1999 SL-Class

Consumer Reviews

1999 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

$3,083 - $20,019  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 1999 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Fun Car To Own

by Bruce from Franktown, Co on October 21, 2011

I can not believe that these cars, SL 500 & SL 600, are so inexpensive to buy. Our '99 SL 600 cost over $130k when new and we bought it for under $20k. It is like a new car in every respect except for the price. The car is a dream to drive, looks outstanding, has many more safety features than newer cars and unlike many older classic cars all items in the car work. The exterior and interior of this car are both amazing - I encourage you to buy as nice an SL 500 or SL 600 as you can find, you will not regret it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply Fantastic

by Second one from Sacramento, CA on May 16, 2011

This is the second one I have owned. I used the first as a long distance commuter and put 158,000 trouble free miles on it. I found another with only 40K on it and could not pass it up. Looked at Vettes, but came running back to the sl500. The interior and build quality is superior.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Quick car

by Retired fun seeker from Nevada City, CA on July 29, 2011

Vehicle very quick and responsive. Handles sharp winding roads with power to burn. Better fuel economy then I had expected. Low to the ground, watch out for parking curbs, bumps or road debre.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car...

by Wants Another Diesel from Kentucky on November 7, 2013

Although this is my sixth Mercedes, this is my first SL. I was lucky to find a well cared for LOW mileage (less than 25K) car. The fit and finish are Mercedes quality as well as is the performance. I am very pleased at the smooth and solid ride the car provides that definitely rivals my 300SD. As with ANY vehicle, just be certain to be aware of the history of the car and don't be afraid to ask questions as it may save you headaches later. All in all a NICE car....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my SL500

by MBZLOVER from Corona, CA on May 20, 2017

It is the best car I have ever had. Very happy about everything of this car. Funny to drive. I love this car!. Hoping BMZ can make the future SL class like this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SL - History in the Making

by SL600 from ChiCAGO on August 11, 2009

The SL is an automotive icon. It all started with the SL gullwing in the 50's. This car is rock solid. It should be because it weighs in over 4000 pounds. The V12 is incredible. You can grab a great deal on the used SL market now. V8 is nice too, but V12 is pure music when you hear it rev. V8 was $90K new, the V12 was over $120K new.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A true roadster. Fun and reliable.

by Bella from New York, NY. on November 14, 2015

I havve owned different exotic cars over the years, but once I test drove the R129 SL I just had to have one. The handeling is uncomparable. The way it makes you feel is unparallel. Once you own one you will never want to part with it. I guess that is why it is so hard to find one. The styling and the reliability of these cars is nothing short of a miracle. These are the last of the hand built roadsters, so if you are lucky enough to find one - BUY IT, You will never regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Junk on Wheels

by Mercedes Buff from Miami, FL on September 30, 2010

The convertable top, transmission, and electrical system breaks down all the time and is very expensive to fix.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most wonderful example of German engineering.

by Benz101 from New york on September 15, 2017

This car more than exceeded any expectations I had. I always used mechanics to service my cars. But with the SL500 I wanted to do it my self. It is so simple and easy to take care of it. I absolutely love this car. Highly recommend it. Just look for one that has been taken care of the mileage does not really matter with these cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and fun to drive

by Tampa Guy from Tampa Fl on June 22, 2017

If I used this car more I would keep it. It drives, handles and is great on a long trip. Quality car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2