2017 GLS 450

Consumer Reviews

2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS 450

$39,229 - $92,924  MSRP Range
2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS 450

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS 450?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't be happier

by Dadof3 from Buffalo, NY on Wed Mar 22 2017

We leased initially a 2014 MB GL450 and as lease was coming to an end I started researching for a replacement. We have been very happy with that one, however we did feel that it was an expensive vehicle. So I searched and researched far and wide, looking at pretty much all of the 7 seats alternatives, all wheel drive. I could not find a better alternative: either too small or too big or not really cheaper or perhaps not as safe. After having the 2017 GLS450 delivered we could not be be happier. In some subtle ways it is better than the 2014, however the core values are the same. It is beautiful outside and inside, a joy to drive, very comfortable up to the 7th passenger, extremely safe and it drives amazingly on ice an snow. We had zero issues with the 2014 and zero issues so far with the 2017, so perfect reliability for us.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Upgraded from Lexus to Mercedes Benz

by KAM from Westminster, Co on Sun Jan 14 2018

Overall very good, good room and great comfort. Twin Turbo V6 gives very adequate performance, no need to move up to the 550 with a V8. Also gets about 22 mpg - not bad for a big SUV. The only thing I reduced was the design for the rear view mirrors (outside). The seem small to me and don't have great vision, but they don't stick out too far either. Bought this because the Lexus GX 460 didn't get as good of mileage and the wife wanted room for seven passengers. In that regard I think the MB is much better and about the same price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best one of the 7 I ever owned

by allenb,realtor from St.Cloud,Mn on Mon Feb 06 2017

Thes 2017 is the best and most reliable of the 7 MB SUV's I have owned.Best handling and braking and best on ice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

first suv i own

by roberta taylor from pearland TX on Mon Sep 11 2017

the suv looks good in the inside and out and it drives good i get my suv the some place my daughter get her car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I leaving my dream!!!

by Minniered from Laurel, MS on Mon May 08 2017

This was my dream car I can't believed I am actually living my dream.. I love everything about this SUV it was worth waiting for. I don't plan on buying another SUV, Thank God!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love the GLS

by Mixwrld from Albuquerque on Wed Apr 19 2017

This is my 4 GL, now GLS, it's the perfect car for me. Tons of power, not over done, best tech, all the right stuff. Well done Mercedes. I'll be back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by WTElvis from Midland, Texas on Wed Jul 05 2017

This is not our first Mercedes Benz, but it is, without a doubt, the most comfortable car that we have had. We took a "road trip" on the first day that we had the car and we were very pleased with the performance of the automobile, although not in the least surprised. It will be my wife's car, so I will probably not be driving it much!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful & Useful

by Grace L. Sparks from Cleveland, Texas on Mon Feb 26 2018

My Mercedes-Benz is a lovely, comfortable car except for one thing---the head rests in the second row of seats are very uncomfortable! For such a luxury car, I would expect they would be more flexible and adjustable for younger children, which they are NOT! Other than that, the car is wonderful

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST RELIABEL CAR MY OWN

by JOHNNYSADA from VALDOSTA GEORGIA on Tue Oct 31 2017

THIS THE BEST CAR SHE NEED WHILE SHE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY MOST SAFETY EQUIP when she driving long distance or local drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUV Luxury

by Ron D from Lewisburg, PA on Sat May 20 2017

The vehicle is well in excess of expectations. This is the 5th GL 450 that I have leased and the comfort and styling are second to none. I researched other luxury SUVs and the reviews just didn't come close to this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS 450

The verdict:

The 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS-Class elevates family hauling to new heights in terms of practicality, but it still leaves room for improvement.

Versus the competition:

Less bulky than the full-size SUVs from Cadillac and Infiniti, the GLS-Class delivers unexpected utility, but drivability falters in this year’s refresh.

Don’t let the new name fool you. The GLS-Class is a mild update, not a full redesign, of the second-generation GL-Class that began with the 2013 model year. The name is simply a result of Mercedes-Benz’ nomenclature overhaul. Compare the two luxury SUVs here.

The GLS-Class comes with a V-6 (GLS450) or V-8 (GLS550) engine, both turbocharged. There’s also a GLS350d with a turbo-diesel V-6, but, as of this writing, it’s awaiting EPA clearance amid heightened scrutiny over all things diesel. All-wheel drive and seating for seven are standard; you can compare trim levels here.

Cars.com covers the high-performance AMG GLS63 separately in its Research section.

Exterior and... Read More