1999 Grand Marquis

Consumer Reviews

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

$24 - $7,940  MSRP Range
1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Landyacht driver from Philadelphia, PA on Tue Nov 23 2010

This car is very nice. Everything about it is good. i am a big and tall man, so it helps me be comfortable. It has a classic design. Whenever I drive it by a truck or an expensive car I feel happy, I do not feel any less than them. This car is one of the few cars left of its kind or type. This is the type of car I always drive. This is one of the better ones though. It's twin the Crown Vic is good but I feel like this one is more elegant.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Complete Comfort!!!

by Diesel from BALTIMORE, MD on Sat May 21 2011

I RECENTLY PURCHASED THIS VECHICLE (99LS) --BECAUSE I HAD AN ACCIDENT AND NEEDED A COMFORTABLE RIDE!!!!! WHAT A DREAM RIDE THIS CAR HAS TURNED OUT TO BE!!! EVEN THOUGH IT IS AN OLDER MODEL, IT STILL FLOATS ON THE HIGHWAY AND GETS GOOD GAS MILEAGE FOR A V8!!! NICE!!! I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WHO LOVES A LUXURIOUS RIDE!!! WISH I HAD AVOIDED ALL THE FOREIGN AUTOS A LONG TIME AGO!!! I CAN'T SEE MYSELF DRIVING ANYTHING ELSE FROM THIS POINT ON!!!! LOVE THE GRAND MARQUIS LS!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Durable, Value paked, great buy

by danimal from Toronto, On on Wed Oct 18 2006

I own a 1992 Grand Marquis right now, Ive owned 2 others previously. I am 21 years old, a little out of this car's typical demographic, however I know a good car when I work on it, drive it, own it. The 4.6 doesn't have as much power as some other V8s out there today however its good enough for passing and everyday driving. IT gets great gas mileage (28 hwy) and have never let me down. 169,000 miles. Its easy to fix and cheap to maintain as parts are inexpensive and readily available no matter where you are. I'll keep driving them as long as they build em.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

"bestest" car on the American road:

by Derek from Baton Rouge, LA on Fri Apr 15 2011

It was the best car on the American for the price - pity it is no longer being made. I need to have a talk with Ford:

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A pleasure to drive.

by happy girl from Sacramento,CA on Thu Mar 29 2007

Attractive exterior and comfortable interior. Great handling with surprisingly good gas milage. All the bells and whistles included. I like this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard to find one like this

by Coach from Wixom Michigan on Tue Nov 08 2011

A 1999 Mercury, One Owner with only 69,000 miles I consider this a lucky find I looked for 6 months for something like this Rides like a dream Same Body Style as the old Lincoln Continental

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Last Great American Car

by DOC from RI on Mon Oct 06 2014

I have had 99GM, 99CV, 94CV, 2002 CV 2003 towncar. Smooth ride, cheap and easy to fix, long lasting ( think of the cabs). HP version with dual exhausts, alloy rims and rear air suspension I think is worth finding. Some have electronic instruments which is cool. Styling is getting a little old, in and out, seats do not hug you, but very still comfy. i average about 18 mg in mixed driving, 23 or so at >70MPH. The V8 is good enough for merging, and they handle better than you would expect, esp. the HP version. Live rear axle, so it shutters on bumps in corners. Even with traction control and posi-traction, nor a great snow car. I have one equipped with dedicated snows all around for the winter and it does pretty well. front fender, expect alternator failure at 60k. Size and weight count in crashes. One was hit by a truck @6omph, totalled car but all 3 pasengers were not harmed. If you find one,100k and well cared for, grab it. super value, and safe. I am sorry to see them go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Last great big 8 cylinder

by tumbleweed from Dallas, TX on Fri Dec 09 2011

I am buying this car from my mother in law. Having driven expensive European and American sedans, they hold nothing over the Grand Marquis. I drove this car from Indianapolis to Dallas, TX and it soared across the highways with ease. No problems passing with the 4.6 litre engine and with a comfortable ride you can not find in the most expensive imports.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a good car just need TLC

by Correajoann from Stroudsburg p.a. on Sat Jun 16 2018

It's very roomie good traveling car very comftable.very realiable car I love Mercury's they are very good cars .every car I had a 94i loved that car but I hit a deer and I junked but I'm buying a 99 next week I also own a 2000 G rand Marquis

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Zuzkin from Orlando on Mon Jan 16 2012

Bought this car few months ago and fell in love with it. I was lucky to find an one owner car. It was an excellent shape mechanically. It is very quite and the ride is so smooth. Don't like the driver's seat. It is hard to find a good position to feel 100% comfortable. The seat does suck. It was probably intentionally built for old farts. No problems so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

Kissing up to younger buyers has become an obsession in the auto industry. What's happening at Ford Motor Co.'s Lincoln-Mercury division is a case in point.

Were it not for sport-utility vehicles such as the Mercury Mountaineer and the Lincoln Navigator, the Lincoln-Mercury group would be in the dumps. The division's car sales are dragging, often being pulled along by incentives, such as the $1,000 giveback attached to this week's test car, the Mercury Grand Marquis.

Ford believes the problem is Lincoln-Mercury's relative lack of attractiveness to the young and the restless. The company, as a result, recently moved the division from Michigan to another world, California, where the worship... Read More