1999 CLK-Class

Consumer Reviews

1999 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

$6 - $10,634  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 1999 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Longevity with style

by kphins from So Cal on February 26, 2011

I've owned my CLK430 for 10 years now. I never expected the experience this car has provided. Other than oil changes and tires this CLK430 has never needed a single repair. The engine is responsive, intererior design is effecient and stylish. The only problem is the gas mileage. 13 years ago, gas was cheaper and the sub 20 mpg I get makes this a more expensive commuter. MB got ths one right!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 CLK320 Cabriolet

by SummerGS from on March 29, 2017

While it seems many are apprehensive about buying older Mercedes, I and my fellow CLK320 Cabriolet owner friends have been very satisfied, especially with performance vs. MPG. Most of us get 27-30MPG in mixed city/highway. Not that I have had many issues (thank God!), but I have found that if there is an issue or gremlin, DO NOT fix it right away. At least for my CLK320, it fixes itself more times than not. My 1997 F150, on the other hand, has cost me a small fortune in repairs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Car Ever!!!

by Casey M from Jupiter, Fl on January 8, 2014

I bought this car about a year and a half ago and have loved driving it. It is a great strong car that always has a little more power when you need it. It is a solid car that continues to impress me. This car is a tank that is light on its feet, beautiful to drive and look at and it has performed beyond expectation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CLK430 -Must Have Classic

by Black Opal from on May 25, 2009

I am a car enthusiast and this car turns heads everywhere. Its classic and elegant but very powerful and masculine at the same time. It has lines that are better than the newer W209's. The CLK430 will cost you marginally more but it well worth it because the AMG body moldings as well as the AMG wheels make the car look complete. The engine is a powerful V8 which is so smooth and powerful with torque on demand in any gear at any RPM. The ride is wonderful for a sports coupe and amazing for long drives. For the money I've never been able to find anything that hits all the marks quite like this car. I always wanted one and since I've had mine I've never been dissapointed. They are very reliable if you change the oil (synthetic only) and put in the premium gas. The more you drive it the more you will realize why Mercedes is such an exellent brand. The leather alone lasts so long and never cracks. My car is 11 years only and looks like a new car. The stereo is awesome (bose) and the interior is simple (real burlwood not like the new mercedes-plastic). Its good in the rain just don't take it out in the snow. This car is a solid as a rock and will never let you down. BUY ONE!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

99 clk

by main from yonkers on May 8, 2009

Very nice car I had two of them the car is going to be one we all remember just test drive one yourself

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very powerful car, attracks speeding ticket

by Leo from Harrisburg on July 15, 2010

Bought this car to get around. Got very good feedback on car from friends and family. Bought it used. Runs like new. Great car, smooth ride, love the look and style, powered everything

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love this Car

by Teenaged driver from on May 21, 2011

I typically drive the clk 320 coupe and my dad's 08 c300 sports sedan. I prefer this as it is more fun to drive, it is just more zippy. The ride i comfortable yet still able to provide good feed back. I get around 22mpg (mostly city). I have the stock speakers hooked up to an aftermarket stereo and they sound better than any toyota. The car has a few minor issues but none major and this is to be expected of a 12 year old car. A well maintained one will be an excellent car for anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised

by Tman from Chicago, IL on September 7, 2006

The engine has good torque which makes the most of the 215 hp. The handling is nuetral with a nice tendancy towrds oversteer especially in wet conditions. Transmission is in need of tiptronics for downshifting. I bought mine used and noticed a lot of windshield noise. If you don't like the looks of this car something is wrong. It does'nt mean you won't get along in the world, but something is missing!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One owner pampered classic Benz convertible...

by Retired Benz Guy from Auburn California on February 26, 2018

SOOOO much car for the money...Classy...Dependable...Top down perfection...I've had the pleasure of owning this beauty for nearly 20 years...Needs nothing but another caring owner...You won't be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super fun car!!

by GT Motors from Long beach on December 8, 2017

Great car!! Fun fast always gets all the looks! Car handle like a dream and has great acceleration. One of my favorite cars I?ve ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

It is a Bordeaux-red fantasy powered by a 275-horsepower engine. The seats are leather, supple in feel and cream in color. Walnut wood trims the instrument panel and center console. Deep-pile carpeting covers the floor.

It is the 1999 Mercedes-Benz CLK 430 coupe, a stunning work of art in "Park" and a demon in "Drive."

But there is no need for a car such as this. It is a fillip in a world gone mad, a finger-snap amid the thunder of artillery and falling bombs. It is an indulgence, a motorized demarcation between the haves and have-nots.

Yet it is unquestionably beautiful, irresistibly seductive, the electromechanical definition of lust. Perhaps it's what war is all about--envy and covetousness... Read More