car does,especially at the price point of $27,500-$31,000.This car is for a different buyer,not one who is looking for nissan ''Z'' or bmw,or corvette,or porsche.This person is looking for a lightweight,nimble,athletic,easy to drive,easy on your kidneys sport car that can take 4 adults(up to 6 ft tall) out to dinner!Name any sports car you can do that with!Who said true sports car(one that was built from the ground up) can only be a 2dr.,2 seater!Being in the car business for almost 30years and have driven almost all sports cars from all diiferent price ranges,there is not one car that's a hardtop,which can drive like this car ,at this price point, bar none!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun to be had in a used car under $10,000.

by Peter Arch from on July 26, 2017

The Mazda RX-8 is perfect for a spirited drive on a curving road with its superb balance and agility. Not much is as exciting as revving its 1.3 liter rotary engine up to 9,000 rpm. Although I love the RX-8's ability to perform, it can be a slight hassle of a vehicle to use everyday. It's Wankel power plant is demanding, needing oil every thousand miles and requiring copious amounts of fuel to quench its incredible thirst. If fuel efficiency and low maintenance requirements are your priorities then sadly this car is not for you, but if you're looking for a car that's going to make your face sore from smiling every time you approach redline, look no further.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by AmericanCarGuy from Southwest Missouri on September 18, 2007

I had always purchased American cars but had a love of the Mazda RX 7 when I was in highschool and had to try out the RX 8 when I was old enough to afford one. I love this car. It has just the right amount of exhilirating performance and sensibility. I comfortably drive my 2 kids (both in carseats) and my wife around in the car. We open the moonroof and enjoy the sound of the high reving engine :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

by GREEN from Fond Du Lac on July 6, 2008

This car is fun to drive, handels great, and it is beautiful. I do not like that when I go on vacation for a week the battery is completely drained. The trunk is so small, do not try and pick anyone up from the airport with this car because the luggage won't fit. The four doors are nice, easy in and out. Also, enigine has many troubles, but Mazda fixed them all with no questions asked. I'm very happy about the 100,000 mile transferable warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best used sports car for the money

by Joe from Utah on March 1, 2009

The RX-8 is the funnest car I have ever driven. It is not the fastest car, or the best looking but the thrill of driving it is unlike any other for the money. This car is for the true enthusiest because it is alot more high maintenance than your average car. If you arent patient enough to let it warm up before you shut if off then dont buy it. If your one of those people who buys a car as a form of transportation only you should probably buy a honda.. If your one of those people who buys a car for fun and transportation then the RX-8 is it. It puts a smile on my face every time I hear the beautiful engine climb to 9000 rpms.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Our Expert Review: 2004 Mazda RX-8